*Official* Optoma HD80 thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 3542 Old 07-15-2007, 04:07 AM
 
buddahead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post

DLP is still the King. I have a Pany AX100 here right now. ANSI contrast and 1 chip sharpness still rule the video plane.

Are you comparing the ax100 720 to the 1080p optoma/By the way how much offset does the optoma have.I have low ceilings.I could not get the mit3000 to work.It had to be placed a foot above my screen.How is the optoma.Thanks BOB
buddahead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 3542 Old 07-15-2007, 09:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Offset is about 1/3 the screen height, stated amount is 36%. If you have lower than 8' ceilings you'll have to choose a smaller screen. Fit was easy for a 106"daig screen with 8' ceilings. On the Pany I just got it a few days ago and I'm still looking at it.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
guitarman is offline  
post #183 of 3542 Old 07-15-2007, 11:24 AM
Member
 
Smooth317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So has there been an official HD80 vs HD81 side by side comparison? The HD80 has plenty of inputs, so the external box for the HD81 would be nice but I wouldn't pay any extra for it having no real use for it. That leaves just the DC2 vs. DC3, which I've read plenty of technical explainations why it should be a smoother, brighter picture with the DC3, however, I haven't found any direct side by side comparisons on these two models in particular.

I paid about 3 grand for my PE7700 roughly 3 years ago and I'm still extremely happy with it. Films on HDDVD and Blu-Ray look movie theater quality to me, however, having the 1080p sources available and not being able to utilize the extra resolution on my 720p projector gives me that upgrade twinge. I've been waiting on 1080p DLPs to come down to roughly the same price point. The HD80 seems like it may be a good choice to hold me over until the more expensive JVC comes down in price. Hard choice as I could always stick with my PE7700 until the JVC hits sub 3k marks.

-Chris
Smooth317 is offline  
post #184 of 3542 Old 07-15-2007, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rich4av's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Tom. Sounds like this would be a good upgrade from my NEC HT1000, which still looks great to me (thanks to your help over the years). Yes, the price is certainly right

Rich
Rich4av is offline  
post #185 of 3542 Old 07-15-2007, 08:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
It's a pretty solid DLP machine with allot of good menu features. It's going to destroy the HT1k in brightness, color and 3D image, let alone the high resolution.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
guitarman is offline  
post #186 of 3542 Old 07-15-2007, 08:17 PM
Member
 
Signia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO(Eureka)
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What no bugs in the firmware? This cant be true. I have a HD72 and tempted to upgrade but I will wait to see what kind of bugs pop up.

aka GadgetboySTL - Thom & Jeff Show - St. Louis, MO
Signia is offline  
post #187 of 3542 Old 07-15-2007, 09:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Nope it's doing what it's supposed to do. No syncing issue's, aspects are right on. Looks pretty solid.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
guitarman is offline  
post #188 of 3542 Old 07-16-2007, 01:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joekun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 3,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what's the word on 1080p24? I read the post about it being listed in the manual, but does it really display it at a true 24fps or some multiple thereof or just "accept" it?

I'm really tempted to buy this PJ rather than waiting until after CES to see what other 1080p DLP options are available as I originally planned.
joekun is offline  
post #189 of 3542 Old 07-16-2007, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rich4av's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tom, I picked one up yesterday from a local store and put it up. It's a longer throw than my HT1000 so I have to make some changes this week to move it back.

First impressions are excellent (Wow!), but I came from a pj several generations behind compared to others. Even HDTV cable looked great. The pj has tons of settings.... The backlit remote is the best I've seen for a pj.

Tom, I used your gamma and Iris settings and the PQ is great, vibrant and punchy on my HP screen. I tested my XA2 at 1080i and it looked great and very sharp. When I power it on, it makes a couple of clunking sounds but the fan is very quiet (econo mode). At times, I can hear the fan in quiet moments but the pj is 4 ft behind my ears. The settings look great out of the box (even if over-saturated, the colors and contrast look great). The only problem I have found so far is that decreasing the color saturation somehow changes the tint if you go below the low 40's.

I tested it with my PS3 and was able to get 1080p60. I use a 30-ft HDMI->DVI cable and every 20 minutes or so, I lose the picture and the pj searches the DVI signal for 1 second. Damn HDCP issue. I do not know if it is the cable (I bypassed my switcher for this test and went direct) but I have seen such issues before due to cabling.

I could not get 1080p24 to work, but again, if there are cable issues, this may be the cause. Others have reported such 1080p24 issues in the PS3 thread even with the RS1. I did set the PS3 to enable 1080p24 output.

I did not have time to try out DVE yet.

