Netflix on Ubuntu Is Here - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 11-16-2012, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Looks like someone manged to get Netflix working in a custom build of WINE.

As best as I can tell, this doesn't really get you anything like being able to "archive" content. And with Netflix apps available on BD players and settop boxes and even in TVs, I doubt this issue actually matters to anyone anymore, but it's an interesting achievement.
Mac The Knife is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 11-19-2012, 02:42 PM
Rgb
AVS Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Another writeup with a short HOWTO-

http://www.webupd8.org/2012/11/how-to-use-netflix-in-ubuntu-through.html

Should run the same speed as on Windows, as it's not in a VM, nor is WIne an "emulator"- it runs Win binaries directly, with original libraries or Wine alternatives.

A nice side effect is that you get Firefox for Windows with Silverlight installed for you, which should allow any site requiring Silverlight to work on Linux now- though moving forward, Silverlight will die like Flash wink.gif

Sets a nice precedent in any event.

If it works, this could pave the way to resolve any remaining Win apps that prevent people from switching to Linux, as the installer automatically grabs the patched Wine with Win Firefox/Silverlight and appears to install automatically everything needed.

WIne supports multiple independent installs using "Prefixes", so that Win apps requiring special settings or hacks to Wine like this won't affect a working existing Wine setup.

Still an important development, as anyone running Ubuntu/Linux on notebooks/netbooks on the road now have an option.
Rgb is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 11-20-2012, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rgb View Post

...
Still an important development, as anyone running Ubuntu/Linux on notebooks/netbooks on the road now have an option.

That's a good point. I don't travel anymore, so travel issues have dropped off my radar.
Mac The Knife is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 11-24-2012, 11:00 AM
Rgb
AVS Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac The Knife View Post

That's a good point. I don't travel anymore, so travel issues have dropped off my radar.

...and netbook/notebook viewing in the loo/on the porcelin throne wink.gif


But seriously, people now use their netbooks/notebooks/tablets as mobile/portable "TV's" around the house.
Rgb is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 11-26-2012, 09:27 AM
Rgb
AVS Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Rgb is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 11-26-2012, 12:23 PM
Member
 
minivanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lockport, IL
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 19
It works. Playback is choppy, as reported by many others. Two computers, choppy playback, and neither computer is a slouch.

I'd still call the thing in the "alpha" stage. So, I'm definitely looking forward to further development. I'd love to ditch my virtual machine, it's the last thing tying me to Windows.

I've always noticed choppy video playback on Linux when using Firefox. I moved to Chrome, and much better. Granted that issue revolved around Flash. So, I'm wondering if their choice to go with Firefox, (not like they have much choice) could be a contributor.

Just thinking out loud.
minivanman is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 01-07-2013, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Dave84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeah, I was pretty excited about having NF on my Ubuntu machine but playback is choppy just enough to not want to watch hopefully there is a patch of some sort in the works.
Dave84 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 04-25-2013, 05:56 PM
Member
 
jstarling82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone actually been able to get this working? I can't watch a thing. Silverlight keeps crashing.
jstarling82 is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 04-25-2013, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
jawilljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southaven, MS
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Works fine for me. Once in a while I have to delete the Netflix working directory (rm -Rf ~/wine-browser).

Ubuntu 12.04 and 12.10.

Jerry
jawilljr is online now  
post #10 of 17 Old 04-29-2013, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Speed Daemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
How about for other Linux distros?

You get what you pay for.  For professional advice, pay the professional rate.
Speed Daemon is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 05-18-2013, 02:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Amber Ale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
It works for me just installed last night. Had problems until I updated my graphic drivers. A little choppy here and there but nothing major.


Edit: Well 24 hours later, it's alot more choppy, Now looking for a 720p apple tv for cheap (my display is only 720p).
Amber Ale is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 01-16-2014, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,657
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rgb View Post

Netflix Ubuntu Desktop-

http://www.compholio.com/netflix-desktop/

I know this is old, but I used this method on my Mint 15 notebook

I don't have any choppy issues, but I'm using this on an i5-3320M running 1600x900

I might have used an out of date install method http://linuxg.net/how-to-install-netflix-desktop-0-8-7-on-ubuntu-14-0413-1013-0412-1012-04-linux-mint-16151413-pear-os-87-and-elementary-os-0-2/

Works really well though
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 01-16-2014, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,657
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Also, does anyone happen to know the keyboard controls for this? I've tried left and right arrows during playback, but they only move the seek bar. Pressing enter appears to Play/Pause, but complete navigation without a mouse doesn't seem possible
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 01-16-2014, 01:36 PM
Rgb
AVS Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Pipelight is the current method to do Netflix on Linux (Ubuntu, Mint, Gentoo, Arch, etc)

Sounds like Netflix runs as well as Windows with Pipelight per reports.

http://beta.slashdot.org/story/190499

https://launchpad.net/pipelight
Quote:
Pipelight is a special browser plugin which allows one to use windows only plugins inside Linux browsers. We are currently focusing on Silverlight, Flash, Shockwave and the Unity Webplayer. The project needs a patched version of Wine to execute the Silverlight DLL.

Installation Instructions: http://fds-team.de/cms/pipelight-installation.html
If you want to compile Wine on your own (not needed for the Ubuntu packages):
Wine Patches + Instructions: http://fds-team.de/cms/pipelight-compile-wine.html

http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Netflix/Pipelight

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pipelight

http://www.webupd8.org/2013/08/pipelight-use-silverlight-in-your-linux.html
Rgb is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 01-16-2014, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,657
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Good to know, guess it was up to date after all. I'd agree that it runs as well as windows on the basis that I've used both. The only exception being that the WMC app offers keyboard only navigation, which is better for remote controls (up, down, left, right, etc). That, of course, doesn't matter for my notebook, which this is perfect for

Thanks everyone for the tips, though I do wonder if the choppiness others experienced was weaker hardware
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 01-19-2014, 11:45 AM
Member
 
minivanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lockport, IL
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

Thanks everyone for the tips, though I do wonder if the choppiness others experienced was weaker hardware

I've played with Pipelight on several different pieces of hardware, from AMD CPU's, APU's, Nvidia graphics, and now an Intel G2030 with integrated graphics. The G2030 is the weakest of them all, and it plays the best.

I'm using Arch Linux, so I pretty much stay bleeding edge on updates. I say this because I've noticed the Pipelight config file (~/.config/pipelight) is dramatically different than when I first started playing with it during initial release. Shows me developers are actively working on integration with various hardware. Most of the changes revolve around hardware acceleration and how Pipelight handles the hardware.

I used to run Netflix through a virtual machine and I'm getting better playback now than I did through the virtual machine.
minivanman is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 03-31-2014, 05:03 PM
Newbie
 
Wolvee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I hope this is the right place for this question:

 

I use the plugin "Hola" to change my IP region location in order to get Netflix content from Europe on our other devices.  I can't seem to "tab" over to it to select it now that it's installed on my Ubuntu machine.

 

Any suggestions would be great,

Thanks

W.

 

Wolvee is offline  
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off