Z5 Tweak Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 460 Old 01-29-2007, 01:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I noticed there are tweaks listed for the Z4, but not any for the Z5. First let me say that I am not a professional at this, but I do believe I have an excellent eye for detail and color. I highlighted the settings in a greenish yellow color for those that want to skip my wordy mumbo jumbo and get right to the settings.

I do not think the Z4 tweak threads completely apply to the Z5, as the Z5's color accuracy, lens options, and brightness differs somewhat from the Z4, which means the settings will differ as well. So below I give my opinions for others to experiment with, and hopefully others will contribute as well (maybe even with better suggestions than I have). I have tried a calibration CD, and what I found was that it made faces look really natural, but I did not always like the colors across the board for every type of viewing after the calibration CD. I have also found that different channels are skewing the settings of the color calibration (even different HD channels). I therefore find myself adjusting the picture depending NOT only on what type of content I am watching, but also what channel I am watching (go figure). Whether this be sports, scenery (like Discovery HD), or movies. Of course a professional calibration wrould likely provide an even better starting point, but not all of us wish to go this route (I am saving my money for 1080p eventually).

First my setup:
Screen: Apollo 1.0 Gain White Matte 70" Diagonal 16:9 Screen (have an 84" elite but haven't had a chance to mount it yet). I also have an off-white wall that I have projected large images onto, up to 130" or so.
Sitting Distance: about 10 feet to 12.5 feet (varies with my recliner)