Linux-based HTPC front end with a full web browser? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 06-28-2010, 06:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gballard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have XBMC installed my on ASRock Ion 330 HT and totally dig it...the only thing I wish it had was a fully functional web browser...does such a beast exist?
gballard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 06-29-2010, 07:36 AM
Rgb
AVS Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Are you using the XBMC liveCD or is XBMC installed on top of another distro like Ubuntu?

If the latter, you should be able to just alt-tab to get the standard Gnome menu then launch Firefox and Alt-tab to swtich between the two.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Rgb is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 06-29-2010, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gballard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should have been more specific...my bad...It is the XBMC Live cd that I installed to the hard drive. It seems like I should be able to do a standard install of Ubuntu 9.10 and then install XMBC as a stand alone app...the only thing I am not sure about is how to get the video acceleration configuration...I am sure there are docs on it...I will dig around...
gballard is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 06-29-2010, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tux99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gballard View Post

I should have been more specific...my bad...It is the XBMC Live cd that I installed to the hard drive. It seems like I should be able to do a standard install of Ubuntu 9.10 and then install XMBC as a stand alone app...the only thing I am not sure about is how to get the video acceleration configuration...I am sure there are docs on it...I will dig around...

You might want to try Mandriva Linux One 2010 since it comes with the binary Nvidia drivers included so it all installs automatically, no need to read lengthy how-tos and spend time googling.
See the sticky Mandriva Linux thread for details.

My Linux news / reviews / tips+tricks / downloads web site:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
tux99 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 06-29-2010, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gballard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will check that out...thanks.
gballard is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 06-29-2010, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gballard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oh yeah...is there any special configuration needed for the hdmi connection? more specifically to send audio over HDMI by default?
gballard is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 06-29-2010, 08:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tux99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gballard View Post

oh yeah...is there any special configuration needed for the hdmi connection? more specifically to send audio over HDMI by default?

I have no experience with the Asrock ION but since it's just an Atom + ION box, I assume all you need to do is configure hdmi as default audio device in XBMC.

My Linux news / reviews / tips+tricks / downloads web site:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
tux99 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 06-29-2010, 09:13 PM
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
XBMC Live is based on Ubuntu, so you should be able to install Firefox. Check the XBMC Linux forums to get it to launch from the XBMC menu.
mythmaster is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 06-30-2010, 06:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gballard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got Mandriva installed but I cannot figure out how to configure the soundcard to output audio over HDMI in the OS. I know how to configure it from within XBMC. Any ideas?
gballard is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 06-30-2010, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tux99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
By default Mandriva comes with Pulseaudio like all major distros. In Mandriva 2010 Pulseaudio actually works quite well (in most cases) so you don't need to disable/remove it like most people do in Ubuntu (and in older Mandriva releases).

You need to configure the default sound device in the "Pulse Audio Volume Control" app that's located in the Sound&Video program menu.

Also if you installed the KDE version of Mandriva, then you need to configure the KDE sound output in the "Configure your Desktop" app (General > Computer Administration > Multimedia) that's located on the bottom toolbar.
I don't know if the Gnome version has a similar setting, since I don't use Gnome.

My Linux news / reviews / tips+tricks / downloads web site:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
tux99 is offline  
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off