Flash performance hack?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 05-23-2009, 06:22 PM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm...this seems to provide me with less tearing (still plenty in fast pans, though) in seeker hd (with desktop effects enabled in KDE4 32-bit with 185.18.10):

1. sudo mkdir /etc/adobe

2. sudo nano /etc/adobe/mms.cfg

3. Paste "OverrideGPUValidation=true" (without quotation marks)

4. Restart Firefox.


Anybody else, or is it just "wishful thinking"?
mythmaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 05-24-2009, 09:38 AM
 
quantumstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
You mean full-screen?

I don't have any issues in HD YouTube videos standard size, like the InfoWars one you PMed me.
quantumstate is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 05-24-2009, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah, fs -- guess I shoulda mentioned that

the hulu one I linked up there is higer rez/bitrate than utube. I don't think anyone's been able to play it perfectly
mythmaster is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 05-24-2009, 12:26 PM
 
quantumstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
It's too sick for me to even use. In Konqi it doesn't recognize I have the plugin (works elsewhere than Hulu), and in Iceweasel I get the commercial, but then it says, "Sorry, we are unable to stream this video. Please check your internet connection and try again." Nothing's wrong with my internet connection.

Using the proprietary Adobe 64bit plugin.
quantumstate is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 05-24-2009, 12:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
k_ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mythmaster View Post

I don't think anyone's been able to play it perfectly

Plays perfectly for me, without your hack. I have composite disabled in xorg.conf. I have an AMD Phenom 9600. I set the quality to low in Flash.

I will see if your hack makes any difference.

Edit: Okay I tried it, didn't notice any difference. Low quality is still perfect, High quality has about the same jerkiness as before.
k_ross is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 05-24-2009, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That hack is only for 32-bit, btw. I got it from the adobe bug-tracker.

Yeah, I keep it in high-quality, and it's mostly watchable. The 185.18.10 driver has improvements with compositing. I can watch everything but 1080p just fine now (normal video), so I just turn off desktop effects before watching 1080p which is pretty rare.

Like I said, if that hack improved anything, it's certainly minor at least on my system.
mythmaster is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 05-24-2009, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@QS:

I get that error when I don't have enough bandwidth free (dl'ing torrent, etc). Also, maybe trying it in firefox would make a diff, but i dunno.
mythmaster is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 05-24-2009, 02:03 PM
 
quantumstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I dunno man. Not using torrent ATM; bandwidth should be free.

Say, I wonder whether anyone's used the HTC Touch Diamond2? Not interested in the iPhone, as that's not a PDA, and the Blackberry Storm has an OS that won't run TomTom Navigator. Also curious about the HTC Max 4G, and whether it can switch over to VOIP via WiMax, from GSM? Afraid though, that either of these may snap on my unusually firm and attractive butt... :j
quantumstate is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 05-25-2009, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zim2dive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mythmaster View Post

Hmm...this seems to provide me with less tearing (still plenty in fast pans, though) in seeker hd (with desktop effects enabled in KDE4 32-bit with 185.18.10):

1. sudo mkdir /etc/adobe

2. sudo nano /etc/adobe/mms.cfg

3. Paste "OverrideGPUValidation=true" (without quotation marks)

4. Restart Firefox.


Anybody else, or is it just "wishful thinking"?

On the road.. testing on my Atom netbook, it might have gotten me from 2 fps up to 4 fps will test when I get home on the new E5200 box.
zim2dive is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 05-25-2009, 09:56 AM
 
quantumstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
BTW mm, I think that the Shock Doctrine is the most important book of our time. Naomi Klein has done several debates with Alan Greenspan on DemocracyNow, and I think exposed some important things. The press can't handle ideas like this though, being mostly entertainment and heart-wrending these days.
quantumstate is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 05-25-2009, 10:03 PM
Member
 
mbobak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Belleville, MI
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Running Ubuntu 9.04 here, 32 bit kernel, running Core2Duo 6700 and Nvidia 9500GT, in my opinion, no noticeable performance difference.

Mark J. Bobak
Oracle DBA
Belleville, MI
mbobak is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 05-31-2009, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zim2dive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I get a bit less tearing (or maybe it converts to frame-drops) with vsync, per: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...=131833&page=2
zim2dive is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 06-02-2009, 05:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zim2dive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For all the hype in the headline "Adobe, NVIDIA and Broadcom bringing GPU acceleration to Flash at long last", I'm failing to find much to cheer in this report: http://www.engadget.com/2009/06/02/a...n-to-flash-at/

and if Nvidia's name is in the headline, why are they mentioning Broadcom instead of ION

It is at least gratifying to see the massive amt of flak that Adobe is catching in the press for Flash being so bad
zim2dive is offline  
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off