Optoma H31 slight flicker - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-11-2007, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Optoma H31 has been fine until this week. All of a sudden there is a very very slight flicker. Not constant, but bothersome. I vacuumed the vents. The bulb only has 256 hrs on it. It affects the whole picture, kind of like dom then bright, dim then bright, but not overly so. It seems to settle down for a while, then will act up again on next use. Any ideas?
gman99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-11-2007, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
klover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gman99 View Post

My Optoma H31 has been fine until this week. All of a sudden there is a very very slight flicker. Not constant, but bothersome. I vacuumed the vents. The bulb only has 256 hrs on it. It affects the whole picture, kind of like dom then bright, dim then bright, but not overly so. It seems to settle down for a while, then will act up again on next use. Any ideas?

Had this happen to my old IN72. Run the bulb on high power for 20 hours to let it get a good anode-to-anode burn.

Basically the bulb's electrical arc is jumping from one spot on the anode to another...back and forth....back and forth.
klover is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-12-2007, 06:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Klover.

I don't see a high power mode on the H31, I do see Brite mode and High Altitiude. Should I turn brite mode on?
gman99 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-12-2007, 07:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ikari Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Coventry, RI
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HD72 did that for a while. There's not too much you can do about it, seems to happen with most projectors. Sometimes if you turn on Bright Mode for a bit the go back it stops flickering for a while. It comes and goes for me, it can be annoying though.

My Theater Gallery
Xbox Live gamertag: Ikari Warrior
Playstation Network ID: IkariWarrior
Ikari Warrior is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-12-2007, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I guess a bulb replacement won't help, especailly at only 256 hours.
gman99 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-12-2007, 08:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
klover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nope, keep using that bulb.

In many cases it does go away after a good, long bright/high mode burn. It may reappear later but, if you're well into your bulbs lifespan at that point, you'll probably be running it on high anyway to offset natural brightness loss.
klover is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-12-2007, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TF Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Under the new floor in my basement
Posts: 1,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gman99 View Post

Thanks Klover.

I don't see a high power mode on the H31, I do see Brite mode and High Altitiude. Should I turn brite mode on?

Yes, I would turn on bright mode. High altitude mode will just increase the fan speed.
TF Ghost is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off