*Official* Nvidia VDPAU thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 214 Old 01-11-2009, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by quantumstate View Post

No. Advanced for Primary gives blurring on pans and dropped lines, at least on cards without HW mpeg2 and H.264.

That setting is for VDPAU users.
mythmaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 214 Old 01-12-2009, 06:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kermee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mill Creek, WA
Posts: 660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can confirm 9300M GS supports VC-1 under DXVA so I'd assume it should properly work under VDPAU. This is on an ASUS N10J-A1 corporate netbook.


Cheers, Kermee
Kermee is offline  
post #93 of 214 Old 01-29-2009, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
BassKozz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Couple of things required:
for vdpinfo:
Code:
sudo apt-get install xorg-dev
for mplayer:
Code:
 sudo apt-get install subversion
BassKozz is offline  
post #94 of 214 Old 02-05-2009, 05:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello - please help.

I just re-installed Ubuntu 8.10, followed the guide in post 1 step-by-step, up until the vdpinfo section. When I "make" I get:
Code:
jay@jay-desktop:~/Software/vdpinfo$ sudo make
g++ -O3 -g   -c -o vdpinfo.o vdpinfo.cpp
In file included from vdpinfo.cpp:37:
/usr/include/vdpau/vdpau_x11.h:44:22: error: X11/Xlib.h: No such file or directory
In file included from vdpinfo.cpp:37:
/usr/include/vdpau/vdpau_x11.h:122: error: typedef ‘VdpDeviceCreateX11’ is initialized (use __typeof__ instead)
/usr/include/vdpau/vdpau_x11.h:122: error: ‘Display’ was not declared in this scope
/usr/include/vdpau/vdpau_x11.h:122: error: ‘display’ was not declared in this scope
/usr/include/vdpau/vdpau_x11.h:123: error: expected primary-expression before ‘int’
/usr/include/vdpau/vdpau_x11.h:125: error: expected primary-expression before ‘*’ token
/usr/include/vdpau/vdpau_x11.h:125: error: ‘device’ was not declared in this scope
/usr/include/vdpau/vdpau_x11.h:126: error: expected primary-expression before ‘*’ token
/usr/include/vdpau/vdpau_x11.h:126: error: ‘get_proc_address’ was not declared in this scope
/usr/include/vdpau/vdpau_x11.h:134: error: ‘VdpDeviceCreateX11’ does not name a type
/usr/include/vdpau/vdpau_x11.h:158: error: ‘Drawable’ has not been declared
vdpinfo.cpp: In function ‘int main(int, char**)’:
vdpinfo.cpp:358: error: ‘Display’ was not declared in this scope
vdpinfo.cpp:358: error: ‘display’ was not declared in this scope
vdpinfo.cpp:360: error: ‘XDisplayName’ was not declared in this scope
vdpinfo.cpp:361: error: ‘XOpenDisplay’ was not declared in this scope
vdpinfo.cpp:367: error: ‘DefaultScreen’ was not declared in this scope
vdpinfo.cpp:374: error: ‘vdp_device_create_x11’ was not declared in this scope
make: *** [vdpinfo.o] Error 1
jay@jay-desktop:~/Software/vdpinfo$
Errors all over the place. Any ideas?

EDIT - oh. my. gawd. Does the post directly abive mine solve my problem? I guess I'll know in a minute...

EDIT #2 - Well. yes, it does solve my problem. Hah! [back to work...]
Jay_S is offline  
post #95 of 214 Old 02-05-2009, 06:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah hah! The post on top of mine strikes again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BassKozz View Post

Couple of things required:
for vdpinfo:
Code:
sudo apt-get install xorg-dev
for mplayer:
Code:
sudo apt-get install subversion

THANK YOU!
Jay_S is offline  
post #96 of 214 Old 02-05-2009, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
BassKozz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_S View Post

Ah hah! The post on top of mine strikes again.
THANK YOU!

No prob, glad I could help
BassKozz is offline  
post #97 of 214 Old 02-05-2009, 07:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks also to mythmaster for the how-to.

I'm getting a lot of tearing. This is with 180.22 stable, a 8800GT, mplayer, and a DXVA-compatible 720p h264 encode of an ATSC Lost capture.

VDPAU works through, watching the episode my A64 single-core CPU was averaging around 10-12%.

I googled re: the tearing, and it seems like this is a known issue. Almost there...
Jay_S is offline  
post #98 of 214 Old 02-05-2009, 08:23 PM
Member
 
phelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_S View Post

Thanks also to mythmaster for the how-to.

I'm getting a lot of tearing. This is with 180.22 stable, a 8800GT, mplayer, and a DXVA-compatible 720p h264 encode of an ATSC Lost capture.

