showing off xbmc - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 Old 08-21-2008, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
onesojourner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been playing with the xbmc ubuntu svn builds for about 2 months now along with a skin called aeon. I was using myth before this. I must say the ease of set up and beauty of my current set up have me totally hooked. So far this is chewing through any file type I have thrown at it. Here are a few pics of aeon alpha 14a with a sneak peak of things to come at the end.






Music


wall view


TV


movies





onesojourner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 Old 08-21-2008, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
onesojourner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
onesojourner is offline  
post #3 of 36 Old 08-21-2008, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Troubleshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern Cowhampshire
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gosh that is just overwhelming compared to Myth's frontend....Looks very nice!
Troubleshooter is offline  
post #4 of 36 Old 08-21-2008, 10:54 AM
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very nice, indeed. Does the alpha-blending affect video playback? This is an issue I've had with linuxmce's blending interface and kde 4.1 with desktop effects turned on. Still looking for the "magic bullet" for this one.
mythmaster is offline  
post #5 of 36 Old 08-21-2008, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
onesojourner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You basically have 2 options. You have to either turn off desktop effects or you need to go into the settings and set it so they do not effect xbmc. Both ways work.
onesojourner is offline  
post #6 of 36 Old 08-21-2008, 11:07 AM
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by onesojourner View Post

You basically have 2 options. You have to either turn off desktop effects or you need to go into the settings and set it so they do not effect xbmc. Both ways work.

Cool. Looking at their site, does XBMC not support live tv/pvr functionality?
mythmaster is offline  
post #7 of 36 Old 08-21-2008, 11:32 AM
Member
 
Toxic69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
very flashy indeed.. but dose it have better capabilities compared to MythTV
Toxic69 is offline  
post #8 of 36 Old 08-21-2008, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
onesojourner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no xbmc does not have any live/pvr functionality. There is a plugin for myth but I know nothing about it.

From my experience so far xbmc seems to be superior in every way compared to myth other than the live functionality. I used myth for roughly a year before I made the switch.
onesojourner is offline  
post #9 of 36 Old 08-21-2008, 11:54 AM
Member
 
Toxic69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm reading trough the features and couldnt find anything about ripping DVDs to the HD. Am i just over lookin that or it doesn't support ripping...

http://xbmc.org/about/features/
Toxic69 is offline  
post #10 of 36 Old 08-21-2008, 11:57 AM
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by onesojourner View Post

no xbmc does not have any live/pvr functionality. There is a plugin for myth but I know nothing about it.

From my experience so far xbmc seems to be superior in every way compared to myth other than the live functionality. I used myth for roughly a year before I made the switch.

Thanks. I'll have to look into this plugin...
mythmaster is offline  
post #11 of 36 Old 08-21-2008, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
onesojourner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxic69 View Post

i'm reading trough the features and couldnt find anything about ripping DVDs to the HD. Am i just over lookin that or it doesn't support ripping...

http://xbmc.org/about/features/


nope it does not rip dvds that I know of. xbmc is good at playing and organizing your media. Sourcing the media is not where it shines.

I have a buddy that does use dvr functions. He has a myth box set up to record his shows and movies. They go into a folder he has shared via smb. Xbmc uses its scrapers to catalog and organize all his media like you see above.
onesojourner is offline  
post #12 of 36 Old 08-21-2008, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
onesojourner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
onesojourner is offline  
post #13 of 36 Old 08-21-2008, 04:06 PM
Senior Member
 
mr007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i love xbmc but no support for outside codecs like coreavc makes me sad
mr007 is offline  
post #14 of 36 Old 08-22-2008, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MichaelZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,480
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr007 View Post

i love xbmc but no support for outside codecs like coreavc makes me sad

What he said!
MichaelZ is offline  
post #15 of 36 Old 08-27-2008, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those are cool screenshots! What xbox do I need? I only have here the old xbox and not xbox 360? Do I have to mod my xbox to get xbmc to work? What mod do you recommend?

Honestly, the screenshot of Dark Knight is phenomenal!
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #16 of 36 Old 08-27-2008, 12:44 PM
Rgb
AVS Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1rtu0s1ty View Post

Those are cool screenshots! What xbox do I need? I only have here the old xbox and not xbox 360? Do I have to mod my xbox to get xbmc to work? What mod do you recommend?

Honestly, the screenshot of Dark Knight is phenomenal!

It installs in Linux- no Xbox needed-
http://xbmc.org/forum/showthread.php?p=185738
Rgb is offline  
post #17 of 36 Old 08-27-2008, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rgb View Post

It installs in Linux- no Xbox needed-
http://xbmc.org/forum/showthread.php?p=185738

Wow, awesome!!!

Thanks for the link!
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #18 of 36 Old 08-29-2008, 10:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
gorman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr007 View Post

i love xbmc but no support for outside codecs like coreavc makes me sad

There's people claiming to be able to decode the 1080p "birds killer sample" from Planet Earth, with no frames lost, on an E6600 with no overclocking.
This is under Linux, with no hardware acceleration (obviously) and no CoreAVC.

See this thread http://xbmc.org/forum/showthread.php?t=33770 Paco's messages and BLKMGK (which claims to get the same result on an E6750).

From how I understand it, once you are able to decode that sample, you are done, as it exceeds Blu-Ray specs.