Rich
Rich4av is offline  
post #190 of 3542 Old 07-16-2007, 11:56 AM
 
CraigW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wish the DLP companies would at least offer a vertical lens shift. I would be interested in this unit but with a low ceiling basement HT. I can't live with a 36% offset.

I may be going LCD unless I can get a reasnably priced 1080p DLP with a extremely low offset. A lot of older homes do not have 9'+ ceilings in their basements.
CraigW is offline  
post #191 of 3542 Old 07-16-2007, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbw23air's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: KY
Posts: 2,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich4av View Post

I tested it with my PS3 and was able to get 1080p60. I use a 30-ft HDMI->DVI cable and every 20 minutes or so, I lose the picture and the pj searches the DVI signal for 1 second. Damn HDCP issue. I do not know if it is the cable (I bypassed my switcher for this test and went direct) but I have seen such issues before due to cabling.

Have you just tried hooking up a HDMI cable directly instead of the HDMI->DVI cable? This could be the problem. Sound like you have a DVI switcher so this is why you use the HDMI->DVI cable.

Mike

The Mayans were full of sh*t!!!
mbw23air is offline  
post #192 of 3542 Old 07-16-2007, 12:59 PM
Senior Member
 
prabhatb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDCP is/was a big problem with HD81, it goes blue when it encounters this issue. Some users fix this issue by running the projector in high power mode, or high altitutde mode where the fan noise is highest. (read the relevant HD81 thread, many people tried with expensive HDMi cable or very short HDMI cable, it did not fix the problem, except the one I mentioned above). I guess Optoma has not fixed the issue in HD80....

Also, just a thought, since HD80 takes HDMI 1.3, a 1.3 HDMI cable may cure this..

Rich, when you play 1080p/60, would you let us know if the projector can stretch 2.35 movie into it is full 16:9 frame? I would appreciate this feedback.

And if you are able to make 1080p/24 work, it would be great news. Again I would like to know the vertical stretch of 2.35 frame.

*Prabhat*
prabhatb is offline  
post #193 of 3542 Old 07-16-2007, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rich4av's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mike, I do have a DVI switcher and my old pj was DVI-based, so my long 30-ft cable is a DVI cable. I did try running the cable directly into the HD80 as well with a DVI-HDMI adaptor.

I will try an HDMI-HDMI cable to see if the 1080p60 problem gets resolved and if I can get 1080p24 to work...

Rich
Rich4av is offline  
post #194 of 3542 Old 07-16-2007, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Orta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm a complete noob on front projectors, but I have a light controlled den I'd like to try one of these in. The dimensions are 8' x 10' x 18' (Height x Width x Length), and I'd very much appreciate some recommendations on screen size, screen type, and mounting. I was thinking about a 100" screen, but at my room height and length, would that be possible with the HD80, what screen type is the best for this unit, and how/where would I need to do the mounting. My plan was to just put one of those high rise component furniture pieces behind the couch and just project over head, but would that work for my dimensions?
Orta is offline  
post #195 of 3542 Old 07-16-2007, 05:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Lonely Surfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watch out for the picture offset on this projector. If you have yours sitting above head level with an 8-foot ceiling, you might have a problem. I have an HD70 with the same offset, and have mine on an 18" high table. It works well with my 106" diagonal 16x9 screen and 105" wide 2.35 screen. I can't invert it and ceiling mount it in my room. The HD80 is rather a long throw projector, so examine the projection distance charts to see where you need it to be to fill your screen. Just remember, the picture will be considerably higher than you might think with the 36% offset.
Lonely Surfer is offline  
post #196 of 3542 Old 07-16-2007, 06:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orta View Post

I'm a complete noob on front projectors, but I have a light controlled den I'd like to try one of these in. The dimensions are 8' x 10' x 18' (Height x Width x Length), and I'd very much appreciate some recommendations on screen size, screen type, and mounting. I was thinking about a 100" screen, but at my room height and length, would that be possible with the HD80, what screen type is the best for this unit, and how/where would I need to do the mounting. My plan was to just put one of those high rise component furniture pieces behind the couch and just project over head, but would that work for my dimensions?


Room sounds great, all you need is a flush mount like a cheif mount and a 106" digaonal screen. My room setup is near the same, 8' ceilings the PJ is set with the back of the PJ exactly 15'back, the lens of the PJ is 14' back. The bottom of the screens video area is 22" up from the floor. This gives you an excellent level for your viewing. Ref viewing level is eye's 1/3 up from the bottom of a screen.
Good luck you're going to love this kind of setup up. Think screen sizes in feet not inches.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
guitarman is offline  
post #197 of 3542 Old 07-16-2007, 07:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich4av View Post

Tom, I picked one up yesterday from a local store and put it up. It's a longer throw than my HT1000 so I have to make some changes this week to move it back.

