Sanyo PLV-Z2000: 1080p for under $3K - Page 72 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2131 of 2158 Old 02-11-2010, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan.
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Has anyone calibrated their Sanyo with the Eye One Display and the HFCR sotware that is running around, if so what results did you get???

Ralph
zapper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2132 of 2158 Old 02-12-2010, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Gil Arroyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SEATTLE, WA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zapper View Post

Has anyone calibrated their Sanyo with the Eye One Display and the HFCR sotware that is running around, if so what results did you get???

Where is the program located?--gil
Gil Arroyo is offline  
post #2133 of 2158 Old 02-12-2010, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan.
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The Eye one is a Colormeter that measures grayscale, etc for your dispaly in this case the Sanyo, you can buy it at Amazon the lower end is about $130 and the Software you can download it free at this Forum and instructions on how to set it up and calibrate the projector.

Ralph
zapper is offline  
post #2134 of 2158 Old 03-11-2010, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjibber View Post

Do you guys have any tips for extending lamp life?

I have had my z2000 for about a year and a half now and already have 3400 hours on the lamp and am sure it is about to fail at any second. I am wondering what reccommendations you guys have so I can make my lamps last as long as possible as I use the z2000 for all of my TV viewing and expect to keep putting quite a few hours on it.

How many hours have you guys, who have had the z2000 for a while, been getting out of your lamps?

I am not complaining as I feel I have gotten quite a few hours out of this lamp especially considering I have not done any maintenance at all to the projector.

When I turned the projector on today it said replace lamp and would not come on. I unplugged the projector and turned it back on and it came on just fine, but I am sure it is close to going at any second. It still seems plenty bright and the picture is still amazing.

What mode are you running the lamp to get this extended life?
Full blast, A1 or A2 ?

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #2135 of 2158 Old 03-11-2010, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gil Arroyo View Post

CONGRATULATIONS !!
My lamp lasted just 2150 hours. Now running an Epson 8500 (blacks are terrific). gil

Lamp mode used ?
Just trying to gauge if longer lamp life is related to the mode used(full blast, A1 or A2).

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #2136 of 2158 Old 03-11-2010, 09:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Gil Arroyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SEATTLE, WA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by 42Plasmaman View Post

Lamp mode used ?
Just trying to gauge if longer lamp life is related to the mode used(full blast, A1 or A2).

almost all in the economy mode--never quick off and on cycles. I think it is a crap shoot on lifetime with no owner intervention improvement. gil
Gil Arroyo is offline  
post #2137 of 2158 Old 03-17-2010, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Eric Samonte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Mountaintop, PA
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been trying to search around for this. It said that the remote codes for the Z2 works on this PJ. I haven't had that much luck using them on my venerable Pronto Pro. Can anyone confirm this or are there specific hex codes for the Z2000?
Eric Samonte is offline  
post #2138 of 2158 Old 03-23-2010, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Pes411's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oswego,Il
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe I saw IR codes on the Sanyo website if that applies.

My bulb has 2010 hrs on it and the replace lamp light has come on...Run in full lamp for movies, and Auto 1 or 2 for TV. This is my main display as I watch everything on it.

Pes411 is offline  
post #2139 of 2158 Old 03-28-2010, 08:41 PM
Member
 
mohmony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the Z2000 does 24fps? If so, how do i set it up/confirm that? I use PS3 as my Bluray source.
mohmony is offline  
post #2140 of 2158 Old 03-30-2010, 06:04 AM
Member
 
mohmony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohmony View Post

Does anyone know if the Z2000 does 24fps? If so, how do i set it up/confirm that? I use PS3 as my Bluray source.

Bump -- Did all the Z2000 users upgrade their PJs already?
mohmony is offline  
post #2141 of 2158 Old 03-30-2010, 09:30 AM
Member
 
SteveCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm still running mine. Yes, it does 24fps. There is an information screen within the menus which displays the vertical frequency.

SteveCS is offline  
post #2142 of 2158 Old 04-01-2010, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
 
johnifehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohmony View Post

Bump -- Did all the Z2000 users upgrade their PJs already?