VDPAU works through, watching the episode my A64 single-core CPU was averaging around 10-12%.

I googled re: the tearing, and it seems like this is a known issue. Almost there...

Don't know if you solved it already, but most of the tearing issues are caused by compositing and therefore disabling it should clear the issue. So, put this in your xorg.conf:

Code:
Section "Extensions"
    Option         "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection
phelin is offline  
post #99 of 214 Old 02-07-2009, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by phelin View Post

Don't know if you solved it already, but most of the tearing issues are caused by compositing and therefore disabling it should clear the issue.

Thanks, that did the trick.
Jay_S is offline  
post #100 of 214 Old 02-07-2009, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
By the way, all you other linux gurus may already know this, but I just figured this out and impressed the hell out of myself

How to tell Ubuntu to launch mplayer with VDPAU when you double-click a video file.
1) right-click on the video file, select 'Open with Other Application' from the contextual menu
2) click on "Use a custom command" at the bottom
3) browse to where ever you installed mplayer and select it
4) the path to mplayer should now be in the field under "Use a custom command"
5) paste the following after the mplayer path, outside the quotes:
Code:
-vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau
For example, mine looks like this:
Code:
'/home/jay/Software/mplayer-vdpau-3219724/mplayer-vdpau/mplayer' -vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau
This makes life infinitely easier on my wife.
Jay_S is offline  
post #101 of 214 Old 02-07-2009, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Lost Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North of the Columbia River
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_S View Post

By the way, all you other linux gurus may already know this, but I just figured this out and impressed the hell out of myself

How to tell Ubuntu to launch mplayer with VDPAU when you double-click a video file.
1) right-click on the video file, select 'Open with Other Application' from the contextual menu
2) click on "Use a custom command" at the bottom
3) browse to where ever you installed mplayer and select it
4) the path to mplayer should now be in the field under "Use a custom command"
5) paste the following after the mplayer path, outside the quotes:
Code:
-vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau
For example, mine looks like this:
Code:
'/home/jay/Software/mplayer-vdpau-3219724/mplayer-vdpau/mplayer' -vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau
This makes life infinitely easier on my wife.

In the big honkin' mplayer-vdpau thread on nvforums if I remember correctly someone wrote a wrapper script that would select the correct vdpau option when you launched mplayer...

I've been partial to xine over mplayer so that's where I've been testing. I'll start messing around with it more today.
Lost Dog is offline  
post #102 of 214 Old 02-10-2009, 02:50 PM
Member
 
vblanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mythmaster View Post

PATCH AND BUILD MPLAYER

* Download the patchset from nvidia. Here is a direct link to the version needed for 180.16 --> ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/vd...219724.tar.bz2

thanks for your thread...I have drivers 180.29, which patchset should I use? many thanks.

Antec NSK2480 case
GigaByte GA-E7AUM-DS2H
Intel Dual Core E5200
Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 1TB
Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5/G 4GB
XP 32-bit
feeding a Sony Bravia 40w4000
vblanche is offline  
post #103 of 214 Old 02-10-2009, 04:30 PM
Senior Member
 
BassKozz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vblanche View Post

thanks for your thread...I have drivers 180.29, which patchset should I use? many thanks.

I would use the latest version: ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/vd...482714.tar.bz2

To list all the versions: ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/vdpau/
BassKozz is offline  
post #104 of 214 Old 02-12-2009, 05:40 AM
Member
 
vblanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, i followed the instructions until here:
Quote:
Originally Posted by mythmaster View Post

* Copy the codecs.conf file to your mplayer directory:
Code:
cp etc/codecs.conf ~/.mplayer/

the only codecs.conf file that I found is in /Desktop/mplayer-vdpau-34882714/mplayer-vdpau/etc directory. Is that correct?

How do I start the new mplayer? I have the other one within the K-menu in applications/multimedia. where is mplayer-vdpau executable? in /Desktop/mplayer-vdpau-34882714/mplayer-vdpau directory? how do i start it?

thanks

Antec NSK2480 case
GigaByte GA-E7AUM-DS2H
Intel Dual Core E5200
Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 1TB
Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5/G 4GB
XP 32-bit
feeding a Sony Bravia 40w4000
vblanche is offline  
post #105 of 214 Old 02-12-2009, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Jay_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vblanche View Post

So, i followed the instructions until here: the only codecs.conf file that I found is in /Desktop/mplayer-vdpau-34882714/mplayer-vdpau/etc directory. Is that correct?

Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vblanche View Post

How do I start the new mplayer?

