Using Linux for malware protection. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 08-04-2010, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I seem to be in an instigating mood this week, so I'll throw this one out for comments.

This is an excerpt from the Security Now podcast with Steve Gibson and Leo Laporte Episode #259 (Listener Feedback #97).

Leo is reading a viewer question and Steve is answering:

Leo: Yeah, yeah. Good. Lee Elliott in Columbia, Missouri has thought about the new Windows LNK shell vulnerability and virtual surfing: Steve and Leo, I've been listening for a few years. I'm caught up with listening to, if maybe not fully understanding, all of the episodes. Join the club, by the way, Lee. This Windows shell vulnerability has me a little freaked out. I'm looking at a bunch of "white page" icons right now on my Windows 7 machine. This seems a bit Draconian. I guess he applied the Microsoft workaround.

Steve: Fix, the temporary fix, yes.

Leo: Assuming that I'm not vulnerable to a sneaker net attack, would it adequately protect me to do all my surfing on a Linux virtual machine? Of course this would mean not opening documents, et cetera, outside of that virtual machine that might have an offending shortcut, and I don't have any network shares. Basically, I'm trying to avoid inadvertently surfing to a malicious web page. Or am I misunderstanding the threat, or the protection that surfing from a virtual Linux machine might provide? Hey, that's a great suggestion. Lee Elliott, Columbia, Missouri - SpinRite owner, Carbonite user, Audible listener. Right on.