Getting Video Output if HTPC is Restarted without TV On - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-28-2010, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
drkdiggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, in a move to minimize my waste (and to have another reason to tinker with my HTPC ), I am moving my HTPC to utilize standby. The main issue that has prevented me from making the move is that my display settings work perfectly as long as the HTPC is booted while the TV is on. If I boot with the TV off, the HTPC does not send a signal over HDMI.

I am currently running an Acer Aspire Revo 1600 with XBMC 9.11 installed. I currently run at 1080p using the following xorg.conf:

Code:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder75)  Tue Dec  8 21:04:28 PST 2009

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       14.0 - 70.0
    VertRefresh     24.0 - 62.0
    Modeline    "1920x1080@60p"    148.500 1920 2008 2056 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
    Modeline    "1920x1080@24p"     74.230 1920 2560 2604 2752 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option "DynamicTwinView" "False"
    Option "TripleBuffer" "True"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "NoLogo" "True"
    Option         "TwinView" "False"
    Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
    Option         "UseEDIDFreqs" "False"
    Option         "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
    Option         "ModeValidation" "NoEdidModes, NoMaxPClkCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, AllowNon60HzDFPModes"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1920x1080@60p" "1920x1080@24p"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection
So, I'd really appreciate any input into getting the display to work properly, even when the HTPC isn't booted with the TV on.
drkdiggler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-28-2010, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Lost Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North of the Columbia River
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You could try dumping the EDID using the nvidia control panel then calling that file in your xorg.conf. Here is the line I use:

Code:
    Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0"
    Option         "CustomEDID" "DFP-0:/etc/X11/55SV670u.edid"
This is in the "screen" section.
Lost Dog is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-28-2010, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Well you can always throw money at the problem. A Gefen HDMI or DVI Detective will solve this. I have one installed between my HTPC and Receiver. It does exactly what you want it to do.
almostinsane is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-28-2010, 04:25 PM
Member
 
BullwinkleMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You could always TRY following the instructions in this post - for some reason it seems to cure a lot of ills:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?t=70068

Also see this post - you'll have to scroll about three-fifths of the way down the page to get to where they start talking about video, but there's a few extra setting there that may or may not be important:

http://michigantelephone.wordpress.c...r-aspire-revo/

I only mention these because they are what I used when setting up my Revo and I do not have the problem you are experiencing, although I know others do. I think it has a lot to do with what you put in xorg.conf - if you get that exactly right then you won't have the problem, but getting it right can be VERY tricky. One thing I note is that you may have some things in the "Screen" section that ought to be in the "Monitor" section, and vise versa. So if you use the information in those links, it should give you a correct xorg.conf to work with, and that may solve your problem.
BullwinkleMoose is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-29-2010, 11:05 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
drkdiggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lost Dog:

I ended up going with your suggestion and it worked perfectly! Getting nvidia-settings to run in XBMC Live was a bit of a pain, but after I got the EDID file everything was a cakewalk. Thank you everyone.
drkdiggler is offline  
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off