Official Panasonic AE2000 thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 06:42 AM
 
buddahead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlindo View Post

I was skeptical of that RS1 shot so I went and slapped in both the dvd and newer bluray release of it and 5th Element looks NOTHING like that on my RS1. NOTHING. It isn't even close. If it looked that bad I wouldn't still have it.

Either Art's RS1 was set up wrong with him playing around with the colour control and/or RGB controls or his camera really does a number on images making them more oversaturated and oragne/red.

Those screen shot are about as worthless as the dirt on my shoes.With simple adjustment the ae2000 can look like any of those shots.So can the vw60.The RS1 though can't be adjusted like the ae2000 and vw-60.So what does this all conclude.Nothing
buddahead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 06:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
R Harkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by reio-ta View Post

My only worry is Panasonic are a$$holes when it comes to customer service, no matter what the product you try to get service for,

I'm sorry to read you've had bad experience with Panasonic.

But, for whatever reason, the Panasonic service here in Toronto is the polar opposite: it is the best customer service I've ever experienced, particularly from a mega-company. Both my friend, who buys lots of AV equipment, and I have had consistently unexpected levels of service. For instance, when I first got my plasma after a month and a half I thought I had burn in. I didn't think I should have burn in given I was pretty careful with the display and took the issue to Panasonic. Burn in is very explicitly one of the few problems mentioned in the warranty as NOT being covered in warranty, so I wasn't expecting much.

After all sorts of tests, and with a reminder that burn-in is not covered in their warranty, they gave me a new plasma!

My friend's DVD player was put in and fixed. Panasonic had originally charged him for parts they thought it needed (was out of warranty). But after he'd received his player back he got a message in the mail with a cheque from Panasonic refunding him because they were able to fix it without those parts (or something similar to that). Not every company would bother being so honest.

And we just picked up my pal's Panasonic AE700 projector. It died recently. It's an old projector model that he'd bought second hand and it was way out of warranty. I drove it to Panasonic for him and when they realised it wasn't under warranty they immediately did what they could - doing some maneuvers so that it could be put under warranty. I just got it back and it was fixed ( a major part had been replaced) all free of charge!

Both my friend and I have been so impressed every time we deal with Panasonic Canada they've we feel they've earned our customer loyalty. I'm hard pressed to think of any other major company that has done so.
R Harkness is online now  
post #453 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 07:13 AM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well that is promising. I'm a Toronto area projector purchaser, so I'll re-consider the Panasonic AE2000. I liked my AE100 and L200 back when I had those ones, so perhaps I'll give the AE2000 a chance. My only real concern with the Panasonic's in particular is the smooth-screen and related sharpness. If it's good, and colour uniformity is also good, then I may give it a try and hope for no dust blobs I'm still waiting this out until the Epson TW2000 comes out and we can compare all of them. The AE2000 vs Z2000 vs TW2000 vs HC6000.
cpc is offline  
post #454 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HoustonHoyaFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by bminda View Post

...the results show the panny's accurate colors and how really far out the RS1 (and even the Pearl's) colors really are!.

Those results do not show the Panny's accurate colors, since you chose the Panny "torch mode" shot. The Pearl is the most accurate in those shots.
HoustonHoyaFan is online now  
post #455 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 3,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSB View Post

Your bargain-bin DVD's will look like crap on a huge 120" screen. I would much rather watch old DVD's on a 60" TV, where flaws are minimized

Wrong thread for this I suppose, but it just happens that I have a 60" RPTV, plotting a 120" AE2000 setup, and the wife insists I keep the 60 for "just watching TV".

The obvious solution is a motorized drop-down 120" screen in front-of the 60, but do folks here think I'll suffer (and hate) "curl" and other anomalies from the usually rolled-up screen?

My other idea is a cinecurve on pedestals that I can just move to the side when watching the 60. Whaddya think.
Laserfan is offline  
post #456 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Toe Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Taipei
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Doesn't this thread belong in the UNDER $3000 forum? Actually it'd be better to have a 720p forum and a 1080p forum.
Toe Tag is offline  
post #457 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 07:31 AM
Member
 
bminda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that's good to hear since that RS1 pic looks awful from color standpoint.
bminda is offline  
post #458 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 07:48 AM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toe Tag View Post

Doesn't this thread belong in the UNDER $3000 forum? Actually it'd be better to have a 720p forum and a 1080p forum.

I actually think the $ price cut-off is in a bad area. Projectors float up and down and in and out of each forum. I think a higher price cut-off or different type of cutoff would be better.
cpc is offline  
post #459 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JerryW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserfan View Post

The obvious solution is a motorized drop-down 120" screen in front-of the 60, but do folks here think I'll suffer (and hate) "curl" and other anomalies from the usually rolled-up screen?

You could go with a da-lite hi-power - its retro-reflective nature masks all but those extreme of those kinds of anomalies. You could also go with a tensioned screen which should handle anything less than a breeze.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toe Tag View Post

Doesn't this thread belong in the UNDER $3000 forum? Actually it'd be better to have a 720p forum and a 1080p forum.

