MKV Stuttering. Is my CPU too slow?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-09-2010, 07:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JohnLivings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have some BD ripped movies as MKVs. The MKV is 1920x1080p 24fps H.264. The audio is DD. The files are around 8GB. I played them on my HTPC using VLC and I noticed it would stutter every so often. I played around with the settings and nothing changed. I opened the task manager to see how much RAM and CPU I was using. My RAM was very minimal and I have plenty of free RAM left. I did notice that my Intel dual core was maxing out with one of its cores. When the video would stutter I noticed that one core would be at 50%-60% and the other core would be at 100%. This only happens during fast action scenes mostly. I figured my dual core would be plenty fast to handle to the files. My video card is integrated into my MB and is hooked up to my tv via HDMI. The picture quality looks great minus the stutter. Do I need to upgrade my processor to a Quad core? Do I need a better video card? Or is this a Linux thing?

My HTPC setup is:
MB: EVGA 113-YW-E115-TR nForce 730i SLI and GeForce 9300 Intel 775 GPU

CPU: Intel Pentium E5300 Wolfdale 2.6GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor BX80571E5300

RAM: Crucial 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel Kit

HD: 1TB Western Digital Caviar Black


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Theater Setup (Pics Coming Soon!)
JohnLivings is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-09-2010, 08:32 AM
uio
Newbie
 
uio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 9300 and your system should work no problem, BUT only if you have VDPAU enabled. It sounds like your system is decoding in software.

Somewhere in VLC's options it should say to use hardware decoding / VDPAU. Make sure that is on.
uio is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-09-2010, 09:45 AM
 
mythmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 255.255.255.255
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^ Yep. Be sure that you're using the proprietary nvidia drivers, too, and try playing it in another media player that defaults to VDPAU like XBMC. Here's the XBMC install guide for *buntu: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title...-by-Step_Guide
mythmaster is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-09-2010, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JohnLivings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! I tried it in XBMC and it worked perfect. I check my task manager and the two cored were no more than 20% each. Thanks for the help. Saved me from going out and spending 100s of dollars on new hardware!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Theater Setup (Pics Coming Soon!)
JohnLivings is offline  
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off