Theres an italian in the house! - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 522 Old 01-12-2009, 06:42 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Ian_Currie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's to hoping the CR is 15k+...
Ian_Currie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 522 Old 01-12-2009, 06:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alan,
What does the host do? Is it simply a switcher or is it a processor?
The Host does not have a HDMI out so If one uses a switcher (In my case a Lumagen Radiance with bypass) all my 5 sources goto the Radiance then the one output from the Radiance goes to one input of the the Host.
So if I have 5 sources would I be able to program 5 calibrated memories to this one input?
Or better question is how many calibrated memories can you program to each Host input.
Thanks in advance.
Ash
Ash Sharma is offline  
post #123 of 522 Old 01-12-2009, 08:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian_Currie View Post

Here's to hoping the CR is 15k+...

We measured over 20k today but my setup was not ideal. Its higher.
The contrast is good enough that it suports good shadow detail using 2.4 gamma. I do not know of any other dlp 1 or 3 chip that can do this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post

how many calibrated memories can you program to each Host input.
Thanks in advance.
Ash

Hi Ash

In a sense it is a switcher, it may contain the projectors processing. If I am not mistaken there are 3 memories per input.
6 hdmi and one dvi.
Your Radiance offers separate memory per input so you should be all set.
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #124 of 522 Old 01-12-2009, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Free's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Arizona
Posts: 4,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You mean 2.4 don't you?
How about ANSI any measurement on that?

Phil
Free is offline  
post #125 of 522 Old 01-12-2009, 08:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Free View Post

You mean 2.4 don't you?
How about ANSI any measurement on that?

Good catch, fixed. Thx Phil.

Will give ANSI a try in the next few days. I am confident its way up there.
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #126 of 522 Old 01-12-2009, 08:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Gino AUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cairns, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

Will give ANSI a try in the next few days. I am confident its way up there.

Looking forward to your findings Alan, this may be the projector that finally brings me to digital... will try give you a call sometime this week!

( B ) ( G ) ( R ) BlendZilla DownUnder ( R ) ( G ) ( B ) - Tubes of Fury
Gino AUS is offline  
post #127 of 522 Old 01-12-2009, 08:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Ian_Currie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

We measured over 20k today but my setup was not ideal. Its higher.
The contrast is good enough that it suports good shadow detail using 2.4 gamma. I do not know of any other dlp 1 or 3 chip that can do this.


Wow. OK, I want one :-) What did the previous C3X1080 measure for CR (I can't recall)? I'm thinking it was 6.5k or somewhere thereabouts?
Ian_Currie is offline  
post #128 of 522 Old 01-12-2009, 11:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rsbeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian_Currie View Post

Wow. OK, I want one :-) What did the previous C3X1080 measure for CR (I can't recall)? I'm thinking it was 6.5k or somewhere thereabouts?

Numbers I heard were 9,000:1 on/off and 700:1 ANSI.
rsbeck is offline  
post #129 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 12:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ohlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Falun, Sweden
Posts: 5,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alan Gouger
So 20000+:1 with DB.
What did you get without DB?

Mattias Ohlson
Ohlson is offline  
post #130 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 05:00 AM
Senior Member
 
THE_COW_IS_OK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: France
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any dates regarding availability and will Sim keep both new and old C3x models for sale?
Can you disable dynamic contrast? if so pls measure CR with dynamic off.
One last question. do you have it connected to an HTPC??
THE_COW_IS_OK is offline  
post #131 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 05:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_COW_IS_OK View Post

Any dates regarding availability and will Sim keep both new and old C3x models for sale?
Can you disable dynamic contrast? if so pls measure CR with dynamic off.
One last question. do you have it connected to an HTPC??

It shipping now.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #132 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
twenty/twenty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1640 lumens in low lamp, iris closed mode, ugh.

Is there any way to reduce the light output further?

According to Carleton Bale, that would be roughly 60 ft lamberts on a 120" D2.35:1, 1.3 gain screen. That's a tad bright.

Any chance Sim2 might offer this PJ with a 200 or 250 watt UHP bulb? Perhaps in the previous one box solution?

Alan Gouger, last I read your screen is an 8ft wide scope. You must be at at least 50 plus ft lamberts, even with a 1.0 gain screen? You have commented, in this thread, that it is a bit bright for you.

If you use the long end of one of the 3 zooms, you could lose another 20- 30%? Anything else? Aged bulb 20%? Zooming vs anamorphic?
twenty/twenty is offline  
post #133 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 06:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,613
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post

Alan,
What does the host do? Is it simply a switcher or is it a processor?
The Host does not have a HDMI out so If one uses a switcher (In my case a Lumagen Radiance with bypass) all my 5 sources goto the Radiance then the one output from the Radiance goes to one input of the the Host.
So if I have 5 sources would I be able to program 5 calibrated memories to this one input?
Or better question is how many calibrated memories can you program to each Host input.
Thanks in advance.
Ash

Ash, just do all your programming / calibrations in the Radiance and send to the SIM2.You'd only need one SIM2 calibrration.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #134 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 06:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,613
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by twenty/twenty View Post

1640 lumens in low lamp, iris closed mode, ugh.

Is there any way to reduce the light output further?

According to Carleton Bale, that would be roughly 60 ft lamberts on a 120" D2.35:1, 1.3 gain screen. That's a tad bright.

Any chance Sim2 might offer this PJ with a 200 or 250 watt UHP bulb? Perhaps in the previous one box solution?

Alan Gouger, last I read your screen is an 8ft wide scope. You must be at at least 50 plus ft lamberts, even with a 1.0 gain screen? You have commented, in this thread, that it is a bit bright for you.

If you use the long end of one of the 3 zooms, you could lose another 20- 30%? Anything else? Aged bulb 20%? Zooming vs anamorphic?

