I need help with my Ubuntu Srv build, badly - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-11-2014, 07:46 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I need help with my Ubuntu Srv build, badly

I am ashamed to say I am actually a computer engineer, but I am constantly tripped up by Linux. I am completely comfortable with command line operations. I have two Xeon X5470 on an Intel S5000PSL board w/ 16GB of Ram (can install more if necessary). I installed Ubuntu Server and decided I was not going to take the easy way out and use Windows Server.

I have 4x1TB drives on the Intel board that I want to run as RAID 5. I thought I had set up a software RAID 5 once but I was unable to mount, and tons of problems after that. I purchased a Geforce GT 610 for HDMI out, and an IOCrest card for adding more drives at a later date.

I am trying to figure out how to build and mount my RAID 5 properly. Then I'd like to figure out how to properly use mythTV.

Anyone care to lend advice or help walk me thru the process?

AVR: Marantz 7008 Phono: Pro-Ject Debut III Speakers: BW CMC2 + 2xCM9 + Energy 2xCB-10 (rear)
TV: Panasonic 65ZT60, Samsung 60F5300
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-11-2014, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi,

I have been using Linux for over a decade, but I don't have any experience with Linux RAID. But I do have a ton of experience with MythTV. I may still be able to help you with the process of building a RAID array in Linux. I hope some AVS members with experience will jump in to help.

First, you need to supply more detailed information:

* How did you create your RAID array? Did you follow a guide?