First impressions are excellent (Wow!), but I came from a pj several generations behind compared to others. Even HDTV cable looked great. The pj has tons of settings.... The backlit remote is the best I've seen for a pj.

Tom, I used your gamma and Iris settings and the PQ is great, vibrant and punchy on my HP screen. I tested my XA2 at 1080i and it looked great and very sharp. When I power it on, it makes a couple of clunking sounds but the fan is very quiet (econo mode). At times, I can hear the fan in quiet moments but the pj is 4 ft behind my ears. The settings look great out of the box (even if over-saturated, the colors and contrast look great). The only problem I have found so far is that decreasing the color saturation somehow changes the tint if you go below the low 40's.

I tested it with my PS3 and was able to get 1080p60. I use a 30-ft HDMI->DVI cable and every 20 minutes or so, I lose the picture and the pj searches the DVI signal for 1 second. Damn HDCP issue. I do not know if it is the cable (I bypassed my switcher for this test and went direct) but I have seen such issues before due to cabling.

I could not get 1080p24 to work, but again, if there are cable issues, this may be the cause. Others have reported such 1080p24 issues in the PS3 thread even with the RS1. I did set the PS3 to enable 1080p24 output.

I did not have time to try out DVE yet.

Rich, I know we learned to love our NEC HT1000's but to move to this projector has to have really knocked you out. I re setup the HD80 this evening. People asked are there inky blacks. Man it's black can go so deep and contrast/ansi contrast to high it unreal or perfect. Rich you got yourself a winner.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
guitarman is offline  
post #198 of 3542 Old 07-16-2007, 09:43 PM
 
CraigW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
guitarman,

you have a good relationship with OPTOMA. could you forward it to them that some possible customers need a low/no offset version? my sharp dt300 has vertical lens shift. it's a feature I can't live without.
CraigW is offline  
post #199 of 3542 Old 07-16-2007, 11:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Why are people so afraid to use keystone? I've used it with my 4805 and I cannot see the tiniest bit of difference even with a paused dvd image.
MTyson is offline  
post #200 of 3542 Old 07-16-2007, 11:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rich4av's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It took me a few hours to position the HD80 properly. I connected it to the PS3 with 2 short HDMI cables. In both cases, I had no HDCP issues with 1080p60. I cannot seem to get 1080p24. If I hit the HDMI button again, the pj displays 1080p 30Hz and stays there - is this a bug or ?

Despite these numbers, the picture is just gorgeous with great blacks. It looks good with minor adjustments.

Rich
Rich4av is offline  
post #201 of 3542 Old 07-16-2007, 11:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rich4av's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a 48Mhz film mode command described in the manual on page 33 but I do not see this on my menu.

Tom - do you see this on your unit? It may not be showing it as it does not detect 1080p24?

Rich
Rich4av is offline  
post #202 of 3542 Old 07-17-2007, 01:03 AM
Newbie
 
Steffen78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frankfurt/Main, Germany
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just called Optoma Germany and they told me that it cannot handle 24p signals but turning them into 48 hz...

The question for me is: what happens when your using for example the ps3 with the HD80? Does the HD80 tell "yes I can handle it" or will it just not funktion?

The guy on the hotline promised me to phone to optoma uk and ask which tests have been made concerning 24p and in addition with the ps3, later he wants to call me back.

Steffen
Steffen78 is offline  
post #203 of 3542 Old 07-17-2007, 03:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joekun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 3,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


I just called Optoma Germany and they told me that it cannot handle 24p signals but turning them into 48 hz...

From what I understand any multiple of 24 will work just fine. If it's 48hz it just displays each frame twice, which will still end up giving you the same 24 frames in the same one second. So if it can do 48hz it should be able to handle 24p.
joekun is offline  
post #204 of 3542 Old 07-17-2007, 03:26 AM
Newbie
 
Steffen78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frankfurt/Main, Germany
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joekun View Post

From what I understand any multiple of 24 will work just fine. If it's 48hz it just displays each frame twice, which will still end up giving you the same 24 frames in the same one second. So if it can do 48hz it should be able to handle 24p.

So far so good, your right, but I own an Optoma H79 which should be able to handle 48 and 72 hz...feeding him with bluy-rays via my ps3 it doesnt work with 48 hz.

So it is very questionable if this really functions well.
Steffen78 is offline  
post #205 of 3542 Old 07-17-2007, 05:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Keith AP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arizona
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post

Room sounds great, all you need is a flush mount like a cheif mount and a 106" digaonal screen. My room setup is near the same, 8' ceilings the PJ is set with the back of the PJ exactly 15'back, the lens of the PJ is 14' back. The bottom of the screens video area is 22" up from the floor. This gives you an excellent level for your viewing. Ref viewing level is eye's 1/3 up from the bottom of a screen.