Maybe someone could put a FAQ in the first post addressing this point?
It's really growing old...

Copyright is not property, it is merely a temporary loan from the public domain.
JerryW is offline  
post #460 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 09:29 AM
Member
 
Spartan300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by enzeno View Post

You mean 1080p/24 frame, not hz right... In my config I had to do nothing from my PS3 in order for it to go into 1080p/24 mode, was completely automatic. Also, I believe you need to be using HDMI.

I am using HDMI from my XA2 with the latest firmware, the signal on the Xa2 is set to 1080/24. The sgnal on the PT-AE2000 in the menu says it is 1080/60.
Spartan300 is offline  
post #461 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GrantMeThePower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles Area
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spartan300 View Post

I am using HDMI from my XA2 with the latest firmware, the signal on the Xa2 is set to 1080/24. The sgnal on the PT-AE2000 in the menu says it is 1080/60.

What are you trying to watch? Maybe the HD DVD is shot on video? Is it an SD DVD?
GrantMeThePower is offline  
post #462 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tvted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spartan300 View Post

I am using HDMI from my XA2 with the latest firmware, the signal on the Xa2 is set to 1080/24. The sgnal on the PT-AE2000 in the menu says it is 1080/60.

Apologies if this has been answered.

Does the AE2000 display 1080p24 at a *multiple* of 24 or does it accept 24p and display it within 60hz synch? If it does, is there an indication of what refresh rate it runs at?

ted
tvted is offline  
post #463 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvted View Post

Does the AE2000 display 1080p24 at a *multiple* of 24 or does it accept 24p and display it within 60hz synch? If it does, is there an indication of what refresh rate it runs at?

ted

According to Projector Central, it displays it at 96Hz

Quote:


The AE2000 displays 24 at a 96Hz refresh rate.

http://www.projectorcentral.com/pana..._projector.htm
JDLIVE is offline  
post #464 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Spartan300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvted View Post

Apologies if this has been answered.

Does the AE2000 display 1080p24 at a *multiple* of 24 or does it accept 24p and display it within 60hz synch? If it does, is there an indication of what refresh rate it runs at?

ted

Thanks everyone for all the help. It accepts the 1080/24 feed but displays it as 1080/60. I have tried watching several HD-DVD's, does anyone have a recommendation on an HD-DVD they know is filmed at 1080/24p?
Spartan300 is offline  
post #465 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ay221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does the ae2000 have the standard personal computer style power cord connector? That is the cable I have on my sony hs51, and I don't want to have to redo that.

Edit: I see the pic from the first message, apparently it does.
ay221 is offline  
post #466 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Joe_Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ay221 View Post

Does the ae2000 have the standard personal computer style power cord connector? That is the cable I have on my sony hs51, and I don't want to have to redo that.

Edit: I see the pic from the first message, apparently it does.

Should be a standard IEC-320-C13.


Joe_Black is offline  
post #467 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pottscb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Headroom View Post

Do you think that AE2000's brightness in Color1 would be enough for my 92" Stewart Firehawk G3, in a dedicated cinema-room? Lens will be at the "wide" end.

I don't see why not...if your doing a short-throw setup you brightness will be maximized and with a screen as small as 92" and a positive gain on the Firehawk, I think you should be in business... (AND I'm super jealous of your screen) Heck, you'll probably be able to fight a moderate level of indirect room lighting if you wanted to.
pottscb is offline  
post #468 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pottscb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlindo View Post

I was skeptical of that RS1 shot so I went and slapped in both the dvd and newer bluray release of it and 5th Element looks NOTHING like that on my RS1. NOTHING. It isn't even close. If it looked that bad I wouldn't still have it.

Either Art's RS1 was set up wrong with him playing around with the colour control and/or RGB controls or his camera really does a number on images making them more oversaturated and oragne/red.

...or, the pictures are NOT very accurate representations of what the projector actually looks like in real life (thus his multiple exposures of the same frame to show different shadow details and color)...which is his favorite disclaimer at the beginning of every review...
pottscb is offline  
post #469 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kenrosencpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Alamo, CA
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bminda View Post

I compared the 5th Element pics from Projector Reviews for the RS1 and Sony Pearl vs each other and PSB's posted pic off his Panny ae2000... the results show the panny's accurate colors and how really far out the RS1 (and even the Pearl's) colors really are!

but also, the RS1 and even the Pearl seem to have a slightly "punchier" image, despite their off-the-wall colors...

PS. the top image is the 1st projector listed in the name of the pic.

It' been a long time since I have seen the 5th Element. But to me the Panny makes her look like a ghost. Is she supposed to look that way? Sorry I don't know how to get the attachments in the Quote
Kenrosencpa is offline  
post #470 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 04:18 PM
Member
 
Probe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Harkness View Post

I'm sorry to read you've had bad experience with Panasonic.

But, for whatever reason, the Panasonic service here in Toronto is the polar opposite: it is the best customer service I've ever experienced, particularly from a mega-company. Both my friend, who buys lots of AV equipment, and I have had consistently unexpected levels of service. For instance, when I first got my plasma after a month and a half I thought I had burn in. I didn't think I should have burn in given I was pretty careful with the display and took the issue to Panasonic. Burn in is very explicitly one of the few problems mentioned in the warranty as NOT being covered in warranty, so I wasn't expecting much.

