*Official* Nvidia VDPAU thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 214 Old 05-15-2009, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mythmaster View Post

How do you figure? 40.5% idle means 59.5% cpu is being used -- apparently by the commercial-flagging processes.

I am looking at the 4.0%us. I guess I need to go read a refresher on this

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 214 Old 05-15-2009, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is pretty good info:
http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/how-do...ilization.html

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #183 of 214 Old 05-15-2009, 08:55 PM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't read all of that, but idle (id) is your best indicator of how much cpu is being used (if "id" is 90%, then 10% cpu is being used). It's then broken down into user "us", system "sy", nice "ni", etc.

In your case, the majority of resources being used were "niced" which simply means that their execution priorities were either raised or lowered -- probably by a shell script. See "man nice".
mythmaster is offline  
post #184 of 214 Old 05-15-2009, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Code:
trade@mbrmPVR:~$ mpstat -P ALL
Linux 2.6.28-11-generic (mbrmPVR)       05/15/2009      _x86_64_        (2 CPU)

11:55:27 PM  CPU    %usr   %nice    %sys %iowait    %irq   %soft  %steal  %guest   %idle
11:55:27 PM  all    6.69   47.12    3.90    3.13    1.25    1.81    0.00    0.00   36.10
11:55:27 PM    0    5.38   50.84    3.15    1.57    0.97    0.43    0.00    0.00   37.66
11:55:27 PM    1    7.95   43.56    4.62    4.63    1.52    3.12    0.00    0.00   34.61
trade@mbrmPVR:~$ ps -eo pcpu,pid,user,args | sort -k 1 -r | head -10
%CPU   PID USER     COMMAND
75.9  4213 mythtv   /usr/bin/mythcommflag -j 93 -V 3
 3.6  5372 mythtv   /usr/bin/mythbackend --daemon --logfile /var/log/mythtv/mythbackend.log --pidfile /var/run/mythtv/mythbackend.pid
14.6  5414 trade   /usr/bin/mythfrontend.real --logfile /var/log/mythtv/mythfrontend.log
 1.3  3357 root     /usr/bin/X :0 -br -audit 0 -dpi 100 -auth /var/lib/gdm/:0.Xauth -nolisten tcp vt7
 0.2  3811 mysql    /usr/sbin/mysqld --basedir=/usr --datadir=/var/lib/mysql --user=mysql --pid-file=/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.pid --skip-external-locking --port=3306 --socket=/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock
 0.2    32 root     [kswapd0]
 0.0     9 root     [events/0]
 0.0  9832 trade   head -10
 0.0  9831 trade   sort -k 1 -r
trade@mbrmPVR:~$ top
top - 23:55:55 up  1:58,  3 users,  load average: 3.11, 2.87, 2.69
Tasks: 169 total,   1 running, 168 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
Cpu(s):  6.7%us,  3.9%sy, 47.1%ni, 36.1%id,  3.1%wa,  1.3%hi,  1.8%si,  0.0%st
Mem:   1776856k total,  1763128k used,    13728k free,     1084k buffers
Swap:   995988k total,    52440k used,   943548k free,  1190504k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND                                                          
 4213 mythtv    37  17  516m 177m 2808 S   93 10.2  89:11.20 mythcommflag                                                     
 5414 trade    20   0  643m 142m  13m S   17  8.2  15:26.94 mythfrontend.re                                                  
 5372 mythtv    20   0  481m  30m 2936 S    8  1.7   3:51.52 mythbackend

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #185 of 214 Old 05-15-2009, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, does the above look like VDPAU is working OK with the on-board IGP 8200 Asus M3N78-EM? I am just a bit concerned that I got that error in the mythbackend install when I updated from Avenard repo. I am not sure of how to re-install as MythBuntu Jaunty Update Manager does not show a way to re-install packages.

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #186 of 214 Old 05-15-2009, 10:04 PM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK. Stop mythfrontend if you haven't already, and open a terminal.

sudo /etc/init.d/mythtv-backend stop
sudo apt-get install synaptic
sudo apt-get update

Assuming you've added Avenyard's repo and you're running XFCE, open up synaptic from wherever it is, type "mythtv" in the search box, and when you see it show up, right-click on it and select "Mark for Reinstallation". If the option isn't available, then select "Mark for Complete Removal", click "Apply", let it run, then install it fresh (right-click, select "Mark for Installation", then "Apply"). Do the same for "mythplugins".

Run "mythtv-setup" to confirm database settings, etc. Then,

sudo /etc/init.d/mythtv-backend start

You should then be able to launch "MythTV Frontend" and set your VDPAU display profile.