My setup is very similar but with 7.5' foot ceiling. Flush mount and 118" 2.35:1 diagonal screen using the HD73. No keystone.

guitarman, is the HD80 a direct swap out of the HD73 - same mount, offset, and throw?
Keith AP is offline  
post #206 of 3542 Old 07-17-2007, 07:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich4av View Post

There is a 48Mhz film mode command described in the manual on page 33 but I do not see this on my menu.

Tom - do you see this on your unit? It may not be showing it as it does not detect 1080p24?

I don't see it maybe it's in a hidden menu, Wing is over in Taiwan since Friday so I can get the needed info. On mine when I send 1080i over (ToshA1)HDMI res says 1080i/30Hz Component 1080i from comcast the resolution reading from the PJ says 1080i/60hz. That's another question.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
guitarman is offline  
post #207 of 3542 Old 07-17-2007, 08:28 AM
Member
 
Signia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO(Eureka)
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dumb question but why not just use 1080p60?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich4av View Post

It took me a few hours to position the HD80 properly. I connected it to the PS3 with 2 short HDMI cables. In both cases, I had no HDCP issues with 1080p60. I cannot seem to get 1080p24. If I hit the HDMI button again, the pj displays 1080p 30Hz and stays there - is this a bug or ?

Despite these numbers, the picture is just gorgeous with great blacks. It looks good with minor adjustments.


aka GadgetboySTL - Thom & Jeff Show - St. Louis, MO
Signia is offline  
post #208 of 3542 Old 07-17-2007, 08:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Some tuning tips, If you use component for 1080i. OTB sRGB is very close to D65k and 2.2gamma.

Here's numbers from tuning component 1080i in the film mode user colorfacts and the Accupel. I had to lower user contrast about 10 numbers to get away from blowing out the reds in the high end of the grayscale.

User / User color temp
Contrast 37
Brightness 50
Color 50

Advanced
Degamma film
Gamma 0

Red gain 127
100
94
Red bias 125
127
126

HDMI 1080i D65k settings. Cinnema Film modes
Contrast 32
Brightness 49
Color 52
Tini 50
gamma -2

Color temp User
Red gain 126
100
93
Red bias 127
127
128

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
guitarman is offline  
post #209 of 3542 Old 07-17-2007, 09:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tom,

With the component optimized with these settings did brightness suffer appreciably? Some of the 1080P models have taken a BIG hit in light level when properly set up. Thanks.


John



Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post

Some tuning tips, If you use component for 1080i. OTB sRGB is very close to D65k and 2.2gamma.

Here's numbers from tuning component 1080i in the film mode user colorfacts and the Accupel. I had to lower user contrast about 10 numbers to get away from blowing out the reds in the high end of the grayscale.

User / User color temp
Contrast 37
Brightness 50
Color 50

Advanced
Degamma film
Gamma 0

Red gain 127
100
94
Red bias 125
127
126

HDMI 1080i D65k settings. Cinnema Film modes
Contrast 32
Brightness 49
Color 52
Tini 50
gamma -2

Color temp User
Red gain 126
100
93
Red bias 127
127
128

John Clark is offline  
post #210 of 3542 Old 07-17-2007, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rich4av's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the settings, Tom! I'll give them a try.

John - you are right that a punchy HD picture does look stunning, even if it is not calibrated

Also missing from the HD80 menu are anamorphic lens settings that are in the manual.

Steffen, thanks for the help with the PS3. I moved the PS3 next to the HD80. I just can't seem to force 24Hz output (I assume that the HD80 must send an EDID to the PS3 telling it it will accept 24Hz output. The auto mode for the PS3 ONLY sets 1080p60).

Also, with a 2m HDMI-DVI cable, I got no processing (Searching input) screens. The cable length is tied to the HDCP problem, which in turn is tied to the HDMI chip driver in the players. I hope that the same think will not happen to longer HDMI cables, or else all the equipment will need to be moved closer to the pj (and my ears)...

Now 1080p60 still looks stunning (I tested with Casino Royale)! I am sure that there is some minor improvement with pans with 1080p24 (even if the pj doubles it to 48).

I am thinking of buying the new Sony BD player which can be forced to output 1080p24 and see what happens. The PS3 got much hotter and a bit louder in 1080p60 mode.

Rich
Rich4av is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Optoma , Optoma Projectors , Optoma Hd80 1080p Home Theater Projector
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off