R9 270X + XBMC = HD audio? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-22-2014, 07:50 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 45
R9 270X + XBMC = HD audio?

Has anyone used a R9 series card with XBMC on Linux?

Will this series do HD audio passthrough on Linux?

Mr Zoid

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-23-2014, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
sysadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
i thought there was a wiki entry over at XBMC about HD audio compat by model #, but i can't find it. seems to be some reorganization since the new audio engine was introduced over there.

might want to try in their forums to see if anyone else is using it.
sysadmin is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-23-2014, 08:34 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I found the entry you're talking about, but it looks dated, and no R7/9s listed.

Might make an image of my Win8 HTPC and try it.

Mr Zoid

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-23-2014, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,173
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZoid View Post
Has anyone used a R9 series card with XBMC on Linux?

Will this series do HD audio passthrough on Linux?
Can't see why it wouldn't

Do you have a couple spare flash drives? Try this http://openelec.tv/get-openelec/down...generic-builds. One flash drive to make boot media and another to install OS. Should be the cheapest way to test things out, and you can leave your SSD alone just change the boot order
Dark_Slayer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HTPC - Linux Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off