Theres an italian in the house! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I was worried the bad weather would delay the driver but it made it here safe and sound.
I will not be able to comment on performance until later tonight but I did hook everything up and confirmed she is working. More to come!




Alan Gouger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Beaten to the punch.

Looks like a Ducati sidecar. Look forward to your comments.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #3 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 01:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
GetGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mid-South USA
Posts: 5,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Interesting. And that confirms it is not the C3X case. Similar, but not the same...
GetGray is offline  
post #4 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by GetGray View Post

Interesting. And that confirms it is not the C3X case. Similar, but not the same...

Yes new design, sharp looking machine. Going by memory its quieter then the 1080 C3X and quieter then the Marantz 11S2 sitting next to it.
The Host has an HD-SDI
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #5 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

The Host has an HD-SDI

That is the gateway to some seriously interesting stuff.

Loved that on my HT5k

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #6 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
owl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What kind of interesting stuff?
owl1 is offline  
post #7 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by owl1 View Post

What kind of interesting stuff?

The uncompressed kind.

The interface is used in the broadcast industry and handles uncompressed broadcast grade video. What you see on HDTV, which can be outstanding, isn't even close to the uncompressed files.

The standard can handle around 30 times the data rate of BD, and upto 60 in dual-link mode.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #8 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cilent1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok it's been over an hour. How much time do you need Alan . Can't wait to hear your impressions. Have fun!

"...I'm ready for dream-time Mr. B."
Cilent1 is offline  
post #9 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
owl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Intriguing. Looks like Sim may be thinking nextgen with HD-SDI when Bluray has gone the way of the Betamax and everyone is downloading UNCOMPRESSED day and date flicks to their nice little movieservers. Hmmmmm.....
owl1 is offline  
post #10 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by owl1 View Post

Intriguing. Looks like Sim may be thinking nextgen with HD-SDI when Bluray has gone the way of the Betamax and everyone is downloading UNCOMPRESSED day and date flicks to their nice little movieservers. Hmmmmm.....

Very perceptive.

The HT5k had it 2 years ago. The difference is staggering.

In my last place I was fortunate enough to be asked, and able, to host a number of screenings that made use of this interface. Incredible.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #11 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 03:20 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
GetGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mid-South USA
Posts: 5,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Hard to tell from the photo, but does it have 2 SDI BNC's? Need those for real HD SDI bandwidth. Yes, I LOVE my SDI'd SD-DVD player. Wouldn't consider using anything else for SD-DVD.
GetGray is offline  
post #12 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GetGray View Post

Hard to tell from the photo, but does it have 2 SDI BNC's? Need those for real HD SDI bandwidth. Yes, I LOVE my SDI'd SD-DVD player. Wouldn't consider using anything else for SD-DVD.

It has 1 HD-SDI BNC. You do need 2 for dual-link, but 1 connector can still deliver nearly 30 times the data rate of Blu-Ray.

Seeing uncompressed, pre broadcast, 1080 material was a revelation to me. This needs to be the next stage for sources.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #13 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
donaldk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Or a single 3 gigabit HD-SDI port. 4.5 Gig chips seem to not have made it to market, yet. As Belden pointed out its 3 gig certified coax was later also certified for 4.5 gig.

1080P does require either dual channel or 3 gig., 4.5 gig at higher sample and framerates.
donaldk is offline  
post #14 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by donaldk View Post

Or a single 3 gigabit HD-SDI port.

Of course you are correct. Im not sure if these newer units have 3Gb ports.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #15 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 03:58 PM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 3,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by donaldk View Post

Or a single 3 gigabit HD-SDI port. 4.5 Gig chips seem to not have made it to market, yet. As Belden pointed out its 3 gig certified coax was later also certified for 4.5 gig.

1080P does require either dual channel or 3 gig., 4.5 gig at higher sample and framerates.

I don't believe 1080P24 requires dual channel
LJG is online now  
post #16 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Why all the hype over HDSDI? Many (not all) HDMI implementations are exactly the same. Meaning you can send the same uncompressed signal over HDMI. Go look in the Processors fourm for indepth discussion on this.

The cool trick is getting access to uncompressed HD. Even a DCI master is still compressed. Plus even broadcast grade HD VTRs are still compressed, the highest bit rate available being 880mbs.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is online now  
post #17 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG View Post

I don't believe 1080P24 requires dual channel

Correct, it's actually less bandwidth then 1080i/60 but is padded out the same to keep the interface standardized.

There is no 4.5gbs SDI standard. 3G is covered under SMPTE 424 and 425.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is online now  
post #18 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glimmie View Post

Why all the hype over HDSDI? Many (not all) HDMI implementations are exactly the same. Meaning you can send the same uncompressed signal over HDMI. Go look in the Processors fourm for indepth discussion on this.

The cool trick is getting access to uncompressed HD. Even a DCI master is still compressed. Plus even broadcast grade HD VTRs are still compressed, the highest bit rate available being 880mbs.


Glimmie, I dont see any hype at all. Just passage of some basic information.

I think most people know that you can do the same with HDMI, its just a good option to have if you can use it. If you have access to the content, and connectivity, its a sweet deal.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #19 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glimmie View Post

Correct, it's actually less bandwidth then 1080i/60 but is padded out the same to keep the interface standardized

I thought 1080p required 3G or dual channel.

If its not 3Gb, then its limited to 1080i as per SMPTE 292.