ND filter.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #135 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 06:15 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrlittlejeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: the area formerly known as Black Forest
Posts: 4,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 192
What is the throw ratio on this? I need a short throw...

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

mrlittlejeans is offline  
post #136 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

ND filter.

Are there any that dont trash ANSI.

I tried one last year that was popular here (admittedly not this forum) and it was totally shite.

It did the job but the ANSI degradation was very obvious. It may have worked on low ANSI, low MTF machines, but not otherwise.

There may be professional units that would be suitable, but I haven't looked into it.

I will be testing the Lumis at over 30fL anyway, so will report on that.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #137 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrlittlejeans View Post

What is the throw ratio on this? I need a short throw...

T1= 1.37-1.66

T2= 1.75-2.48:1

T3= 2.6-3.9:1

LJ, You absolutely MUST wait to have that physically confirmed if you are near the ends.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #138 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 06:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,613
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 88
What does this piece run without the Host??

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #139 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Free's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Arizona
Posts: 4,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The Host is about 5 grand, but it won't work without it.

Edit: What I mean by that, is that the non-Host versions of previous projectors are about 5 grand less than the Host versions. The Host versions will not work without the Host box.

Phil
Free is offline  
post #140 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
odyssey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmachine View Post

Are there any that dont trash ANSI.

Schneider makes very high quality glass ND filters with high performance AR coatings. The trick is to use them at an angle of about 7 degrees to minimize back reflections.

Another option is a very low gain screen. Stewart can make matte gray screens in the 0.6 gain range. These would also help with retaining ANSI CR because of the low gain, although the lack of directionality cancels some of that.
odyssey is offline  
post #141 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 07:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,613
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Free View Post

The Host is about 5 grand, but it won't work without it.

Edit: What I mean by that, is that the non-Host versions of previous projectors are about 5 grand less than the Host versions. The Host versions will not work without the Host box.


So no need for a Radiance??

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #142 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 07:11 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The projector will not work without the host... see picture back.
So using a Radiance may not be the answer if the host does processing and can be used for calibration and different gamma curves can be applied to different in puts.
We need to learn more about the Host. Maybe a user manual would be usefull.
With a 12 foot wide 2:35 screen and 26 foot throw T2 lens should work for me.
LL
Ash Sharma is offline  
post #143 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 07:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
If you require the flexibility of all the inputs the host has to offer that may be the way to go. I am not sure ( I have no first hand inside info ) they could migrate all the inputs to the projector if eliminating the host. The projectors foot print is to small. I would guess the stand alone would get the standard 2 HDMI inputs.
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #144 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by odyssey View Post

Schneider makes very high quality glass ND filters with high performance AR coatings. The trick is to use them at an angle of about 7 degrees to minimize back reflections.

Thanks. Im sure that's exactly what some people will be looking for.

Thats whats so great about this place, there's always someone who knows.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #145 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 07:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by twenty/twenty View Post


Alan Gouger, last I read your screen is an 8ft wide scope. You must be at at least 50 plus ft lamberts, even with a 1.0 gain screen? You have commented, in this thread, that it is a bit bright for you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmachine View Post

Are there any that dont trash ANSI.

Quote:
Originally Posted by odyssey View Post

Schneider makes very high quality glass ND filters with high performance AR coatings. The trick is to use them at an angle of about 7 degrees to minimize back reflections.

Yes this thing is way bright for my screen size but surprisingly the image remains clean with good source ( blue ray ) but some satellite content falls short.
I will have to look into one of those Schneider NDs.
I just ordered a large ( so I can angle it ) multi coated from another vendor. I tried a gray screen but did not like it. I have a standard ND filter on hand much preferred it to the gray screen.
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #146 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

What does this piece run without the Host??

Just to clarify what others have said.....This is a HOST PJ. HOST isnt an add on unit

Dont think of it as a processor or anything like that. Its basically a PJ that has been split in 2, with the electronics remote from the optics. This allows for the huge expansion of the inputs and offers the ability to locate the input stage in your equipment rack. It also means the Optical part of the PJ runs cooler and quieter.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #147 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Kevin Snyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Shorewood, MN
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post

The projector will not work without the host... see picture back.
So using a Radiance may not be the answer if the host does processing and can be used for calibration and different gamma curves can be applied to different in puts.
We need to learn more about the Host. Maybe a user manual would be usefull.
With a 12 foot wide 2:35 screen and 26 foot throw T2 lens should work for me.

No. You use your 16 x 9 width. You are towards the short end of the T3. (2.8-2.9)

Kevin
Kevin Snyder is offline  
post #148 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 07:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
A comment on contrast. We measured "over" 20k yesterday but my projector lies behind a wall firing through a port hole. Jason could not optimize his light meter properly to maximize the measurement. It is much higher.
I have the MicroSpec Spectroradiometer which I have to load the latest software I just have not had the time but this will give superior reading to Jason's method.
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #149 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Free's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Arizona
Posts: 4,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The biggest problem with the Host, as has been pointed out before, is no HDMI out for advanced audio. However, it certainly seems that it would not be too expensive to swap out the Host, in the future, if they come out with one that does not have this limitation.

Phil
Free is offline  
post #150 of 522 Old 01-13-2009, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Free View Post

However, it certainly seems that it would not be too expensive to swap out the Host, in the future, if they come out with one that does not have this limitation.

Producing a non HOST version MAY not be that straight forward. Im not saying that is definitely the case, but its a possibility.Here's, potentially, why....

Part of the problem with the C3X1080 was performance limitations due to lack of space inside the box, partly due to the larger chips. This was as a result of the insistence of sticking with the C3X footprint. If the Lumis is physically making use of the increased space available, that may prevent a non host unit from being practical.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off