is my projector doing 1080i with my xbox360? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-01-2007, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hakaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys i had a Infocus 4800 DLP projector in my living room and i thought, "what the hell, lets throw it in my room with the 360 since no one uses it".. well i hooked my 360 up to it with a component-to-VGA cable. the projector's manual says it supports high definition. when i go to my 360s settings i see that its set to 1080i widescreen and it looks pretty damn good, especially when compared to it running on the projector in standard mode. anyway, when i try to change the 360 HDTV setting to either 480p, 720p, or 1080p it doesnt work.. it flashes multiple times until it return back to 1080i.. i dont care about using these progessive modes i was just wondering if my projector is really displaying at 1080i?? the xbox is switched to HDTV and the setting is set to 1080i (in the dashboard) and the projector is shooting the image so does this mean i have 1080i in my room?!
hakaveli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-01-2007, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gwlaw99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It accepts 1080i but projects 480p
gwlaw99 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-01-2007, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hakaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwlaw99 View Post

It accepts 1080i but projects 480p

sorry if this is sounds stupid, but if thats the case, how come when i set my xbox to display 480p the projector doesnt accept it? it flashes multiple times until the xbox resets it back to 1080i
hakaveli is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-01-2007, 09:11 PM
Member
 
splode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
hakaveli, what your projector is doing is trying to select signal and in the process you are missing the opportunity to select "yes" on the 360's screen as to whether it is displayed correctly. If "yes" or ok is not selected it reverts back to original setting. I don't now if "yes" or "ok" as I have never seen the screen either. Do a blind set when the screen is blank by pushing up on d-pad and then "A" (I think) on controller. that should set it to whatever resolution you selected. The "yes" is being missed as the projector is trying to regain signal. For what its worth, I have my X1, basically same as 4800, on 1080i and it looks a little better to me than when @480 or 720.

good luck!
splode is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-01-2007, 09:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gwlaw99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the 4800 has an 800by600 dmd so it isnt projecting anything higher than that.
gwlaw99 is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off