Any Mitsubishi HD1000U owners out there? - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 2606 Old 12-19-2006, 06:32 AM
Member
 
jmorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my Carada 110" Classic Cinema White screen mounted late last night. Spent about 30 minutes watching Artic Mission on Discovery HD. WOW! Amazing picture, especially when you consider the price. My wife and I were laughing about the old Mits CRT sitting off to the side now. It is 55" widescreen and cost about $3300 about 7 years ago I think. With Projector, mount, cables and screen all together I have less than $2000 invested in this 110" picture.

I still have some tweaking to do but the picture is just as good as the Avia calibrated Mits CRT only 4 times bigger! This is my first projector and I was a little worried that I may be giving up picture quality for size, especially with a <1k projector. Based on what I saw last night I don't think I did.
jmorton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 2606 Old 12-19-2006, 06:37 AM
Member
 
user7800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmcewin View Post

If your requirement is to have the screen 30" from the floor, your screen will be mounted at the ceiling. 30" + 45" screen height is 75" . So forget about a ceiling mount.

The offset for a 92"screen is about 15.5 inches. You could mount it on a low table of about 14" and the image will be projected about 30" from the floor.

You may want to consider a projector with more mounting flexibility. (Lens Shift and longer zoom).

Hope this helps.



Thanks for the help,
user7800 is offline  
post #273 of 2606 Old 12-19-2006, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pcrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmorton View Post

Got my Carada 110" Classic Cinema White screen mounted late last night. Spent about 30 minutes watching Artic Mission on Discovery HD. WOW! Amazing picture, especially when you consider the price. My wife and I were laughing about the old Mits CRT sitting off to the side now. It is 55" widescreen and cost about $3300 about 7 years ago I think. With Projector, mount, cables and screen all together I have less than $2000 invested in this 110" picture.

I still have some tweaking to do but the picture is just as good as the Avia calibrated Mits CRT only 4 times bigger! This is my first projector and I was a little worried that I may be giving up picture quality for size, especially with a <1k projector. Based on what I saw last night I don't think I did.

Almost brings a tear to the eye...
pcrx is offline  
post #274 of 2606 Old 12-19-2006, 08:01 AM
Member
 
grokus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jmorton, where did you get your Carada 110" screen? Thanks.
grokus is offline  
post #275 of 2606 Old 12-19-2006, 08:04 AM
Member
 
jmorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by grokus View Post

jmorton, where did you get your Carada 110" screen? Thanks.

Only available directly from Carada. Link is at the top of this forum in the Alliance Members.
jmorton is offline  
post #276 of 2606 Old 12-19-2006, 02:47 PM
Member
 
Kruppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rochester, Michigan
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mounted my HD1000U Friday night (my first pj). I've had an ear to ear smile since then. My wife thinks I've gone completely bonkers. Who needs sex when you've got a toy like this.......wait a minute......I didn't actually mean to write that.......
Kruppy is offline  
post #277 of 2606 Old 12-19-2006, 04:00 PM
Member
 
locopablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kruppy View Post

Mounted my HD1000U Friday night (my first pj). I've had an ear to ear smile since then. My wife thinks I've gone completely bonkers. Who needs sex when you've got a toy like this.......wait a minute......I didn't actually mean to write that.......

Well, I need sex but I also need my hd1000u, the solution was having sex in the same room where my projector is, watch a movie and have sex at the same time, that way your are happy and the wife is happy too.
locopablo is offline  
post #278 of 2606 Old 12-19-2006, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
nomad139's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Capital District NY USA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally put up my screen this afternoon & popped in a few scenes from "Bruce Almighty" just to get things going & the DVD was right there.

SWEET!!!

I knew the HD1000U was nice, since it even looked okay on my dark red wall, but on the screen... WOW! (need sex too, but this will be an excellent substitute) The colors just popped!! My kids are playing Nintendo now & the sights just fill the whole range of eyes. Simply wonderful.

The Comcast HD arrives tomorrow morning. Next, I'll hook up all of the sound & arrange the room. So happy!!!!
nomad139 is offline  
post #279 of 2606 Old 12-19-2006, 07:19 PM
Member
 
JustinsWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I took the plunge today and ordered a HD1000u and Im hoping I'll be happy. Im upgrading from a Infocus SP5000 and couldn't stand the SDE, it didn't matter how far away I sat or how small I made the screen thats all i could see. Of course my wife thought I was crazy so Im hoping Im not overly sensitive to it. So Im keeping my fingers crossed that I wont notice any SDE with this projector.
JustinsWRX is offline  
post #280 of 2606 Old 12-19-2006, 07:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinsWRX View Post

I took the plunge today and ordered a HD1000u and Im hoping I'll be happy. Im upgrading from a Infocus SP5000 and couldn't stand the SDE, it didn't matter how far away I sat or how small I made the screen thats all i could see. Of course my wife thought I was crazy so Im hoping Im not overly sensitive to it. So Im keeping my fingers crossed that I wont notice any SDE with this projector.

