HD1000U Ceiling Mount - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2007, 06:26 PM
Member
 
merlin2111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just went to hd and spent an hour trying to design a mount. i was going to go with the monkey mount but there were so many peices that they didnt have that i went my own way. only problem is that i got 8x10 sheets of plexi (like the monkey mount) and they are way to small.
merlin2111 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2007, 09:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Y2KFirehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Saucon Valley, PA
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=798875

That is my custom mount.
Y2KFirehawk is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 04:14 AM
Senior Member
 
jdang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: san diego
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone confirm the weight of this thing? All documentation says 6.5 lbs, but someone else in here quoted 12lbs. That could be with mount, but if it is only 6.5lbs I'm not afraid of mounting this thing with drywall anchors. I plan on doing the wall mount from mount direct, but right up on the ceiling as far up as I can go.
jdang is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 06:10 AM
Member
 
underwhelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The manual says 2.9 kg, which is 6.4 lbs. Though I didn't put mine on a scale, I'm inclined to agree. I mounted it without an assistant, and I don't think I would have done so if it weighed more than 10.
underwhelm is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
msink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im very happy with my PMS ceiling mount. BTW, the ceiling mount also comes with a pole extension which enables you to WALL mount the PJ as well. If you want to wall mount, you can use the extension which comes down and away from the wall at a 45 degree angle. Enough to then mount the PJ away from the wall. This looks better than their wall mount. I didnt do that, but here are some pics of what I did do for a friend.

http://picasaweb.google.com/marksink...stallForFriend

Mark
msink is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 10:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
programmergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: summit, nj
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
msink, looks good nice mount! Please pull thoes speakers out of the cornors though to get the most out of them they should be about 3' fron any wall.

Jason
Note: Any posts are of my personal opinions and not to reflect upon any business.

Jason@programmergeek.com

908 578-6466

programmergeek is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 11:20 PM
Newbie
 
Cacofonix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just a quick question about the PMS mount. I assembled it for use with my HD1000. I only used three of the holes on the projector. There is a fourth hole but it is too close to one of the holes. Is this what others have done?
Cacofonix is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 01:33 PM
Member
 
dtviewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered the mount from monoprice. It was about $16 plus shipping. Arrived very fast and was easy to put together.

The instructions it came with were a joke. Luckily it was easy to put together anyway. Very sturdy and adjustable.
dtviewer is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Reid_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cacofonix View Post

Just a quick question about the PMS mount. I assembled it for use with my HD1000. I only used three of the holes on the projector. There is a fourth hole but it is too close to one of the holes. Is this what others have done?

Only three of the holes are mounting holes, so it sounds like you did the right thing.
Reid_T is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off