It should work now. If not, you'll have to wait until tomorrow or hope that someone else helps you because I've got a slammin' buzz right now.
mythmaster is offline  
post #187 of 214 Old 05-17-2009, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks MM. That helped a lot and I have updated to all of Avenard's latest without a hitch. My only issue now is the I get dropouts of audio and a bit of picture dragging using VDPAU. With SLIM it works well albeit higher CPU. I am trying to play around and tried all of Avenard's suggestion as it relates to audio buffering but no dice. This is from OTA single through a HD Home Run. Also occurs on recorded items.


Code:
2009-05-17 16:00:33.831 NVP: prebuffering pause
2009-05-17 16:00:34.246 WriteAudio: buffer underrun
2009-05-17 16:00:34.603 NVP: prebuffering pause
2009-05-17 16:00:34.694 WriteAudio: buffer underrun
2009-05-17 16:00:35.209 NVP: prebuffering pause
2009-05-17 16:00:36.255 NVP: prebuffering pause
2009-05-17 16:11:40.880 NVP: prebuffering pause

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #188 of 214 Old 05-17-2009, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I didn't have any problems like that, so I can't really take you any further with troubleshooting performance. Unless someone else here has some tips, you can try asking in the nvidia mythtv thread or the mythtv-users mailing list.
mythmaster is offline  
post #189 of 214 Old 05-19-2009, 06:39 AM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&postcount=460

I haven't tried it yet, but if that's true then w00t!
mythmaster is offline  
post #190 of 214 Old 05-19-2009, 07:36 AM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mythmaster View Post

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&postcount=460

I haven't tried it yet, but if that's true then w00t!

Well, it has definitely IMPROVED, but it still isn't perfect (using 185.18.10 and KDE4 desktop effects). Watching a m2ts and a 1080p mkv looks much like flash at 480p, but not as bad.
mythmaster is offline  
post #191 of 214 Old 05-28-2009, 08:10 PM
Member
 
GatoViejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought I was careful to buy a card with vdpau support, but now I am having doubts. I have this:
Code:
(--) PCI:*(0@3:0:0) nVidia Corporation G86 [GeForce 8500 GT] rev 161, Mem @ 0xea000000/16777216, 0xd0000000/268435456, 0xe8000000/33554432, I/O @ 0x00009000/128, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072
But with mplayer (SVN-r29241) I always get this:

Code:
Error opening/initializing the selected video_out (-vo) device
I ran across one comment somewhere that said G86 is unsupported but I cannot find it again. In general, the lists of supported cards say that the 85xx series is supported. Does anyone have one of these that is working?
GatoViejo is offline  
post #192 of 214 Old 05-28-2009, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, the G86 core I believe was originally not supported, but I thought NVIDIA added support for even this core in the later versions of their driver. But I may be a bit confused with VC-1 which was only supported on certain cards.

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #193 of 214 Old 05-29-2009, 04:59 PM
Member
 
GatoViejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I'm an idiot. I was assuming that the mplayer-nogui package from debian-multimedia had vdpau support built in, but 'mplayer -vo help' tells me this is not the case. I guess I'll have to build my own again, just like back when xvmc was new.
GatoViejo is offline  
post #194 of 214 Old 06-01-2009, 11:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm running Nvidia 185.18.04. vdpinfo gives me the following output. Does this mean I have vdpau support on my system, and just need software apps that support vdpau?

Code:
root@sharkdesk:/usr/src/vdpinfo# ./vdpinfo
display: :0.0   screen: 0
API version: 0
Information string: Unknown

Video surface:

name   width height types
-------------------------------------------
420     4096  4096  NV12 YV12 
422     4096  4096  UYVY YUYV 

Decoder capabilities:

name          level ref width height
------------------------------------
MPEG1             0 8192  2048  2048
MPEG2_SIMPLE      3 8192  2048  2048
MPEG2_MAIN        3 8192  2048  2048
H264_MAIN        41 8192  2048  2048
H264_HIGH        41 8192  2048  2048
VC1_SIMPLE        1 8190  2048  2048
VC1_MAIN          2 8190  2048  2048
VC1_ADVANCED      4 8190  2048  2048

Output surface:

name              width height nat types
----------------------------------------------------
B8G8R8A8          8192  8192    y  Y8U8V8A8 V8U8Y8A8 
R10G10B10A2       8192  8192    y  Y8U8V8A8 V8U8Y8A8 

Bitmap surface:

name              width height
------------------------------
B8G8R8A8          8192  8192
R8G8B8A8          8192  8192
R10G10B10A2       8192  8192
B10G10R10A2       8192  8192
A8                8192  8192

