Ubuntu 9.10 with Nvidia 185.18.36 detects monitor as CRT - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 02-16-2010, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chrono280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the following setup:


SPARKLE GeForce 8400 GS 256MB 64-bit DDR2 PCI-E x16 HDCP Ready -> VGA cord -> Hanns-G HG-216DPB 21.6" Widescreen LCD Monitor

I get video but forced to 1280x720 and stretched. Once Ubuntu 9.10 loads I can go to the Nvidia settings manager and there I find that it is not detecting my monitor as Hanns-G but is detecting it as a generic CRT. Because of this I cannot increase the resolution beyond 1280x720.

With DVI -> HDMI connection from my video card I can get up to 1680x1050. However, I have a hardware issue with the DVI port on my video card that seems to not affect the VGA port.

I discussed that issue in this thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post18149623

I'd like to be able to fix the likely Ubuntu-related problem and get my resolution back to normal.

Let me know if there are log files etc, you need me to pull.

Thanks in advance.
chrono280 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 02-16-2010, 10:34 PM
Member
 
colonpowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didn't see this in the other thread, what happens when you type

xrandr

It should show the 1680x1050 mode under your HDMI connector, but it might not be under the VGA connector. You probably just need to add the correct mode to your xorg.conf file, but I hate editing that.

Try:

xrandr --addmode VGA 1680x1050

xrandr --output VGA --mode 1680x1050

where VGA might be VGA0 and 1680x1050 might have additional characters for refresh rate, etc.
colonpowell is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 02-17-2010, 11:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chrono280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't like editing xorg.conf either.

I haven't tried it yet but with xrandr, how to I revert to the original resolution if for some reason after I run the command and I get a blank screen.

I've had video issues on other ubuntu machines and when I mess with some of these settings I wind up having to liveCD or something big and time consuming to fix em. I'll try the xrandr thing in a few days tho. Thanks
chrono280 is offline  
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off