Optoma HD65 Review & Screenshots - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 2884 Old 12-21-2007, 11:34 AM
Newbie
 
parimal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys. I got this projector yesterday and have been trying to configure it. Here is my setup

DVD - Philips DVP5982/37 upconverting DVD player
Projector- Optoma HD65
Connectivity - HDMI to HDMI

The problem I am having is that the projector does not lock in to the DVD's resolution. When I connect, it identifies the resolution e.g. 720p at 60HZ and then when it tries to lock ( screen goes blank for a second) it cant and then it projector goes back into search mode, identifies the resolution again and this goes on in a loop. It only plays when its at 480p. I tried various combinations but to no avail. I upgraded the firmware on the DVD player.

Wondering if anyone has any idea on what may be causing this problem ?

Thanks
Parimal
parimal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 2884 Old 12-22-2007, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
First set auto lock on in the projectors menu. Then you hit the direct button only on your remote. Looking to settle on Digital/RGB keep hitting the button till you see that on the screen. Have the projector going first before you turn on the DVD player, for the proper hand shake.
good luck

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #93 of 2884 Old 12-22-2007, 08:15 PM
Newbie
 
parimal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 480p and 576p working. As soon as I go to 720p, its okay when its at the setup screen but as soon as a DVD starts playing, the projector goes back in the searching , locking and searching blue screen loop.

Also is there a menu option to go into Eco mode or Brite mode. I thought I choose bright mode at one point and now I find the fan to be too loud. For some reason I cant find the option to go back into eco mode.

Thanks again for you help
parimal is offline  
post #94 of 2884 Old 12-24-2007, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Undo AI to use econo mode. Try another DVD and cable setup up if you can.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #95 of 2884 Old 12-28-2007, 01:59 PM
Newbie
 
pedg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have an HD65 and a 5980 philips upscaling DVD player and also having problems getting the HDMI connection to work. Question is which is the end causing the problem?
pedg is offline  
post #96 of 2884 Old 12-28-2007, 06:21 PM
Member
 
cheeks80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the problem happen with a component connection too?
cheeks80 is offline  
post #97 of 2884 Old 12-29-2007, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The one I had I used a Tosh HD player and a 25' HDMI cable, never a problem. Run tests with a shorter cable, or try different resolutions from the player.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #98 of 2884 Old 12-30-2007, 08:33 AM
Newbie
 
Flanners's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How would this compare to my old Panny Ae500, was thinking of this as it is £416 over here in the UK or paying for the AX200 at £793 or a secondhand AE900 for £400.

Having never had a DLP I am not sur I would/can see rainbows?
Flanners is offline  
post #99 of 2884 Old 12-30-2007, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I had the AX100 and tried it for the high brightness, the HD65 measured higher in brightness by a few hundred lumens, it has more basic contrast than the LCD. I did like the Panasonic though if rainbows are a problem it's worth a look. More money though

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #100 of 2884 Old 12-31-2007, 05:08 AM
Newbie
 
pedg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheeks80 View Post

Does the problem happen with a component connection too?

Component connection is fine for me. For the moment I am sorting my problem between HD65 and Philips by rearranging what connection is used for which so as to free up the component cables for the DVD player (have cable box, dvd, PC and Wii using different connections)
pedg is offline  
post #101 of 2884 Old 01-01-2008, 05:25 AM
Member
 
Digi247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys

Have a problem here in the UK and was hoping someone could help i got the HD65 and the Toshiba HD EP35 here in the UK and have just purchased the Onkyo 875 with latest firmware. Now heres the problem and i have tried several solutions and none work everytime i turn on the HD65 signal coming from 875 with HDMI the 875 throws a wobbly and will not see my HD EP35 or the 875.

Funny thing is itried the 875 and EP35 on my Pionner 507 and it worked no problem, Tried once again on the Optoma Hd65 and it wont work, If i connect the Tosh HD EP35 directly to the Optoma HD65 it locks onto the picture straight away.

Anyone with the same setup have a solution at all



Thanks
Digi247 is offline  
post #102 of 2884 Old 01-02-2008, 09:09 AM
Member
 
cheeks80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I plan to connect my HD65 to PC. Now i am confused whether to go for the Component or HDMI.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowIm...E3R+Video+Card

The main concern here is the graphics card has a component cable off the s-video port. How good will be compared to the hdmi dongle off the dvi port?

I plan to use the PC for gaming and movies.

Please help.

Regards,
Ramesh R
cheeks80 is offline  
post #103 of 2884 Old 01-02-2008, 09:27 PM
Newbie
 
parimal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
guys.. i got the PS3 and connected using the same HDMI cable which i thought was giving me problems with the philips 5982. everything works like a charm so i think the problem was with the dvd player.

Cheers!
parimal is offline  
post #104 of 2884 Old 01-02-2008, 11:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yeah this device vs HDMI vs cable is frustrating. Right just keep searching for what will work is all we can do. Personally I'm not all the peachy keen on the HDMI program. But once we find a way to make it work all is bliss.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #105 of 2884 Old 01-04-2008, 04:07 AM
Member
 
speedtriplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there,

I placed an order on new year's eve on what I thought was the best deal on the net, only to find very bad ratings on resellerratings.com for the website which scared me away and I cancelled a day later.
I'm talking about electotronics, any of you bought your HD65 or anything from there? The price is too good to pass over, but all the classic features of a "dubious website" fit it well. Any help or info would be appreciated.

Cheers.

EDIT:I'm sorry I'm not sure if I'm breaking any forum rules here, but if I am, MOD delete my post.
speedtriplex is offline  
post #106 of 2884 Old 01-05-2008, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'll use a credit card to be protected when buying on the web. If the deals good it's worth a shot.