Seriously. AVS is a place where you go to learn to be unhappy. - Bear5k
gorman42 is offline  
post #19 of 36 Old 08-29-2008, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MichaelZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,480
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorman42 View Post

There's people claiming to be able to decode the 1080p "birds killer sample" from Planet Earth, with no frames lost, on an E6600 with no overclocking.
This is under Linux, with no hardware acceleration (obviously) and no CoreAVC.

See this thread http://xbmc.org/forum/showthread.php?t=33770 Paco's messages and BLKMGK (which claims to get the same result on an E6750).

From how I understand it, once you are able to decode that sample, you are done, as it exceeds Blu-Ray specs.

I believe that is a VC-1 encode so CoreAVC would not help since it is for H.264 decoding only. I have yet to find any VC-1 encodes that gives my setup any problem at all. VC-1 encodes use a lot less CPU cycle compared to H.264. Also, I think there is a 3:2 pulldown in the VC-1 encode which is causing the so-called stuttering seen in the "birds flying" scene.
MichaelZ is offline  
post #20 of 36 Old 09-05-2008, 09:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
drkdiggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This looks beautiful, I've been messing around with Elisa Fluendo but it doesn't appear to hold a candle to XBMC with the Aeon skin. More importantly, where can I download a copy of the joker picture in the background for the Dark Knight screenshot?
drkdiggler is offline  
post #21 of 36 Old 09-07-2008, 09:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
drkdiggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've done some poking around, looking at the MythTV plugin and it looks like it is not yet fully functional. However, according to the MythTV entry for the plugin http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/Xbox_Frontend, the plugin was part of the Google Summer of Code and may be fully functional by the Fall.
drkdiggler is offline  
post #22 of 36 Old 09-08-2008, 01:21 PM
Member
 
Gamester17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkdiggler View Post

More importantly, where can I download a copy of the joker picture in the background for the Dark Knight screenshot?

XBMC downloads all covers and FanArt backdrops for you automatically from the internet, you only need to set which folder contains your movies via a contextual menu inside the GUI.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drkdiggler View Post

I've done some poking around, looking at the MythTV plugin and it looks like it is not yet fully functional. However, according to the MythTV entry for the plugin http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/Xbox_Frontend, the plugin was part of the Google Summer of Code and may be fully functional by the Fall.

There is a third-party XBMC python plugin for MythTV which is fully functional, it does the job but is not pretty to look at. What is not fully functional and still under development is native support in XBMC for PVR back-end servers such as MythTV, that will not be integrated into XBMC until later this year.

PS! If you think that Aeon is beautiful then you should checkout the MediaStream skin for XBMC:
http://xbmc.org/forum/showthread.php?t=36836
http://teamrazorfish.co.uk

PPS! More screenshots of Aeon can be found here: http://aeonproject.com

Gamester17 is offline  
post #23 of 36 Old 09-08-2008, 09:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
tbdombrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorman42 View Post

There's people claiming to be able to decode the 1080p "birds killer sample" from Planet Earth, with no frames lost, on an E6600 with no overclocking.
This is under Linux, with no hardware acceleration (obviously) and no CoreAVC.

See this thread http://xbmc.org/forum/showthread.php?t=33770 Paco's messages and BLKMGK (which claims to get the same result on an E6750).

From how I understand it, once you are able to decode that sample, you are done, as it exceeds Blu-Ray specs.

I can confirm this. It has a multithreaded decoder that works for some video streams. I personally used it to watch 720p and 1080p x264 streams on my E2160 processor with no dropped frames. It doesn't work with wmv streams though. I have an Nvidia 7300 card.

Tom
tbdombrosky is offline  
post #24 of 36 Old 09-09-2008, 03:19 PM
Senior Member
 
lordhutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is this skin available for the windows version of xbmc windows edition?...does the windows version have all the options of the ubuntu version?...or is it time for me to learn Linux?
lordhutt is offline  
post #25 of 36 Old 09-10-2008, 11:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
onesojourner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You should have no issues running this skin in the windows version. That said I have never tried it. Just dump the aeon folder into your skins folder and you should be good to go.
onesojourner is offline  
post #26 of 36 Old 09-15-2008, 10:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
drkdiggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are there any settings that need to be enabled for multithreading? I recently setup MythTV as a video source and I've noticed that my CPU utilization while watching shows is around 110%. Is this some form of artifact in the "top" program or is XBMC utilize 2 cores?
drkdiggler is offline  
post #27 of 36 Old 09-16-2008, 06:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
tbdombrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I personally didn't have to enable anything. You can see the breakdown on each core by hitting 1 on your keyboard while top is running.

Tom
tbdombrosky is offline  
post #28 of 36 Old 09-16-2008, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
newlinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Parts unknown
Posts: 1,575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
try using htop. What distro are you using?
newlinux is online now  
post #29 of 36 Old 09-19-2008, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
drkdiggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It does appear to be using both cores. I currently have a 2.3 GHz Athlon X2. I may need some more horsepower, however I think that I will wait for AMD's 45nm parts.
drkdiggler is offline  
post #30 of 36 Old 09-19-2008, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
newlinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Parts unknown
Posts: 1,575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
what type of files are you trying to playback, an X2 2.3Ghz should be plenty for playback of most HD streams, maybe struggling with h.264 1080p. What type of CPU utilization does htop show?
newlinux is online now  
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off