Video mixer:

feature name                    sup
------------------------------------
DEINTERLACE_TEMPORAL             y
DEINTERLACE_TEMPORAL_SPATIAL     y
INVERSE_TELECINE                 y
NOISE_REDUCTION                  y
SHARPNESS                        y
LUMA_KEY                         y

parameter name                  sup      min      max
-----------------------------------------------------
VIDEO_SURFACE_WIDTH              y         1     4096
VIDEO_SURFACE_HEIGHT             y         1     4096
CHROMA_TYPE                      y  
LAYERS                           y         0        4

attribute name                  sup      min      max
-----------------------------------------------------
BACKGROUND_COLOR                 y  
CSC_MATRIX                       y  
NOISE_REDUCTION_LEVEL            y      0.00     1.00
SHARPNESS_LEVEL                  y     -1.00     1.00
LUMA_KEY_MIN_LUMA                y  
LUMA_KEY_MAX_LUMA                y

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #195 of 214 Old 06-02-2009, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
looks like you have it.

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #196 of 214 Old 06-02-2009, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Awesome!

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #197 of 214 Old 06-09-2009, 09:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hrmmm, maybe someone can help? I compiled the latest SVN of mplayer, have vdpau support on the system, but video playback is choppy, audio is way out of sync, and mplayer spits out 'Your system is too SLOW to play this!'. Well, the system is not 2 slow. I'm running 2 9800GT cards (SLI). Here's some info, hopefully someone can help, or direct me to somewhere where I can get help.

Code:
sharkcohen@sharkdesk:~$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/version 
NVRM version: NVIDIA UNIX x86_64 Kernel Module  185.18.04  Thu Apr 16 21:41:04 PDT 2009
GCC version:  gcc version 4.3.3 (Ubuntu 4.3.3-5ubuntu4)
Code:
sharkcohen@sharkdesk:~$ lspci | grep -i vga
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 9800 GT (rev a2)
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 9800 GT (rev a2)
Code:
sharkcohen@sharkdesk:~$ mplayer -vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau /vids/NiN_BYIT.m4v 
MPlayer SVN-r29352-4.3.3 (C) 2000-2009 MPlayer Team

Playing /vids/NiN_BYIT.m4v.
libavformat file format detected.
[lavf] Video stream found, -vid 0
[lavf] Audio stream found, -aid 1
VIDEO:  [avc1]  1920x1080  24bpp  29.970 fps    0.0 kbps ( 0.0 kbyte/s)
Clip info:
 title: nine inch nails live: beside you in time
 author: www.nin.com
 copyright: 2006-2007 interscope records
==========================================================================
Forced video codec: ffh264vdpau
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
[VD_FFMPEG] XVMC-accelerated MPEG-2.
Selected video codec: [ffh264vdpau] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg H.264 (VDPAU))
==========================================================================
==========================================================================
Forced audio codec: mad
Opening audio decoder: [faad] AAC (MPEG2/4 Advanced Audio Coding)
FAAD: compressed input bitrate missing, assuming 128kbit/s!
AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 128.0 kbit/8.33% (ratio: 16000->192000)
Selected audio codec: [faad] afm: faad (FAAD AAC (MPEG-2/MPEG-4 Audio))
==========================================================================
[pulse] working around probably broken pause functionality,
        see http://www.pulseaudio.org/ticket/440
AO: [pulse] Init failed: Connection refused
Failed to initialize audio driver 'pulse'
AO: [alsa] 48000Hz 2ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
Starting playback...
[VD_FFMPEG] XVMC-accelerated MPEG-2.
VDec: vo config request - 1920 x 1080 (preferred colorspace: H.264 VDPAU acceler
ation)
VDec: using H.264 VDPAU acceleration as output csp (no 0)
Movie-Aspect is undefined - no prescaling applied.
VO: [vdpau] 1920x1080 => 1920x1080 H.264 VDPAU acceleration 
A:   4.1 V:   1.6 A-V:  2.501 ct:  0.023   0/  0 16% 233%  0.9% 50 0 

           ************************************************
           **** Your system is too SLOW to play this!  ****
           ************************************************

Possible reasons, problems, workarounds:
- Most common: broken/buggy _audio_ driver
  - Try -ao sdl or use the OSS emulation of ALSA.
  - Experiment with different values for -autosync, 30 is a good start.
- Slow video output
  - Try a different -vo driver (-vo help for a list) or try -framedrop!
- Slow CPU
  - Don't try to play a big DVD/DivX on a slow CPU! Try some of the lavdopts,
    e.g. -vfm ffmpeg -lavdopts lowres=1:fast:skiploopfilter=all.
- Broken file
  - Try various combinations of -nobps -ni -forceidx -mc 0.
- Slow media (NFS/SMB mounts, DVD, VCD etc)
  - Try -cache 8192.
- Are you using -cache to play a non-interleaved AVI file?
  - Try -nocache.
Read DOCS/HTML/en/video.html for tuning/speedup tips.
If none of this helps you, read DOCS/HTML/en/bugreports.html.

