Ubuntu Media Server - Need help piecing one together - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 06-20-2013, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My old file/media server is a bit old and I'm pushing the limits on what it can do. I need to build a new one, but other than the server I pieced together with old parts, I have no server experience.

I'm looking to build a server with 20TB of storage, RAID 5(or 6) in case of a drive failure. I'll be running a Plex server with 5 remote clients, a few game servers, and it'll hold my sql database for my XBMC library.

Obviously I'd like it to be power efficient and as inexpensive as possible.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-20-2013, 04:37 PM

Liked: 17
Old 06-23-2013, 07:23 AM
Rgb
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intelligent_Platform_Management_Interface

http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/servers/ipmi/ipmi-home.html

I have never used an IPMI motherboard (at least that I was aware of )- still more to learn no matter how long you've been doing this wink.gif

I think the norm on these forums is to use low cost consumer grade motherboards. It appears the IPMI feature may be relegated to higher priced commercial-grade boards, but feel free to prove me wrong.
Old 06-23-2013, 08:41 AM

Old 06-23-2013, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I wouldn't put my file server in my attic. It gets pretty hot up there in the summer (>100 F), and cold in the winter (<-10 F). I keep mine in the basement.