Yes I can confirm it does 24p properly, I think everyone is too busy enjoying the projector after all the tweaking that we're not following the thread.lol
johnifehr is offline  
post #2143 of 2158 Old 05-24-2010, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
TKNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Still loving mine and it doesn't feel like it's been 2 years but I guess it has. Also just bought my second lamp this week.

The first one had around 2800 hours on it before I decided to replace it. This one has 2500ish and is starting to look dim.

Can't wait till it arrives... just like new projector again, woohooo!

Projector & Screen: Panasonic AE7000u 3D w/HTB Anamorphic Lens & 130" 2.35:1 CIH Screen
Video: DVDO Edge Audio: Emotiva XMC-1 / XPA-3 / UPA-7
Speakers: eD Custom 6T6 Towers, Emotiva UAC-8.2, Emotiva ERD-1s
Subwoofer: eD A3-300 12" 350w Sensory: Aura Pro Bass Shakers
Visit My Theater
TKNice is offline  
post #2144 of 2158 Old 06-20-2010, 01:57 PM
Sax
Advanced Member
 
Sax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the Z2000 fill a 110 1.78 screen from 10 to 11 ft back.
Sax is offline  
post #2145 of 2158 Old 06-20-2010, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
johnifehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sax View Post

Will the Z2000 fill a 110 1.78 screen from 10 to 11 ft back.

Yes Easily, I do 106" from 11 feet and still only using eco mode and its still plenty bright enough with some ambient lighting even with 800 hours.
johnifehr is offline  
post #2146 of 2158 Old 06-25-2010, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
JoshuaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I can confirm as well. I have a 114" screen and am 12-13' back. Plenty bright.

In general, I'm still extremely happy with the Z2000 and have had no inclination to upgrade. I've never had any picture issues and the most maintenance I've had to do is clean the air filter. Great PJ.
JoshuaL is online now  
post #2147 of 2158 Old 07-28-2010, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan.
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi, sorry to ask this question but my PC crashed and lost my favorites and had the Sanyo calibrations done by a couple of members on this thread and my PJ was turned off and back at default settings, would appreciate if someone could direct me to the both calibration postings.

Thanks

Ralph
zapper is offline  
post #2148 of 2158 Old 07-28-2010, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 1,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
zapper, check my recent posts in this thread... I did a step/step with screenshots for the best settings I have found.

The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (here, and here!)
Pixar screenplay slideshows here!
gnolivos is offline  
post #2149 of 2158 Old 07-28-2010, 09:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan.
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks, gnolivos you saved my butt once again by the way I was in Ohio today but at the top end Toledo, my youngest daughter is attending the Toledo Medical school and is changing apartments in the meantime with her sorority friends for the final stretch of her school and when I was working had most of the training either in Cinci, if I remember right was in Cinci in the early 80's when that bank in downtown closed its door and people where panicking, don't blame them also had training in Cleveland and had good times on both cities, met a lot of nice Buckeyes.

Ralph
zapper is offline  
post #2150 of 2158 Old 12-19-2010, 06:35 PM
Member
 
andrewplen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hopefully there are still some Z2000 owners out there who have experienced this problem and can help me out. I was messing around with menu options and I was changing the background from blue to the default setting. Just as I did this everything froze. The remote is unresponsive as are the buttons on the unit itself. It's basically the same problem this OP had http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...2#post19676082.

Has anyone come across this problem? There are no warning lights or any other indications of a problem, short of the filter warning message being projected to the top right-hand corner of the image/screen.
andrewplen is offline  
post #2151 of 2158 Old 12-19-2010, 10:36 PM
Senior Member
 
emtownsend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Post Falls, ID
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh man... That's no good! Please post when you find out. My Z2000 is still running strong (knock on wood) but I understand Sanyo customer support on PJ's is rough...
emtownsend is offline  
post #2152 of 2158 Old 12-20-2010, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewplen View Post

Hopefully there are still some Z2000 owners out there who have experienced this problem and can help me out. I was messing around with menu options and I was changing the background from blue to the default setting. Just as I did this everything froze. The remote is unresponsive as are the buttons on the unit itself. It's basically the same problem this OP had http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...2#post19676082.