So what are you doing with the sp5000?? I'm in the market for a cheap PJ.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #281 of 2606 Old 12-19-2006, 08:20 PM
Member
 
JustinsWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

So what are you doing with the sp5000?? I'm in the market for a cheap PJ.


That PJ is long gone, sold it about 2 months ago so I could buy a XBOX 360.
JustinsWRX is offline  
post #282 of 2606 Old 12-19-2006, 09:23 PM
Senior Member
 
absolutezerok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tqn View Post

OK, to try to answer the question of whether this proj accepts 1080p, I played with different settings on my HTPC hooked up via DVI-HDMI to my HD1000. The card is an Nvidia 7900GS with the 93.71 drivers. The NVidia control panel was a little confusing, with settings for various dual display modes, and a separate setting for the HD signal, etc, etc.

So here is what I found out. I managed to output a 1080p/60 signal to the HD1000. I verified this was the case when I brought up the menu on the proj and it showed "1080p 60". However, the picture was really bad...it looked like half the lines were thrown out...text was almost unreadable. I then switched to 1080i 60 and it looked better. It was still kinda fuzzy, but text was readable. My normal setting is the proj's native resolution of 720p, and here everything is razer sharp.

So what does it all mean? Far as I can tell, the proj is capable of accepting 1080p, but it looks like garbage (at least with a Windows desktop). 1080i is better. And of course, 720p is best.

I just confirmed 1080p 60 from my PS3. Tomorrow I will try 1080i and 720p and decide which looks best. 1080p looked damn nice to me though
Not good with pics so this doesn't do it justice but I took a pic to confirm it.
absolutezerok is offline  
post #283 of 2606 Old 12-19-2006, 10:40 PM
Senior Member
 
nomad139's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Capital District NY USA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, so I couldn't wait for the HD in the AM...

I hooked up my main speakers & put in my Fleetwood Mac "the Dance" DVD to watch & listen to the Lindsey Buckingham parts. Let's just say Holy $*!&
I mean wow...

I'm very tired, but seeing it convinced me to put in a bit of I Robot, so I could watch the scene where the robots attack in the tunnel & the ending scenes. Umm, words cannot really describe my joy right now!

On top of that, the visually engulfing sense that this PJ brings even made my sound "better" -- I could concentrate on the entire experience instead of having my sweet little SD 31" Sony as my only link.

I have to say this is under $1K very, very well spent...
nomad139 is offline  
post #284 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 03:03 AM
Member
 
AHROBERTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know how you feel. This is my 3rd pj and by far is the best one yet. (sanyo z2 and sp4805 were the others)
I was watching blackhawk down on my bravo d1 upconverted to 720p and,I swear,it looks hd. the mits hd1000u is an absolute steal for $890. money well spent. cant wait for xmas morning to get my xbox 360 and hd-dvd drive.
AHROBERTS is offline  
post #285 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 06:24 AM
Member
 
Tuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 1000U is scheduled for delivery tomorrow as is my cable (Comcast) installation. The DVR will be a Moto 6412. I plan to run HDMI to the PJ from the Moto & a DVI from my HDDVD (as soon as I can afford it). Does this sound correct ?? I'm estimating the distance to be 30'. I haven't bought the cables yet because I want to be sure I know exactly what I need.
Tuckster is offline  
post #286 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
absolutezerok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have a switch? The HD1000 only has 1 digital input so you can only plug one source in at a time. I have the same dilemma right now, I ran a 25ft HDMI cable to the projector and I change the plugs on the rack end. Can't decide whether I should buy a switch or a new receiver. Seeing as how I just bought the Mits and PS3 it might be neither...at least short term
absolutezerok is offline  
post #287 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 07:58 AM
Member
 
Tuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The image of the back or the HD1000U shows a HDMI & a composite video in ???
Tuckster is offline  
post #288 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Nathan Troutman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by absolutezerok View Post

Do you have a switch? The HD1000 only has 1 digital input so you can only plug one source in at a time. I have the same dilemma right now, I ran a 25ft HDMI cable to the projector and I change the plugs on the rack end. Can't decide whether I should buy a switch or a new receiver. Seeing as how I just bought the Mits and PS3 it might be neither...at least short term

Go over to monoprice.com and you can buy an external HDMI switcher, either manual or remote controlled and either 2 ins and 1 out or 4 ins and 1 out. And the manual 2 in 1 out is nice and affordable
Nathan Troutman is offline  
post #289 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
absolutezerok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've already looked at the monoprice switches. They are sold out for the year, but your ruining my logic here. See I figured most of our AVS brains worked like this:
Just bought a new projector...now I need more sources.
Just bought more sources...now I need more media (games, movies).
Oh wait- new hardware from my sources is more advanced than my current receiver....
Yup you guessed it- new receiver
See as soon as I have to spend more $$ on a switch I might as well get a new receiver.