After all sorts of tests, and with a reminder that burn-in is not covered in their warranty, they gave me a new plasma!

My friend's DVD player was put in and fixed. Panasonic had originally charged him for parts they thought it needed (was out of warranty). But after he'd received his player back he got a message in the mail with a cheque from Panasonic refunding him because they were able to fix it without those parts (or something similar to that). Not every company would bother being so honest.

And we just picked up my pal's Panasonic AE700 projector. It died recently. It's an old projector model that he'd bought second hand and it was way out of warranty. I drove it to Panasonic for him and when they realised it wasn't under warranty they immediately did what they could - doing some maneuvers so that it could be put under warranty. I just got it back and it was fixed ( a major part had been replaced) all free of charge!

Both my friend and I have been so impressed every time we deal with Panasonic Canada they've we feel they've earned our customer loyalty. I'm hard pressed to think of any other major company that has done so.

I'm glad you found their service acceptable. However, I'd expect nothing less since we pay double the cost the amercians pay!!!!
Probe is offline  
post #471 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 05:43 PM
Sax
Advanced Member
 
Sax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would like to hear from people who got the AE2000U. On how happy they are with it.
Sax is offline  
post #472 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
tocaje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Possibly purchaser of Panasonic. I'm one of those who purchased Walmart's $98 HD-A2 deals. Also qualifies for 5 movies. I figure if I sell them for $10 each I have a $50 hd player. But, is it worth it? Will 1080i look good or great or lousy on the panasonic? It looks great on my Sony KDSa2000.
Thanks.
tocaje is offline  
post #473 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 70
The Toshiba will look very good on the Panasonic. The XA2 would be somewhat better since it outputs 1080p and will be able to output 1080/24. I think you will be happy with the Toshiba A2
rwestley is offline  
post #474 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 06:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
chexi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 739
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Anyone who has the 2000 also have a Marantz VP4001 or the Sharp equivalent? I would like to know how the black levels compare and how lumens compare between color1 on the Panny and Theater 1 on the Marantz. I'd love to have 1080p/24 and vertical stretch, but I've gotten used to pretty good blacks (for a digital) on the Marantz and a reasonably bright picture as well.
chexi1 is offline  
post #475 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kenrosencpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Alamo, CA
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

The Toshiba will look very good on the Panasonic. The XA2 would be somewhat better since it outputs 1080p and will be able to output 1080/24. I think you will be happy with the Toshiba A2

can someone explain this to me. I thought that 1080i could be deinterlaced so there isn't any difference
Kenrosencpa is offline  
post #476 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 08:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
sdlehman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: St. Charles, Missouri
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenrosencpa View Post

can someone explain this to me. I thought that 1080i could be deinterlaced so there isn't any difference

It can, it is just that the XA2 has a higher quality video processor and will likely do a much better job than the AE2000.

Stace
sdlehman is offline  
post #477 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Expletive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenrosencpa View Post

see page 14 #269 for the brightness specs on this pj

sorry I couldn't find this info on page 14 or post 269?
Expletive is offline  
post #478 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 08:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kenrosencpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Alamo, CA
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Expletive View Post

sorry I couldn't find this info on page 14 or post 269?

\\
You didn't look hard enough but here it is.

A friend of mine received his AE2000 yesterday.
I was very curious to know how bright it was in each mode.

He was nice enough to email me the results of his measurements late last night.

Mode Throw Lumens (eco mode)

Cinema1 Min 410 (350)
Cinema1 Max 250 (215)

Color1 Min 450 (380)
Color1 Max 255 (220)

Normal Min 795 (675)
Normal Max 465 (395)

Dynamic Min 1525 (1295)
Dynamic Max 920 (780)


Min = closest to the screen
Max = furthest from the screen

All measurements with iris ON.
Kenrosencpa is offline  
post #479 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 10:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GrantMeThePower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles Area
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by reio-ta View Post

Did you try Expanded mode on your Xbox 360? VGA is RGB using Expanded 0 - 255 black level. Setting to Expanded should fix your problem. Try using all three settings: Normal, Intermediate, and Expanded. My bet is Expanded will be it. You need to have the latest update btw too.

Btw, don't set your Xbox 360 to 1080i EVER, except if you're watching DVDs or HD-DVD, games are done at 720p60, 1080i60 will deinterlace to 1080p30 and double the frame rate to 1080p60, you'll lose more than half your frame rate in the conversion and never be able to beat Guitar Hero nor people online with Halo 3! For games only use 720p or 1080p.

Can the xbox output games at 1080p via component?
GrantMeThePower is offline  
post #480 of 3930 Old 11-04-2007, 10:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
EMAGDNIM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Frozen Canada eh!
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrantMeThePower View Post

Can the xbox output games at 1080p via component?


Yes it does play games in 1080p through the use of component cables...When you try to playback a HD DVD it will switch to 1080i...
EMAGDNIM is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Panasonic Ce

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off