How do you get 1080p out of your 1080p projector? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 09-22-2008, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What a stupid question for this esteem forum!

Just mounted the SIM HT380 (had it since early April) and I can't get it to output 1080p.

Video sources (Denon DV5900 set to 480i, lowest res and Sci-Atlanta Explorer 8300 cable box, set to 480p lowest res., NOTE sources set to lowest res when I was using a Key Digital HD Leeza) input via component cable to the Integra DTC 9.8. The 9.8 is set to output HDMI in the "through" mode (no video processing).

The HT380 syncs up as I call in a couple of seconds and last night displayed at 720p (ESPN Sunday Night Baseball, had to say goodbye to Yankee Stadium) and 1080i (NBC Sunday Night Football).

PQ was outstanding but no 1080p

I'm a just plain stupid? Yes I can handle the truth (unlike what Jack Nicholson told Tom Cruise in "A few good men"...

Mike Miles

ICR [ Sales Consulting and Small Part-Time AV shop, very small...  ]

Process Integration, Inc. [ contract sales consultant ]

Eastern Shore of Maryland

mmiles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 09-22-2008, 10:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
schroedk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Rushville, IL
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Okay, if I'm understanding your question correctly, you're confusing what the projector is outputting (1920x1080, its native resolution) and the resolution that the projector is accepting (anything between 480i and 1080p, typically). So, for instance, even though you were watching a program in 720p, it means that the incoming signal was detected to be 720p; what it was outputting HAD to be 1920x1080, since that's the only resolution the projector can display. As I see it, at some point, either you didn't lock your cable-box resolution at 480p, and it's putting through native resolution, or your receiver is upscaling the incoming signal and putting it out as the native resolution. Regardless, the projector either passes through the 1080i signal by simply deinterlacing it, or if the signal is a 480 or 720 variety, it has to upscale to 1080 and deinterlace to progressive, if the incoming signal is interlaced.

Does that help?

Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe. -- Albert Einstein
schroedk is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 09-22-2008, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Im sure you will be glad to hear that you were just being stupid. Your PJ is fine and you have nothing to worry about. Not a stupid question at all TBH.

The info displayed in the on screen info panel is referring to the SOURCE......... that's right, THE SOURCE.

The machine is by definition 1080p,everything you see is scaled and deinterlaced to 1080p if need be. 1080i is deinterlaced to 1080p.

Feed it a 1080p source and it will display 1080p on the info panel as that's the SOURCE resolution.

Hope that helps.

PS. If you display a source in Pixel to pixel mode then the screen will only be partially filled as only the number of pixels in the source will be illuminated.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 09-22-2008, 10:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,052
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 173
You're not stupid, just get a Blu Ray oplayer and fire away... No 1080P over the air or via the older Denon.

Well, if you want to call yourself 'stupid', then it is because you don't have Blu Ray.

EDIT: Not sure if your PJ can accept 1080P... Is it 720P native?

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 09-22-2008, 10:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 17,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Not a stupid question at all. When I first got my C3X 1080, I posted the same question here. I figured I was getting 1080p output, but I wanted to be sure. HAA!!!

"Doug Winsor" used to troll at some AV Forums as "Steve Bruzonsky"! My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 09-22-2008, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You'd also be surprised how many people cant figure out how to turn on a Sim2 as they didn't read the manual and they assumed the OFF button was an ON/OFF button. That includes some very knowledgeable guys.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 09-22-2008, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to all for not firing me up like a cheap (if there is such a thing anymore) Mexican joint...

CM, I figured when the projector is turned on (rocker switch on the rear next to the AC cable is in the "i" (i/o) position the remote only turns the pj off. To turn it on you need to press 5 (the HDMI input) or 0 (the last input used).

BLAND, thanks for the kindness. What happens in Denver stays in Denver. I was wanting to looking at all inclusive media servers before buying a BR player. My kids want me to get a PS3 (SIM used a PS3 to demo the HT3000 at CES in January) btw. The new Sony looked pretty good too.

SB, you are to kind as well.

However back to the topic at hand. So CM the image I'm seeing is 1080p, correct?

Mike Miles

ICR [ Sales Consulting and Small Part-Time AV shop, very small...  ]

Process Integration, Inc. [ contract sales consultant ]

Eastern Shore of Maryland

mmiles is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 09-22-2008, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK one more thing.

I was thinking about putting the KD HDL back in line (between the Integra 9.8and HT380) like this...

DTC 9.8 (HDMI out "through" mode) to KD HDL (set outout to native res of projector) to HT380. This should feed the pj 1080p direct.

Any benifit? Would you just let the SIM HT 380 do the processing?

Last dumb question today (leaving for Raliegh NC in two hours).

Mike Miles

ICR [ Sales Consulting and Small Part-Time AV shop, very small...  ]

Process Integration, Inc. [ contract sales consultant ]

Eastern Shore of Maryland

mmiles is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 09-22-2008, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmiles View Post


However back to the topic at hand. So CM the image I'm seeing is 1080p, correct?

Yes, but let me explain a bit further.

Whatever sources you feed it are scaled and deinterlaced, as needed, to become 1080p.

If you select Pixel to pixel mode it will display your source at its native resolution. a 480 source will only fill a fraction of the screen. This may not seem to be of any use at first glance but it is the mode of choice when you feed it a 1080 signal. Its a cinch to program a memory with this mode selected and use it when need be.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 09-22-2008, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmiles View Post

OK one more thing.

I was thinking about putting the KD HDL back in line (between the Integra 9.8and HT380) like this...

DTC 9.8 (HDMI out "through" mode) to KD HDL (set outout to native res of projector) to HT380. This should feed the pj 1080p direct.

Any benifit? Would you just let the SIM HT 380 do the processing?

Last dumb question today (leaving for Raliegh NC in two hours).

Try both and use whats best. You'll find the PJ has great processing as it uses the same basic suite as the higher priced units.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 09-22-2008, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting science project.

The HT 380 looked better coming from the Integra in through mode wereas the five year old Samsung DLP RPTV looked better setting the Integra to 720p

Makes sense since video processing has come a long way in five years.

Mike Miles

ICR [ Sales Consulting and Small Part-Time AV shop, very small...  ]

Process Integration, Inc. [ contract sales consultant ]

Eastern Shore of Maryland

mmiles is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off