Opinions/advice wanted for Backend using TBS6981 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 2 Old 08-20-2013, 03:53 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I’m completely new to this, so please be gentle!

I’m starting to plan a Backend system to provide TV content to an existing XBMC frontend. I'm spent weeks researching but finding lots of out of date and/or conflicting info. I assume I only need a pretty low spec machine but most suggestions I've found appear over specified for my needs.

Requirements:
• Must work with TBS 6981 PCI-E DVB-S2 Dual Tuner TV card (already purchased).
• Separate box to act as backend (my existing frontend box isn’t big enough to house the TV tuner and I plan to have additional frontends in future).
• Plan to use either MythTV or TVHeadend as backend software, as they’re both supported by XBMC – probably leaning towards TVHeadend for ease of setup (as per this discussion).
• Would like to keep noise to a minimum but doesn’t have to be completely silent.
• Low power consumption, as would be left on most of the time.
• Cost kept to a realistic minimum.
• Whatever is required must be available to purchase in the UK.

The TBS 6981 has the following hardware requirements for DVB-S2, which I assume would also cover MythTV/TVHeadend requirements:
• Dualcore CPU
• 1GB RAM or Above
• Graphic Card with at Least 64MB RAM

Would you suggest building my own backend box using components or buy an off the shelf solution? I hadn’t considered an off the shelf solution until reading this but unfortunately the offer is no longer valid. I haven’t built a system from components before but have upgraded various PCs in the past and happy to tinker.

If I head down the component build route, I’ll need to consider the following:
• Processor - would a cheap dualcore be sufficient? Any particular suggestion of chip and speed? Would the Intel Core i3 3220 3.30GH be overkill?