Please recomend a tuner for OTA and QAM recording at the same time - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 10-31-2009, 12:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
killabee44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys,

I am putting together a Mythbuntu HTPC machine and need a dual tuner or two separate tuners (with good Linux support) that I can use to record shows from HD OTA and Comcast QAM at the same time.

As far as internal empty slots, right now I have one PCI-E and one PCI slot open. USB is also an option too.

Please let me know the least expensive options you can think of. Thanks!
killabee44 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 10-31-2009, 07:32 AM
Rgb
AVS Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The best option for your needs is the HD Homerun-

http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0266804

Works out of the box with Linux/Myth. Dual QAM/ATSC tuners. Standard Ethernet interface- no drivers needed, works on any OS past, present and future. Doesn't add power/heat internally in your HTPC like internal card(s) would. Any computer on your network- wired or wireless-g or higher can see the tuners and watch /record TV using standard browser and network protocols, view the tuners (watch HDTV) with VLC player

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Unscrambled clearQAM, of course.

If you want to record scrambled HD channels, you'll need a cable box with analog HD component outs that haven't been disabled by your Cable/Sat OverLords () and the Hauppauge HD-PVR-

http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0292609

Others can chime in with recommended internal PCI/PCIe tuner cards.
Rgb is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 10-31-2009, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
djb61230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Johnstown, NY
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'll second the HDHomerun choice.
djb61230 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 10-31-2009, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Lost Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North of the Columbia River
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
HDHomerun!

One turner for OTA and one for ClearQAM from cable. Or get two HDHomeruns and then you're have two OTA's and two cables..... Just plug them in anywhere on the network and you're good to do.
Lost Dog is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 10-31-2009, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
killabee44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys. The HDHomerun it is!
killabee44 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 10-31-2009, 02:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
wnewell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by killabee44 View Post

Thanks guys. The HDHomerun it is!

I thought you wanted inexpensive? For half that you can install a couple of internal PCIe cards. Or I just picked up my 3rd HDT7 Dual Express card for $77 total. I need to quit buying tuners. Got 3 I don't use now. i think I'll throw them in a spare PC, install Mythtv and sell it.
wnewell is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 10-31-2009, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
killabee44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wnewell,

To me $100 or more for a single tuner is expensive. I did some research and found the Hdhomerun for $100 on Ebay and $130 brand new online. That = $50.00 per tuner. Not too bad. I read reviews on it and they are probably the best reviews I ever read for any tuner.

Your tuner is very inexpensive though. I might take a look at one of those for a third option later. Thanks.
killabee44 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 10-31-2009, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Lost Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North of the Columbia River
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
To me the huge plus for the HDHR is it's external to the HTPC and on the network. Sometimes I sit at my desk upstairs from the HTPC and watch TV as I'm working using the hdhomerun_gui which is downloaded from silicon dust.

The HDHR has a IR receiver built in and you can use a remote control without needing additional hardware.
Lost Dog is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 11-01-2009, 12:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
wnewell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost Dog View Post

To me the huge plus for the HDHR is it's external to the HTPC and on the network. Sometimes I sit at my desk upstairs from the HTPC and watch TV as I'm working using the hdhomerun_gui which is downloaded from silicon dust.

The HDHR has a IR receiver built in and you can use a remote control without needing additional hardware.

And that's the disadvantage I see in it. I've got 6 tuners (3 dual) in my server. I don't like the idea 3 more external boxes and power bricks, nor the extra bandwidth it takes to stream 6 hdtv shows at once just for recordings. Not to mention I'd have to buy another switch to hook them up. As for watching TV or recordings, you can do the same thing with internal tuners in the server. In fact I rarely watch TV or recordings at the system where the recordings are stored, or the tuners are installed. As for remotes, many tuners come with them and receivers. But they wouldn't do me any good since I don't watch TV where they would be located. IR receivers can be had for $1.50 anyway.
wnewell is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 11-01-2009, 07:09 AM
Rgb
AVS Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnewell View Post

And that's the disadvantage I see in it. I've got 6 tuners (3 dual) in my server. I don't like the idea 3 more external boxes and power bricks, nor the extra bandwidth it takes to stream 6 hdtv shows at once just for recordings. Not to mention I'd have to buy another switch to hook them up.

The whole point and purpose of the HDHR is *because* it's external and Ethernet enabled. The point is to mount it or shelve it where your Ethernet switch is located. My main 8 port whole house switch is mounted between joists in the basement near the furnace and water heater where the cable and phone enter the house.

It's good practice to treat the home network as infrastructure like the electrical, phone and cable TV. The HDHR is then easily added as another infrastructure device mounted in a junction box or between joists in a basement, out of sight, feeding the whole network.

The HDHR is infrastructure, not an A/V component.
Rgb is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 11-01-2009, 12:51 PM
DAP
AVS Special Member
 
DAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by killabee44 View Post

wnewell,

To me $100 or more for a single tuner is expensive. I did some research and found the Hdhomerun for $100 on Ebay and $130 brand new online. That = $50.00 per tuner. Not too bad. I read reviews on it and they are probably the best reviews I ever read for any tuner.

Your tuner is very inexpensive though. I might take a look at one of those for a third option later. Thanks.

Careful, there are now two versions of the HDHomeRun. There is a new model with only one tuner. Be sure you know what you are getting.
DAP is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 11-01-2009, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
killabee44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAP View Post

Careful, there are now two versions of the HDHomeRun. There is a new model with only one tuner. Be sure you know what you are getting.

Yeah, I noticed that. The duals are the ones I priced.
killabee44 is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 11-01-2009, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAP View Post

Careful, there are now two versions of the HDHomeRun. There is a new model with only one tuner. Be sure you know what you are getting.

Three versions, if you count the "Tech" version that can do multi-cast streaming (but I doubt very many home users ever pay the extra bucks just to get multi-casting and a bunch of diagnostics modes).
Mac The Knife is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off