Ubuntu + MythTV 0.25 + Ceton InfiniTV 4 + Radeon HD Card - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-16-2012, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jyqureshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: MD
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hello folks,

Here is my current setup:

Software: Windows 7 Ultimate
Hardware: Dell XPS 8300: i5-2300, 6GB, InfiniTV 4 PCI-e, AMD HD6570, One Xbox360 as Extender, and FiOS

I want to move to MythTV 0.25 so I can use low powered PCs I have lying around, and of course MythTV offers more!

I'm a total MythTV noob, and need your help and guidance to achieve this.

Here are a few questions to start with:
  1. I have 800GB worth of recordings, can those be moved to MythTV?
  2. How "involved" MythTV setup is compared to a 7MC setup?
  3. Will HP USB Infra-Red receiver work with MythTV/buntu?
  4. How well AMD Radeon cards work on MythTV?
jyqureshi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-16-2012, 03:48 PM
Member
 
smcmillan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Farmington, MI
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyqureshi View Post

Hello folks,

Here is my current setup:

Software: Windows 7 Ultimate
Hardware: Dell XPS 8300: i5-2300, 6GB, InfiniTV 4 PCI-e, AMD HD6570, One Xbox360 as Extender, and FiOS

I want to move to MythTV 0.25 so I can use low powered PCs I have lying around, and of course MythTV offers more!

I'm a total MythTV noob, and need your help and guidance to achieve this.

Here are a few questions to start with:
[*]I have 800GB worth of recordings, can those be moved to MythTV?

Falls under the "depends" column. The internal player in MythTV can handle a number of type of media, what type(s) are your recordings?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyqureshi View Post

[*]How "involved" MythTV setup is compared to a 7MC setup?

As a self-proclaimed "MythTV noob" it's tough to say. I would suggest starting with one of the more mainstream/easier setups like Mythbuntu. Install to a spare drive, play around with it and see how it feels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyqureshi View Post

[*]Will HP USB Infra-Red receiver work with MythTV/buntu?

This I do not know. Is it an MCEUSB unit? If so, probably. Would require some Google-fu to know for sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyqureshi View Post

[*]How well AMD Radeon cards work on MythTV?[/list]

Unfortunately, the Radeon chipsets don't have as good a track record in Linux as the nVidia chipsets. It's worth a shot (again, on a spare drive) and if it doesn't work nVidia cards that will easily play HD content can be had for $20 - 30.

Setting up Mythbuntu on a spare drive in the rig you spec'd won't take but a few minutes, getting familiar with how Myth does what it does can take a considerable amount of time. I have been running a MythTV setup for a bit over 7 years now and love it, but my Cable co. flags everything but the major networks as copy-once, so I am also running a Win7/WMC setup with a USB Ceton. I haven't worked the Ceton into the Myth setup at all so I don't have any words of encouragement/warning for you there, but since you are on FiOS I believe you will get all your channels in Myth .
smcmillan2 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-16-2012, 06:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jyqureshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: MD
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by smcmillan2 View Post

Falls under the "depends" column. The internal player in MythTV can handle a number of type of media, what type(s) are your recordings?

They are WTV recordings, 7MC's file type.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smcmillan2 View Post

This I do not know. Is it an MCEUSB unit? If so, probably. Would require some Google-fu to know for sure.

It is an MCE USB unit,

Quote:
Originally Posted by smcmillan2 View Post

Unfortunately, the Radeon chipsets don't have as good a track record in Linux as the nVidia chipsets. It's worth a shot (again, on a spare drive) and if it doesn't work nVidia cards that will easily play HD content can be had for $20 - 30.

Oh well, may be I should just create a separate MythTV server and use XBMC windows client.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smcmillan2 View Post

Setting up Mythbuntu on a spare drive in the rig you spec'd won't take but a few minutes, getting familiar with how Myth does what it does can take a considerable amount of time. I have been running a MythTV setup for a bit over 7 years now and love it, but my Cable co. flags everything but the major networks as copy-once, so I am also running a Win7/WMC setup with a USB Ceton. I haven't worked the Ceton into the Myth setup at all so I don't have any words of encouragement/warning for you there, but since you are on FiOS I believe you will get all your channels in Myth .

As things are going, e.g. Hollywood trying to control internet and what not, this "copy free all" may not last long, but we all know things always get better after getting worse!


Anyone else using Ceton PCI-e card and MythTV?
jyqureshi is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-18-2012, 08:18 AM
Member
 
josrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Anyone else using Ceton PCI-e card and MythTV?[/QUOTE]

I believe that Ceton Infinitv4 requires Windows 7.
josrq is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-18-2012, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jyqureshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: MD
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by josrq View Post

I believe that Ceton Infinitv4 requires Windows 7.

According to this page , the support will be included in 0.25, but I can't find many details about the said support.

MythTV 0.25 Release Notes
jyqureshi is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-18-2012, 11:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
CityK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Until seeing your thread, I didn't realise that the device had any form of Linux support.

On quick glance, it would appear that they have provided an out of tree kernel driver that utilises their own device node (as opposed to that used by in kernel DVB supported devices).

Using the device via MPlayer command line arguments looks straight forward enough. GUI apps, of course, would have to know how to access the non-standard device. Being out of tree, you'll have to rebuild the driver if you do a kernel update.
CityK is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-18-2012, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
CityK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Ahh, I see. Tuning control via http. I guess myth integrates all that
CityK is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-23-2012, 12:10 PM
Member
 
josrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyqureshi View Post

According to this page , the support will be included in 0.25, but I can't find many details about the said support.

MythTV 0.25 Release Notes

Well, that is certainly encouraging. Especially since Win8 won't have Media Center as a standard component. It will only be available as an additional add on to Win8 Pro.

jyqureshi,
Thanks for this info!
josrq is offline  
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off