In terminal:
Code:
./mplayer -vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau (path & name of your input file)
For me, mplayer is here:
/home/jay/Software/mplayer-vdpau-3219724/mplayer-vdpau/

So, in terminal I type:
Code:
/home/jay/Software/mplayer-vdpau-3219724/mplayer-vdpau/mplayer' -vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau (path & name of your input file)
This is all per instructions here.
Jay_S is offline  
post #106 of 214 Old 02-12-2009, 01:24 PM
Member
 
vblanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your help.

here is what I get when I try with the H264 sample:
Code:
vincent@htpc:~$ /home/vincent/Desktop/mplayer-vdpau-3482714/mplayer-vdpau/mplayer -vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau /home/Grey.ts
MPlayer dev-SVN-r28348-4.3.2 (C) 2000-2009 MPlayer Team
CPU: Pentium(R) Dual-Core  CPU      E5200  @ 2.50GHz (Family: 6, Model: 23, Stepping: 6)
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 0 3DNow2: 0 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1
Compiled for x86 CPU with extensions: MMX MMX2 SSE SSE2
mplayer: could not connect to socket
mplayer: No such file or directory
Failed to open LIRC support. You will not be able to use your remote control.

Playing /home/Grey.ts.
File not found: '/home/Grey.ts'
Failed to open /home/Grey.ts.


Exiting... (End of file)
I can read the Grey.ts with VLC though...
I don't get it said " mplayer: No such file or directory"...I can see the executable mplayer in the directory.
thanks for any help...

Also, I have 2 mplayers installed: the vdpau one and another that was already there...is that a problem? can I un-install the non-vdpau one?
thanks

Antec NSK2480 case
GigaByte GA-E7AUM-DS2H
Intel Dual Core E5200
Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 1TB
Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5/G 4GB
XP 32-bit
feeding a Sony Bravia 40w4000
vblanche is offline  
post #107 of 214 Old 02-12-2009, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"file not found" ... hmm, try including the full path to the test video. Or maybe the ~ before /home...
Jay_S is offline  
post #108 of 214 Old 02-12-2009, 02:28 PM
Member
 
vblanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_S View Post

try including the full path to the test video.

Oh my god...full path was needed, thanks. /home/vincent/Grey.ts and not /home/Grey.ts...
it's playing but it's not very smooth playback , CPU usage is 23%, and I got errors (
Code:
vincent@htpc:~$ /home/vincent/Desktop/mplayer-vdpau-3482714/mplayer-vdpau/mplayer -vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau /home/vincent/Grey.ts                                                                                                   
MPlayer dev-SVN-r28348-4.3.2 (C) 2000-2009 MPlayer Team                                                           
CPU: Pentium(R) Dual-Core  CPU      E5200  @ 2.50GHz (Family: 6, Model: 23, Stepping: 6)                          
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 0 3DNow2: 0 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1                                                       
Compiled for x86 CPU with extensions: MMX MMX2 SSE SSE2                                                           
mplayer: could not connect to socket                                                                              
mplayer: No such file or directory                                                                                
Failed to open LIRC support. You will not be able to use your remote control.                                     

Playing /home/vincent/Grey.ts.
TS file format detected.      
VIDEO H264(pid=255) AUDIO A52(pid=259) NO SUBS (yet)!  PROGRAM N. 1000
FPS seems to be: 25.000000                                            
==========================================================================
Forced video codec: ffh264vdpau                                           
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family          
[VD_FFMPEG] VDPAU accelerated codec.                                      
Selected video codec: [ffh264vdpau] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg H.264 (VDPAU))    
==========================================================================
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [liba52] AC3 decoding with liba52                  
Using SSE optimized IMDCT transform                                       
Using MMX optimized resampler                                             
AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 448.0 kbit/29.17% (ratio: 56000->192000)    
Selected audio codec: [a52] afm: liba52 (AC3-liba52)                      
==========================================================================
AO: [oss] 48000Hz 2ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
Starting playback...
VDec: vo config request - 1920 x 1088 (preferred colorspace: H.264 HIGH VDPAU acceleration)
VDec: using H.264 HIGH VDPAU acceleration as output csp (no 2)
Movie-Aspect is 1.76:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect.
VO: [vdpau] 1920x1088 => 1920x1088 H.264 HIGH VDPAU acceleration
New_Face failed. Maybe the font path is wrong.
Please supply the text font file (~/.mplayer/subfont.ttf).
subtitle font: load_sub_face failed.
New_Face failed. Maybe the font path is wrong.
Please supply the text font file (~/.mplayer/subfont.ttf).
subtitle font: load_sub_face failed.
New_Face failed. Maybe the font path is wrong./  6 ??% ??% ??,?% 4 0
Please supply the text font file (~/.mplayer/subfont.ttf).
subtitle font: load_sub_face failed.
New_Face failed. Maybe the font path is wrong.
Please supply the text font file (~/.mplayer/subfont.ttf).
subtitle font: load_sub_face failed.
TS_PARSE: COULDN'T SYNC:  1.483 ct:  1.206 826/826  1%  1%  1.6% 6 0
a52: CRC check failed!
a52: error at resampling
a52: error at resampling  1.536 ct:  1.214 828/828  1%  1%  1.6% 6 0
A:40347.6 V:40348.9 A-V: -1.317 ct:  1.246 904/904  1%  1%  1.5% 6 0