I should also point out that this is how it works in my head, then I do my best to persuade my significant other that this is good logic (typically I fail, but I did get a new projector and PS3 this time) and yes I know I have a problem
absolutezerok is offline  
post #290 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
absolutezerok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuckster View Post

The image of the back or the HD1000U shows a HDMI & a composite video in ???

This is correct, but you said you were going to run HDMI and DVI to the projector ? I would not run anything composite to this projector. I don't even know why they still include this or S-Video on HD products...
absolutezerok is offline  
post #291 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
nomad139's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Capital District NY USA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good news/bad news.... Comcast HD came today.

The good news is (obviously) that the HD programming looks amazing.

The bad news (two bads, actually)... that SD programming definitely does not look amazing...
and that the HD boxes were faulty. The 1st one didn't even work & the second could not be initialized (or whatever the term is), so I'm only getting the absolute basic HD channels now. They come back on Friday with the properly working box -- still in time to see the large amount of ESPN HD coverage coming up!
nomad139 is offline  
post #292 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 10:45 AM
Member
 
Tuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK ... so I can run HDMI to the projector from the Moto 6412 & DVI from my HD DVD ??? Or are you saying you can use either the HDMI OR the DVI ... not both ??
Tuckster is offline  
post #293 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Y2KFirehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Saucon Valley, PA
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuckster View Post

OK ... so I can run HDMI to the projector from the Moto 6412 & DVI from my HD DVD ??? Or are you saying you can use either the HDMI OR the DVI ... not both ??

What he is saying is that there is no DVI on the back of the HD1000U, only VGA. You could convert the VGA to component, but DVI direct in on the back does not exist.
Y2KFirehawk is offline  
post #294 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 11:06 AM
Member
 
Tuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK ... I see. What I thought was DVI is actually "component in". So would you suggest using "component in" for the HDDVD ??? or is that going to hurt my PQ. I guess I will need the "switch" after all. Any suggestions ??
Tuckster is offline  
post #295 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
radchad3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi all, I have been looking at Pjs for quite some time. Was very interested in the 3000 vs 1000 thread. It was mentioned that the 3000 was recommended for screens less than 106. I have a 100 bo cloth DIY screen and am looking at these two pj's (as well as others). Will the 1000 really burn out my eye balls? Should I just spend the 500 extra and get the 3000 or will the 1000 with an ND filter look the same? Thanks!! Chad
radchad3 is offline  
post #296 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pcrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by radchad3 View Post

Hi all, I have been looking at Pjs for quite some time. Was very interested in the 3000 vs 1000 thread. It was mentioned that the 3000 was recommended for screens less than 106. I have a 100 bo cloth DIY screen and am looking at these two pj's (as well as others). Will the 1000 really burn out my eye balls? Should I just spend the 500 extra and get the 3000 or will the 1000 with an ND filter look the same? Thanks!! Chad

The 1000 will look incredible without an ND filter. Low lamp mode and away you go to happyland with no eyeball burn.
pcrx is offline  
post #297 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 12:52 PM
Member
 
Ezekiel 4:12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was curious if anybody else noticed some quality degredation when the image got bigger than 70 inches. I threw it up on a blank white wall at around 65 inches and it looked better than my friends LCD. But i threw it up on a 110 inch (or so) blackout cloth and noticed that it wasn't as defined. Not much of a difference, but still noticable.
Ezekiel 4:12 is offline  
post #298 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 01:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ezekiel 4:12 View Post

I was curious if anybody else noticed some quality degredation when the image got bigger than 70 inches. I threw it up on a blank white wall at around 65 inches and it looked better than my friends LCD. But i threw it up on a 110 inch (or so) blackout cloth and noticed that it wasn't as defined. Not much of a difference, but still noticable.

So you blew it up to almost double the size and can't figure how you lost a little definition? It's just common sense that it would look, at the very least, better at the smaller size. If you want a perfect image on a 100"+ screen, then you should buy a $3000 pj. Not really trying to be harsch, but like I said, to me this is just common sense.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #299 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 01:43 PM
Member
 
Ezekiel 4:12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

So you blew it up to almost double the size and can't figure how you lost a little definition? It's just common sense that it would look, at the very least, better at the smaller size. If you want a perfect image on a 100"+ screen, then you should buy a $3000 pj. Not really trying to be harsch, but like I said, to me this is just common sense.


Just assumed that when it specified the capable range, it was with no degredation. But to quote a friend of mine: "welcome to the physics of light, stupid"
Ezekiel 4:12 is offline  
post #300 of 2606 Old 12-20-2006, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Paul_PDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As you increase the size you usually move the viewing distance back abit -- that helps make up for it. The bigger you get the more you want to watch HD as SD really starts showing its warts.
Paul_PDX is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off