Newb ultra budget HTPC build - requesting help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 10-18-2011, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Jastuccio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read this article gadgetscholar.com htpc under-250/

budget as close to $200 and maybe up to $300 if there is a very good reason to spend extra.

I want to:
play Movies from DVD and hard drive
play Music
watch netflix
and possibly highlights from NHL.com (silverlight?)
I might like to add a remote control down the road

My tv is an old (420p?) 32" LCD that was just given to me. I have intermediate computer skills. This will be my first experience with Linux. I am an Apple guy and have experience with Windows.

barebones system: Foxconn R10-G3
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856119018

processor:Intel Celeron E3400 Wolfdale 2.6GHz
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116348

Video Card: MSI N8400GS-MD1GD3H/LP GeForce 8400 GS 1GB 64-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Low Profile Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127538

HDD: Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EARS 1TB 5400 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136490

Bluetooth adapter?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833340019

WIFI:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833166011

1. What are the chances the bluetooth adapter lets me use an apple wireless keyboard and mighty mouse?

2. Can I use the DDR3 video card?

3. Anything missing or other mistakes?

Thanks
Jastuccio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 10-18-2011, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
sysadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just a quick "gotcha" -- unless something has changed recently that I don't know about, silverlight doesn't work in linux, so no netflix, etc.
sysadmin is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 10-20-2011, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Jastuccio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks, I will have to figure out if I am going to run Windows 7 I guess I have enough drive space to run both.
Jastuccio is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 10-20-2011, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
waterhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sysadmin View Post

Just a quick "gotcha" -- unless something has changed recently that I don't know about, silverlight doesn't work in linux, so no netflix, etc.

You never heard of Moonlight?

http://mono-framework.com/Moonlight

Edit: Moonlight most likely won't let you watch Netflix on Linux. This is because of DRM.

http://jacksonh.tumblr.com/post/9658...-on-linux-with

I know that it is not because of Linux. I have a Roku box that supposedly runs Linux, and Netflix is available on that.
waterhead is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 10-20-2011, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
sysadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by waterhead View Post

You never heard of Moonlight? ...

Yeah, but it's pretty pointless without DRM because that's the only reason anyone publishes content in Silverlight anyway. Plus, while there's a version 4 beta, the last stable version is 2, and MS is already on 5. So, it's just easier to say that it doesn't work.
sysadmin is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-22-2011, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Couldn't you run Netflix with a Windows VM on Linux? Or would that not perform well enough?

Apparently you can. But IMO a cheap Roku would be a better option, because you don't need a keyboard and mouse. Or any of a number of cheap BR players that can do Netflix, Amazon, Youtube, etc. I always try to avoid use of a browser for a Myth install used on an HDTV.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 10-22-2011, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
northbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MSP
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a reason you want a HTPC?

Something like the LG BD690 may fit your needs.

http://www.amazon.com/LG-BD670-Wirel...9339499&sr=1-2


Don't have any experience with these new players but they seem to do most of what people want in a HTPC (except record and playback of TV of course! --- which is actually most of what I do)
northbear is offline  
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off