Exiting... (End of file)
VLC gives me 41% CPU usage, but playback is fluid...

Antec NSK2480 case
GigaByte GA-E7AUM-DS2H
Intel Dual Core E5200
Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 1TB
Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5/G 4GB
XP 32-bit
feeding a Sony Bravia 40w4000
vblanche is offline  
post #109 of 214 Old 02-12-2009, 04:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I seem to recall getting similar errors before copying codecs.conf into my .mplayer directory. Are you sure it's there?
Jay_S is offline  
post #110 of 214 Old 02-12-2009, 06:59 PM
Member
 
vblanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_S View Post

I seem to recall getting similar errors before copying codecs.conf into my .mplayer directory. Are you sure it's there?

Yes. thanks

Antec NSK2480 case
GigaByte GA-E7AUM-DS2H
Intel Dual Core E5200
Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 1TB
Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5/G 4GB
XP 32-bit
feeding a Sony Bravia 40w4000
vblanche is offline  
post #111 of 214 Old 02-12-2009, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Updated howto with dependencies, etc. Thanks, Jay_S and BassKozz!

If anyone sees anything missing or wrong in the howto, then let me know. I want to keep it updated until we don't need it anymore.

@vblanche: I haven't received those errors before, but try downloading the clip again to make sure it's good. This is still new to all of us, so if you run into performance problems then the best place to look for answers is over at the nvnews forums since nvidia developers will actually help you there --> http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14
mythmaster is offline  
post #112 of 214 Old 02-16-2009, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
VDPAU support is now officially in mplayer (r28617) --> http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&postcount=802
mythmaster is offline  
post #113 of 214 Old 02-16-2009, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mythmaster View Post

VDPAU support is now officially in mplayer (r28617)

What does this mean for those of us who followed your guide? Is there any reason to install this version of mplayer over the development version?
Jay_S is offline  
post #114 of 214 Old 02-16-2009, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_S View Post

What does this mean for those of us who followed your guide? Is there any reason to install this version of mplayer over the development version?

I doubt it -- I'm assuming that they've simply applied nvidia's latest patchset. I'll let you know if I hear anything different, though.

Just sharing the good news -- it means that it will be in the next stable mplayer release and not too far behind that, the *buntu repositories.

The sooner my howto becomes obsolete, the better!
mythmaster is offline  
post #115 of 214 Old 02-16-2009, 07:55 PM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
More info about the mplayer commit --> http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&postcount=803
from the same monster thread --> http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=123095
mythmaster is offline  
post #116 of 214 Old 02-19-2009, 12:57 PM
Newbie
 
The Door's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there, just got my HTPC up and running and now installing VDPAU I am a noob at linux but trying to learn

Well now to what i have done so far As I understand I have made it to the test of the capabilities
When i try to "make" the vdpinfo i get error 127 and i have no idea what that can be i have installed the xorg-dev.

Could you please help me? and if you need more info about my problem i will ofc provide them

Thank you
/Erik
The Door is offline  
post #117 of 214 Old 02-19-2009, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Door View Post

Hi there, just got my HTPC up and running and now installing VDPAU I am a noob at linux but trying to learn

Well now to what i have done so far As I understand I have made it to the test of the capabilities
When i try to "make" the vdpinfo i get error 127 and i have no idea what that can be i have installed the xorg-dev.