Has anyone come across this problem? There are no warning lights or any other indications of a problem, short of the filter warning message being projected to the top right-hand corner of the image/screen.

Have you tried disconnecting the power cord for about 5 minutes and plugging it back in?

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #2153 of 2158 Old 12-20-2010, 12:31 PM
Member
 
andrewplen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 42Plasmaman View Post

Have you tried disconnecting the power cord for about 5 minutes and plugging it back in?

Yes, I've tried a variety of lengths of time ranging from 5 minutes to several hours. This is with the power cable disconnected, not just the master switch turned off.

I had forgot that these projectors have a nice 3-year warranty with them and since I bought in April '08 mine is still covered. I plan on calling Sanyo tech support when I get home from work this evening.
andrewplen is offline  
post #2154 of 2158 Old 12-20-2010, 02:07 PM
Member
 
andrewplen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by emtownsend View Post
Oh man... That's no good! Please post when you find out. My Z2000 is still running strong (knock on wood) but I understand Sanyo customer support on PJ's is rough...
So far I'd have to agree. The rep I spoke to seemed generally uninterested with my problem. I have to fax them a copy of the invoice to prove the purchase date and then they're going to generate some paperwork to allow me to send it in for warranty repair. Looks like no projector for Christmas though
andrewplen is offline  
post #2155 of 2158 Old 12-29-2010, 04:51 AM
Member
 
andrewplen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by emtownsend View Post

Oh man... That's no good! Please post when you find out. My Z2000 is still running strong (knock on wood) but I understand Sanyo customer support on PJ's is rough...

I just got my projector back yesterday and I was very impressed with Sanyo's service. I called them on the 20th, e-mailed my proof of purchase that afternoon and received instructions on their QRP process that evening. I packed the projector and dropped it off at FedEx that night. Sanyo received it the afternoon of the 21st and a tech repaired in on the 22nd. I guess the holidays got in the way, otherwise, I probably would have had it back within 3-4 days after shipping it to Sanyo!

The only note from the tech was that he "updated IIC data." I'm not exactly sure what that refers to, however, I guess its equivalent to a firmware update. The projector is working great again and it actually retained all of my picture settings. I didn't spend a red cent during the whole process and really couldn't be happier with the service.
andrewplen is offline  
post #2156 of 2158 Old 12-29-2010, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
emtownsend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Post Falls, ID
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is awesome! Good to know there is hope!
emtownsend is offline  
post #2157 of 2158 Old 01-29-2011, 07:59 PM
Member
 
mohmony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewplen View Post

I just got my projector back yesterday and I was very impressed with Sanyo's service. I called them on the 20th, e-mailed my proof of purchase that afternoon and received instructions on their QRP process that evening. I packed the projector and dropped it off at FedEx that night. Sanyo received it the afternoon of the 21st and a tech repaired in on the 22nd. I guess the holidays got in the way, otherwise, I probably would have had it back within 3-4 days after shipping it to Sanyo!

The only note from the tech was that he "updated IIC data." I'm not exactly sure what that refers to, however, I guess its equivalent to a firmware update. The projector is working great again and it actually retained all of my picture settings. I didn't spend a red cent during the whole process and really couldn't be happier with the service.

Thats assuring to know.. Looks like i have a problem, On and off.. the Image seems to be flickering/shaky (if u watch it for 3/4 mts its straining on your eyes). When i recycle power to PJ and on it back - The issue is gone (till it comes up again). Will call up Sanyo CS for support on Monday.
mohmony is offline  
post #2158 of 2158 Old 01-31-2011, 01:47 PM
Member
 
mohmony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohmony View Post

Thats assuring to know.. Looks like i have a problem, On and off.. the Image seems to be flickering/shaky (if u watch it for 3/4 mts its straining on your eyes). When i recycle power to PJ and on it back - The issue is gone (till it comes up again). Will call up Sanyo CS for support on Monday.

hmm.. I did call Sanyo US Support and the guy said it is the lamp most propably and he wants me to replace the lamp. I dont think i have more than 600~700 Hrs on the lamp. Could this be true?
mohmony is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off