This is a pretty cool little projector, very high power for such a little size. Flush mounted on a white ceiling you would hardly notice it.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #107 of 2884 Old 01-05-2008, 12:46 PM
Member
 
speedtriplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Tom for your feedback
Hmmm, yeah you're right about the CC being safe as you can always dispute the charges with the CC company
Maybe I'll give it a go and hope for the best
speedtriplex is offline  
post #108 of 2884 Old 01-05-2008, 01:04 PM
Member
 
speedtriplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by p@55w0rd View Post

Interesting thing though... It looks like there is a tripod mount screw located in the center of the three ceiling mount screw holes. No mention of it's purpose in the manual. This thing is really small!

Yeah I want to know the if there is really a tripod mount screw on the HD65?... Any owners please?
speedtriplex is offline  
post #109 of 2884 Old 01-07-2008, 04:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
anirbana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me what lamp module it uses? is the same as HD70 or a different one.

Somehow I am not able to find this info. Appreciate if someone can update...
anirbana is offline  
post #110 of 2884 Old 01-07-2008, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
heiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Deciding right now between the HD7100 and the HD65 - I like the short throw of the 7100 and the great picture. Is there picture wise a significat difference between the old technology of the 71000 compared to the 65? Is it also more reliable?
Any thoughts?
heiwi is offline  
post #111 of 2884 Old 01-09-2008, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
heiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jherring69 View Post

Thanks for the info guys. I plan on getting this as soon as it releases in Canada. The HD 70 is still over a grand up here. Plus no rebates.

If this costs about the same or even a bit more it should be a great deal. I am looking forward to trying out the Superwide feature. I'll gladly give up a small bit of picture info on the sides in order to fill my screen.

Any confirmed dates for when the HD65 will begin shipping?

Jason

the hd65 is already here in canada - under the name of hd640 at costco warehouses - not on online shopping costco - below $1000 with screen
heiwi is offline  
post #112 of 2884 Old 01-09-2008, 02:06 PM
Newbie
 
swynjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can anyone comment on the fan noise of this projector?

some of the literature states 34 db in economy mode and 35 db in standard mode. Have also read that is it 29 db in economy and 30 in standard.

I am looking to upgrade from the Infocus SP4805 which I find quite noisy especially during quiet scenes. thanks.
swynjones is offline  
post #113 of 2884 Old 01-09-2008, 02:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by heiwi View Post

Deciding right now between the HD7100 and the HD65 - I like the short throw of the 7100 and the great picture. Is there picture wise a significat difference between the old technology of the 71000 compared to the 65? Is it also more reliable?
Any thoughts?

The HD7100 is DC3 and does a great picture, it's been buggy and drove some owners crazy. The HD65 is a different animal, it's main thing is how bright it is. The fan sound is low in econo, in high lamp it comes close to the 4805 which I have heard.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #114 of 2884 Old 01-09-2008, 03:26 PM
Newbie
 
swynjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks Tom. picture quality wise would you say that the hd65 is a noticeable step up from the infocus 4805? I'm not too bothered about the advantage of the HD65 brightness as my cinema room is pretty dark and most use is for watching films in the evening anyway.
swynjones is offline  
post #115 of 2884 Old 01-09-2008, 06:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Bsims2719's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I read one review or maybe it was on the Optoma website indicating that sending the HD65 a 1080p/24 signal resulted in a much cleaner picture. Is this true and would you list this as a significant advantage over the other low cost 720p projectors that can't accept this signal.

thanks
Bsims2719 is offline  
post #116 of 2884 Old 01-10-2008, 05:15 AM
Senior Member
 
heiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post

The HD7100 is DC3 and does a great picture, it's been buggy and drove some owners crazy. The HD65 is a different animal, it's main thing is how bright it is. The fan sound is low in econo, in high lamp it comes close to the 4805 which I have heard.

But isn't a DC2 with much newer technology better then a 3 year old DC3? I heard the fan in econo and it whispers compared to a HD7100 in econo. The size of this machine is unbelievable - it practially disappears in a room.
heiwi is offline  
post #117 of 2884 Old 01-10-2008, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
DC3 is still a more expensive chip, a larger chip also which means more light. On for a dark theater room which one the HD7100 or HD65? I'd have to go with the HD7100 and pray there are no bugs.

The HD65 with its new brilliant color 2 and special RGBCYM color wheel produces a super bright and and lets say jovial color array. Many will like this kind of image and blasting colors.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #118 of 2884 Old 01-10-2008, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
heiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your advice.
I will have the opportunity to see both of them next to each other on the weekend. Will be great to see the differnce and I will report back here.
heiwi is offline  
post #119 of 2884 Old 01-10-2008, 02:44 PM
Member
 
mindgam3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by heiwi View Post

Thanks for your advice.
I will have the opportunity to see both of them next to each other on the weekend. Will be great to see the differnce and I will report back here.

Thanks, I really really want to read more about this projector before buying it. How does it compare to the HD72?
mindgam3 is offline  
post #120 of 2884 Old 01-10-2008, 03:47 PM
Member
 
speedtriplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mindgam3 View Post

Thanks, I really really want to read more about this projector before buying it. How does it compare to the HD72?

Yeah I'll second that!
How does it compare to the Acer PH530?
Also, how big a picture can the HD65 handle considering it's 1600 lumens?
This will be a major deciding factor for me as I'm seriously thinking of going 12' wide in 2.40:1 CIH setup with this projector
speedtriplex is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Optoma Hd65 720p Dlp Home Theater Projector
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off