Help me install XBMC nightly on Mythbuntu - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 07-26-2012, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
stevedawg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a complete Linux n00b and am trying to get Mythbox to run. I figured out how to install the updated Mythbox .zip from:
https://github.com/mitchcapper/mythbox/

Now I need help to upgrade my mythbuntu XBMC to a nightly so this thing can work.
(I was able to install the nightly on a secondary Windows frontend w/ mythbox and it worked like a charm!!! - So updating XBMC on the mythbuntu machine is last step)

I initially installed XBMC Eden w/ the following code. Hopefully it's just as easy to get the latest nightly:
Code:
$ sudo add-apt-repository ppa:team-xbmc
$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get install xbmc
y
stevedawg85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 07-26-2012, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
stevedawg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update:
After some Trial and Error I got it installed w/ the following code:
Code:
$ sudo add-apt-repository ppa:nathan-renniewaldock/xbmc-nightly
$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get install xbmc
y

However, not able to watch liveTV on Linux XBMC mythbox - same machine w/ backend. Yet I can watch mythbox on secondary windows frontend

On the Linux box, when I click a channel it quickly shows the spinning green circle thing for 1 second and dissappears. Nothing happens or gets loaded. I can view TV thru the frontend.

The only difference (Besides OS) is the following:
Settings > System Info
Windows: XBMC 12.0-ALPHA 4 Git:20120725-82b31e5(Compiled 7/26/12)
Linux: XBMC 12.0-ALPHA 4 Git:Unknown (Compiled 7/26/12)

Why is it "unknown" for Linux, is this normal? Should I have used a different PPA?
stevedawg85 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 07-26-2012, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
waterhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
In Linux, when troubleshooting an application, it is often useful to start the application from the terminal. This way it will often show the error that is occurring, then you can figure out how to correct the error. Some programs have options to show more verbose output, usually using the -v option.

As for the unknown git label. Git is repository that developers use to store source code. You can download and compile source code in a git repository. Since you didn't do this, I wouldn't worry about it.
waterhead is online now  
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off