A:  11.9 V:   5.1 A-V:  6.748 ct:  0.022   0/  0  5% 224%  0.9% 154 0 

MPlayer interrupted by signal 2 in module: filter video
A:  12.0 V:   5.1 A-V:  6.815 ct:  0.022   0/  0  5% 225%  0.9% 155 0 
Exiting... (Quit)

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #198 of 214 Old 06-09-2009, 10:27 PM
Member
 
TomKooze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're the first I've heard of to try VDPAU with SLI, so you'd prolly get a better response over at the nvidia forums. And just so you'll know, I'm actually mythmaster, but I changed my username because I felt like it. Seriously. People can back this up.
TomKooze is offline  
post #199 of 214 Old 06-10-2009, 02:30 AM
 
mythmaster.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomKooze View Post

And just so you'll know, I'm actually mythmaster, but I changed my username because I felt like it. Seriously. People can back this up.

Don't believe him he's an impostor, I'm the real mythmaster.
mythmaster. is offline  
post #200 of 214 Old 06-10-2009, 05:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, I am the real mythmaster...

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #201 of 214 Old 06-10-2009, 06:06 AM
 
mythmaster:'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't listen to them.

I am the REAL mythmaster.
mythmaster: is offline  
post #202 of 214 Old 06-10-2009, 06:31 AM
 
mythmaster.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mythmaster: View Post

Don't listen to them.

I am the REAL mythmaster.

So many imitators, I can't believe how popular I am...
mythmaster. is offline  
post #203 of 214 Old 06-10-2009, 06:31 AM
 
quantumstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I think a certain moderator needs to either lighten up, or ban me.
quantumstate is offline  
post #204 of 214 Old 06-10-2009, 07:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
shane2943's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WTF? I'm so confused.
shane2943 is offline  
post #205 of 214 Old 06-10-2009, 08:14 AM
 
quantumstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well we were razzing mm about his sex-change, er, name-change when I got a PM from a mod asking why I am posting under two nicks. I told him we were only joking and that it's temporary, to which he replied, "It is no joke on AVSForum. Please contact the admin to correct this."

Fsck that. Ban me. I help ppl here 99% of the time and contribute alot, but if that's how it's going to be...
If my contributions are not recognized and/or we do not have free speech, I don't need to be here.
quantumstate is offline  
post #206 of 214 Old 06-10-2009, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tux99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, the last few posts might be OT but I had the best laugh in days!
Sometimes some fun is necessary too and ultimately mm started it all with his new name.
(and I guess if quantumstate gets banned for it then I would need to be banned too...)

My Linux news / reviews / tips+tricks / downloads web site: http://www.linuxtech.net/
tux99 is offline  
post #207 of 214 Old 06-10-2009, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomKooze View Post

You're the first I've heard of to try VDPAU with SLI, so you'd prolly get a better response over at the nvidia forums. And just so you'll know, I'm actually mythmaster, but I changed my username because I felt like it. Seriously. People can back this up.

I'm also thinking that SLI might be the issue. Can someone kindly point me to the nvidia forums?

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #208 of 214 Old 06-10-2009, 08:20 PM
Member
 
TomKooze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkcohen View Post

I'm also thinking that SLI might be the issue. Can someone kindly point me to the nvidia forums?

Sorry, here ya go.
TomKooze is offline  
post #209 of 214 Old 06-10-2009, 11:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks, much appreciated

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #210 of 214 Old 06-11-2009, 02:39 PM
Member
 
oldcpu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post

The old athlon-1100 has either a 300 or 350 watt power supply (350 sticks in my mind). The spec on the graphic card recommends 300 watt minimal. The new 8400GS graphic card has active cooling with a small fan on it. I cleaned the fans (CPU and powersupply) when I installed the card.

I don't have any programs set up for power, voltage, nor temperature while executing. I keep my software (and desktop) fairly slim. Placing my hand close to the airflow by the vent on the back of the power supply, the air rushing by from the PC feels cooler than it did with the AGP based graphic card.

I had thought I had answered this thread, but it appears I did not.

It turns out it was a power supply problem. The power supply on the old PC had degraded too much to have sufficient power.

I put the BFG GeForce 8400GS 512MB PCI card in an old 32-bit athlon-2800 which is 5+ years old (but a bit newer than the athlon-1100) and it works great. I can play back my Canon HF S10 .mts raw files (recorded/encoded at 1920x1080 @ 25MBit/sec) with only 15% cpu loadin. This is on openSUSE-11.1 with KDE-3.5.10 and packman packaged ffmpeg/mplayer and proprietary nVidia driver.

It works great! Most impressive.
oldcpu is offline  
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off