Mythbuntu and Hauppauge WinTV HVR-1250 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-15-2012, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jerry Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased the Hauppauge WinTV HVR-1250 2 years ago to set up a Mythbuntu box. At the time I was unable to get it working at all. It simply would not recognize the card. After hours and hours of research, I admitted defeat and gave up.

Flash forward to yesterday. I downloaded the newest version of Mythbuntu, 12.04, thinking that the newest version would have all the bugs worked out.

Same issues as before. Has anyone else used this card before?
Jerry Parker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-15-2012, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jerry Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One thing I just thought of was that the card is plugged into a PCI express 16x slot, and its a 1x card due to only having a single 16x slot (the mobo has integrated hdmi). Could Ubuntu be tripping on it thinking its a display adapter or something?
Jerry Parker is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-15-2012, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
kwisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you run the command lspci from the terminal you should see all your PCI devices. This doesn't mean they are working, just that the O/S knows they are connected to the system. I'm not familiar with your particular card but if it is not automatically recognized in MythTV, you may need to manually install a driver for it.

According to the link below, no additional drivers are needed.
http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Digital_Tuner_Cards
kwisher is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-15-2012, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jerry Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info, but embarrassingly I figured out what the problem was. I assumed that mythtv had configured itself automatically. So I went in and configured everything and it works now!

My next question is how to disable transcoding? I am using the box just to record OTA channels, and I have a 750 gig hdd. So I'd rather have the best quality and have it eat up a lot of space.
Jerry Parker is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-15-2012, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
kwisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't believe trancoding is enabled by default. please correct me if I am wrong. If it is, you can disable it in the backend settings in the general settings on the page for "jobs".
kwisher is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-16-2012, 03:40 PM
Senior Member
 
ralphcramdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
don't worry -- I just bought this POS HVR1250 card myself and it will crash my windows 7 installation -- and I mean I've been forced to do a complete reinstall of windows 3 times and still nothing.

thanks happaugue -- you sell crap.
ralphcramdon is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 07-17-2012, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tux99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralphcramdon View Post

don't worry -- I just bought this POS HVR1250 card myself and it will crash my windows 7 installation -- and I mean I've been forced to do a complete reinstall of windows 3 times and still nothing.
thanks happaugue -- you sell crap.
Maybe you should try Mythbuntu then, it seems to work fine under Linux using Mythbuntu. wink.gif

My Linux news / reviews / tips+tricks / downloads web site:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
tux99 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 07-17-2012, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
waterhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tux99 View Post

Maybe you should try Mythbuntu then, it seems to work fine under Linux using Mythbuntu. wink.gif
I was thinking along the same lines. Maybe it is Windows that sells the crap.
waterhead is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 07-19-2012, 09:38 AM
Member
 
pitdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Guess I'm lucky, my HVR-1250 has worked from day 1. Need to get my HDHomerun plugged in next.
pitdaddy is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-18-2012, 02:47 PM
Newbie
 
WLPARKER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how did you manually configure?
WLPARKER is offline  
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off