Could you please help me? and if you need more info about my problem i will ofc provide them

Thank you
/Erik

Can you post the errors from make? Also, which distro are you using?
mythmaster is offline  
post #118 of 214 Old 02-19-2009, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
The Door's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hehe

Well i use xubuntu and I forgot to add the nice g++ so with a nice line "sudo apt-get install g++" i did it

Sorry for taking up your time with such an easy to solve thing I should have googled earlier

Code:
display: :0.0   screen: 0
API version: 0
Information string: Unknown

Video surface:

name   width height types
-------------------------------------------
420     4096  4096  NV12 YV12 
422     4096  4096  UYVY YUYV 

Decoder capabilities:

name          level ref width height
------------------------------------
MPEG1             0 8192  2048  2048
MPEG2_SIMPLE      3 8192  2048  2048
MPEG2_MAIN        3 8192  2048  2048
H264_MAIN        41 8190  2032  2048
H264_HIGH        41 8190  2032  2048
VC1_SIMPLE        1 8190  2048  2048
VC1_MAIN          2 8190  2048  2048
VC1_ADVANCED      4 8190  2048  2048

Output surface:

name              width height nat types
----------------------------------------------------
B8G8R8A8          8192  8192    y  Y8U8V8A8 V8U8Y8A8 
R10G10B10A2       8192  8192    y  Y8U8V8A8 V8U8Y8A8 

Bitmap surface:

name              width height
------------------------------
B8G8R8A8          8192  8192
R8G8B8A8          8192  8192
R10G10B10A2       8192  8192
B10G10R10A2       8192  8192
A8                8192  8192

Video mixer:

feature name                    sup
------------------------------------
DEINTERLACE_TEMPORAL             y
DEINTERLACE_TEMPORAL_SPATIAL     y
INVERSE_TELECINE                 y
NOISE_REDUCTION                  y
SHARPNESS                        y
LUMA_KEY                         y

parameter name                  sup      min      max
-----------------------------------------------------
VIDEO_SURFACE_WIDTH              y         1     4096
VIDEO_SURFACE_HEIGHT             y         1     4096
CHROMA_TYPE                      y  
LAYERS                           y         0        4

attribute name                  sup      min      max
-----------------------------------------------------
BACKGROUND_COLOR                 y  
CSC_MATRIX                       y  
NOISE_REDUCTION_LEVEL            y      0.00     1.00
SHARPNESS_LEVEL                  y     -1.00     1.00
LUMA_KEY_MIN_LUMA                y  
LUMA_KEY_MAX_LUMA                y
This is what i get from the ./vdpinfo
The Door is offline  
post #119 of 214 Old 02-19-2009, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Door View Post

Hehe

Well i use xubuntu and I forgot to add the nice g++ so with a nice line "sudo apt-get install g++" i did it

Sorry for taking up your time with such an easy to solve thing I should have googled earlier

LOL, I did the same thing trying to compile mythtv a while back!
mythmaster is offline  
post #120 of 214 Old 02-19-2009, 09:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
drkdiggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In case anyone is interested, this is my output from a GeForce 8200 on the Asus M3N78-EMH HDMI motherboard, using the 180.29 drivers:

Code:
display: :0.0   screen: 0
API version: 0
Information string: Unknown

Video surface:

name   width height types
-------------------------------------------
420     4096  4096  NV12 YV12 
422     4096  4096  UYVY YUYV 

Decoder capabilities:

name          level ref width height
------------------------------------
MPEG1             0 8192  2048  2048
MPEG2_SIMPLE      3 8192  2048  2048
MPEG2_MAIN        3 8192  2048  2048
H264_MAIN        41 8190  2032  2048
H264_HIGH        41 8190  2032  2048
VC1_SIMPLE        1 8190  2048  2048
VC1_MAIN          2 8190  2048  2048
VC1_ADVANCED      4 8190  2048  2048

Output surface:

name              width height nat types
----------------------------------------------------
B8G8R8A8          8192  8192    y  Y8U8V8A8 V8U8Y8A8 
R10G10B10A2       8192  8192    y  Y8U8V8A8 V8U8Y8A8 

Bitmap surface:

name              width height
------------------------------
B8G8R8A8          8192  8192
R8G8B8A8          8192  8192
R10G10B10A2       8192  8192
B10G10R10A2       8192  8192
A8                8192  8192

Video mixer:

feature name                    sup
------------------------------------
DEINTERLACE_TEMPORAL             y
DEINTERLACE_TEMPORAL_SPATIAL     y
INVERSE_TELECINE                 y
NOISE_REDUCTION                  y
SHARPNESS                        y
LUMA_KEY                         y

parameter name                  sup      min      max
-----------------------------------------------------
VIDEO_SURFACE_WIDTH              y         1     4096
VIDEO_SURFACE_HEIGHT             y         1     4096
CHROMA_TYPE                      y  
LAYERS                           y         0        4

attribute name                  sup      min      max
-----------------------------------------------------
BACKGROUND_COLOR                 y  
CSC_MATRIX                       y  
NOISE_REDUCTION_LEVEL            y      0.00     1.00
SHARPNESS_LEVEL                  y     -1.00     1.00
LUMA_KEY_MIN_LUMA                y  
LUMA_KEY_MAX_LUMA                y
drkdiggler is offline  
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off