Of course its VERY possible Im missing something here. If I am, please straighten me out.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #20 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 04:38 PM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 3,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
CM, it is all about bandwidth, 1080P24 requires less than 1080i60..

No reason to run Bluray at anything other than 1080P24 for 1080P24 encoded movies, and 1080i60 for video and 1080i60 encoded discs, and then let external processor or internal projector processor(if quality processor) convert to 1080p60. Actually the best way would be to run Native from disc
LJG is online now  
post #21 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG View Post

CM, it is all about bandwidth, 1080P24 requires less than 1080i60..

L, I understand the bandwidth comparison. I thought there was maybe a format issue, or some other BS, that I hadn't grasped.

Thanks for clearing that up.

Thats what I love about this particular part of AVS, there seems no end of information to tap into.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #22 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 205
1080P/60 requires 3gbs uncompressed. However 1080P/24 fits into SMPTE292 as it is actually less bandwidth.This format has been around since 1999 and is the basis of most scripted drama production today.

1080P/24 can be translated to any world TV standard with historically acceptable artifacts, like NTSC 3/2 pulldown and PAL 4% speedup just as film has always done. It was developed primarily do to ABC adopting 720P while NBC and CBS went 1080i. ABC mandated they would not accept conversions from 1080i due to the motion artifacts. But as most drama shows are film origionated, conversion from 24P was OK. Naturally when a film is transferred to HD these days it is done frame for frame to 24P video hence the reason BluRay is mostly 24P. And with this standard a whole world of 24P video cameras were born and used today in place of film on some projects.

P.S. It's really 23.97P in the TV world because NTSC is really 59.94 and not true 60. But true 24P is also used when going back to film such as in digital cinema. And the TV flavor of 24P (that is 23.98) is really 23.98sF as it was made compatable with interlaced equipment.

But for all practictical purposes it is true 24P.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is online now  
post #23 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TSHA222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: barely within my means
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Alan, what are you selling to make room for this? I smell a deal
TSHA222 is offline  
post #24 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 09:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by TSHA222 View Post

Alan, what are you selling to make room for this? I smell a deal

The Sim2 just kicked my Marantz 11S2 to the curb


I promise a follow up as soon as I can. I want to take some measurements to solidify what I am seeing but I think Sim2 are on to something.

A few quick impressions, you guys are in for a surprise.

Watching a scope movie with dynamic black on ( not using a anamorphic lens ) the black bars completely disappear. I even threw this on the high power thinking the bars would show up but still a no show. Turning off DB raises black and they are back. I would have never expected this level of black from any 3 chip DLP. We are not talking crushed black, shadow detail remains. Lcos now has some serious competition.
Toggling dynamic black on/off during a movie the difference seamed subtle but somehow its impacting mostly lower IREs.
The iris is positioned after the lamp before the optical light path so clamping down the iris always maintains full ANSi contrast. Open the iris all the way keeping dynamic black on, the bars remain gone. Dynamic black and lamp modulation seam to be working at the same time enhancing one another. For an example during a star field the combination of DB with lamp modulation ( the lamp increases ) expand dynamic contrast. Any little object of light ( if at 100 IRE ) remain at 100 IRE against black and jumps off the screen where without the modulation using just an iris the upper IREs would be dimmed in parallel along with the blacks. I am very impressed so far. More tomorrow night.
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #25 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joeycalda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
The Sim2 just kicked my Marantz 11S2 to the curb

There's your deal Chris !

The scene in 300 when the boy returns home to become King Leonitus (he is standing in the dark with snow falling all around) is a nice scene of white objects on a black background. Actually the scene with the wolf is also very good.

Heck who needs CES.. just go to Alans house.
joeycalda is offline  
post #26 of 522 Old 01-08-2009, 10:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
cal87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 1,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Alan, so you are not going to just test it for a while and sell it?

I was going to call first dibs.
cal87 is offline  
post #27 of 522 Old 01-09-2009, 01:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

The iris is positioned after the lamp before the optical light path so clamping down the iris always maintains full ANSi contrast. Open the iris all the way keeping dynamic black on, the bars remain gone. Dynamic black and lamp modulation seam to be working at the same time enhancing one another. For an example during a star field the combination of DB with lamp modulation ( the lamp increases ) expand dynamic contrast. Any little object of light ( if at 100 IRE ) remain at 100 IRE against black and jumps off the screen where without the modulation using just an iris the upper IREs would be dimmed in parallel along with the blacks. I am very impressed so far.

Thats exactly what I was hoping to hear. That combination of techniques sounds killer.

Looking forward to some detail.

I wonder how long before they put that in the HT5000............especially with new filters

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #28 of 522 Old 01-09-2009, 02:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glimmie View Post

1080P/60 requires 3gbs uncompressed. However 1080P/24 fits into SMPTE292 as it is actually less bandwidth.

Thats where I was getting confused. I read a synopsis of 292 and it appeared to say 1080i. Reading it again, after your post, its actually very clear that 1080P/24 fits.

Thanks for the clarification.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #29 of 522 Old 01-09-2009, 04:05 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 22,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Thanks Alan. On what size screen are you running the Lumis ?


Art

My HT


iRule rules my theater
 

"If she's amazing she won't be easy,if she's easy she won't be amazing"

 

Bob Marley

Art Sonneborn is offline  
post #30 of 522 Old 01-09-2009, 04:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Warren460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Alan,

Whats your impression on the lumis as it compares to the standard 1080p C3X?
Warren460 is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off