HELP !!! Sanyo pl-z4 trouble - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 04-17-2007, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Veexx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

i have an error on my plv-z4,
When i power on the Sanyo the draw opens out, but there is no light emitting from the projector, then after a few seconds the draw closes, then power light blinks red and the lamp replacement blinks yellow. I know this generally means to replace the lamp, but i brought this projector brand new and it has about 600 hours on it.
Also this only happened when i took the projector from the living room, (where it was for a few months), to the basement, where i turned it on and made a few adjustments( it was working fine). Then turned it off. I went to get a movie, hooked up the DVD player and then it gave the error.
I am always careful to look at the status light if there were any warning, or lamp replacement errors for the projector (there were never any). I had a PLV-Z3 before(which i sold to get the plv-z4) and it lasted about 3500 hours. Even when the lamp replace light came on, the projector was still showing.
I even physically remove the lamp from the plv-z4, and it seems perfectly fine.
Please please please, i am at my wits end. Does any one have any ideas?
Thank you.
Veexx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 04-17-2007, 09:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Huey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Floyds Knobs, IN, USA
Posts: 5,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try taking the bulb out, turn it upside down and then right side up several times gently, and then replace the bulb. This mixes the gas and reseat the bulb. Good luck.

Huey ;-]
Huey is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 04-17-2007, 10:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Veexx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply Huey,
i tried your method but no go.
After some furious searching i found this thread
(not able to post because of url restrictions)
( i really think it is a power problem, where the bulb isnt receiving power )

this guy has the same problem as me ... he sent it in to a service shop for repairs i think...
The only thing is i cant do that, because i live in a small island called Trinidad ... and there isnt anything even close to being a service shop.

Does anyone one think that i may be a fuse or something similar?
I really dont mind opening to check, i just dont want to open in vain.

Thanks for your time.
Veexx is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 04-18-2007, 08:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Speqtre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NoVA
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There was a post similar to this not long ago. The guy called Sanyo and they walked him through the fix. Call Sanyo.
Speqtre is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 04-18-2007, 12:49 PM
Member
 
ReidInPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
have a quick read through here, this is probably what Speqtre was referring to: (remove some screws and hit a button and change a fan setting):

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=825930
ReidInPA is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 04-18-2007, 06:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Veexx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow ... finally some hope.
Thank you so much for this info. i will call sanyo first thing in the morning.
Veexx is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 04-18-2007, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Veexx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a reply from the person that started the thread that ReidinPa sent ...
He told where the button was and now the projector is working just as well as before ...
The only thing is that in his thread he lived 4500ft above sea level ... and had to adjust his fan speed ... i live 5000ft above sea level so i guess that is where the problem lied ...(curious to know why living in a mountainous region will make a projector stop working though)
Anyway thank you so much to everyone that helped me getting this Sanyo back in working order ...i will call tech in the morning and hopefully they can help me out with the fan speed setting.
Veexx is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 04-18-2007, 08:48 PM
Member
 
Ryan-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad you got it working. Higher altitude means thinner air and the fans have to spin faster to keep the inside cool.
Ryan-T is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 04-22-2007, 06:11 AM
Member
 
coolgenner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wish me luck guys.

I just moved to Colorado Springs (high altitude) and my Sanyo did this EXACT same thing after working great for a week.

I will carefully read everything here and go try it as soon as I am comfortable. I have already entered a request with Sanyo online, but I hope I don't have to send it in. Funny how addicted we can get to these things!
coolgenner is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 04-25-2007, 02:13 PM
Newbie
 
dzr_greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello
i have the same problem as you had.

But i cannot find the famous button i need to push. Could you help me please that would be very very nice from you because i bought a new lamp and the problem didn't change. I'm in France and the Sanyo Help Desk is pretty bad :'(

thanks in advance for your big help

greg
dzr_greg is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 04-25-2007, 05:18 PM
Member
 
coolgenner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sanyo Projector support gets a big THUMBS UP!

And thanks to Ryan for answering all my questions here.

My projo is back up and running now. What a relief!
coolgenner is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 09-24-2009, 10:40 PM
Newbie
 
MrSterling3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thread is such a teaser. I'm having the same problem, but I can't find the reset button either. Does anyone know where it is located? Thanks.
MrSterling3 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 09-24-2009, 11:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 3,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 201
You need to open up the PJ to access the thermal reset. Other than a screwdriver to open the PJ, no other tools are necessary. Once you have top off (don't disconnect any internal cables), look to the rear right near the lamp assembly. You will see a black cylindrical button about 3/4" high, with small white circle on it. Push it till it clicks, put the top back on and you're good to go.
Kilgore is online now  
post #14 of 16 Old 09-25-2009, 06:00 AM
Member
 
coolgenner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSterling3 View Post

This thread is such a teaser. I'm having the same problem, but I can't find the reset button either. Does anyone know where it is located? Thanks.

If you have to do it more than a couple of times, I would suggest calling support for the adjustment instructions. Otherwise you may as well leave the case unscrewed as you will be doing the reset often. They have different settings for different altitudes, so they can really help you out. Just ask for Ryan.
coolgenner is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 09-26-2009, 08:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnnykretentiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rockton IL.
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does this work on a Z3 too? I have an old one that has this problem.
johnnykretentiv is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 09-08-2012, 07:17 PM
Newbie
 
projectorgirl98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this info was a great help in finding the reset button. on our model plv-z4, in order to take the cover off the projector there were 3 screws on the back and 3 screws on the bottom. the bottom screws were recessed. carefully take cover off as there are cables connecting top to bottom. find said reset button (left rear of projector above bulb, a black cylindrical small button approx 1/4 -1/2 inch high with white dot on top) press until it clicks. this worked for us. good luck.
projectorgirl98 is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off