Sim2 Lumis Owners Thread - Page 54 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1591 of 1962 Old 06-19-2010, 03:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmachine View Post

My own DI became slightly visible a while back, and a hard rest took acre of it.

I only mention this as I was given the following advice, if a straight deselect/reselect of the DB fails to clear the issue.

Assuming the DI is selected and the unit is powered up.... De-select DI and power down the entire unit, including the Host. Disconnect from mains.

Reconnect and power up. Select DB to on. Power down as before, including mains disconnection.

Reconnect and power up. Done.

CM,

What are 'mains' you're referring to? Unplugging the main power cords (HOST and Lumis) from the wall??

I'd like to try this.

Thanks!

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1592 of 1962 Old 06-19-2010, 04:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

Unplugging the main power cords (HOST and Lumis) from the wall?

Yes, household power.I was addressing an international audience

I used the term "Hydro" s a kid, but when I stated working in the US no one knew what I meant.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mains_electricity

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #1593 of 1962 Old 06-19-2010, 05:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmachine View Post

Yes, household power.I was addressing an international audience

I used the term "Hydro" s a kid, but when I stated working in the US no one knew what I meant.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mains_electricity

Gotcha, eh!?

Well, if this does it, I guess we can assume this pumping is a software related issue rather than a failing hardware problem.

Thanks!

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1594 of 1962 Old 06-22-2010, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Gary16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmachine View Post

My own DI became slightly visible a while back, and a hard rest took acre of it.

I only mention this as I was given the following advice, if a straight deselect/reselect of the DB fails to clear the issue.

Assuming the DI is selected and the unit is powered up.... De-select DI and power down the entire unit, including the Host. Disconnect from mains.

Reconnect and power up. Select DB to on. Power down as before, including mains disconnection.

Reconnect and power up. Done.

Seems to have worked for me. Two days. No visible pumping. First time since I've had the Lumis.
Gary16 is offline  
post #1595 of 1962 Old 06-22-2010, 01:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I did the re-do last week. Haven't had time for a movie yet. Cool.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1596 of 1962 Old 06-22-2010, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing or kayaking )
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 189
I'll have to watch " The Blind Side " now as a test.

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Direct Line - 585-671-2972
I'm available 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday Email me at craig@avscience.com
http://shop.avscience.com/
Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, Klipsch, and many more!
Craig Peer is offline  
post #1597 of 1962 Old 06-22-2010, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary16 View Post

Seems to have worked for me. Two days. No visible pumping. First time since I've had the Lumis.

Glad to be of assistance.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #1598 of 1962 Old 06-22-2010, 10:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dizzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 5,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmachine View Post

I used the term "Hydro" s a kid, but when I stated working in the US no one knew what I meant.

Word! i still have problems with words nobody seems to know

A toque is a hat,
a chesterfield is a couch,
and it is pronounced 'zed' not 'zee', 'zed' !!!!


Proud Daddy to Anastasia and Christopher.
Born October 26 2005.

Ob was the delivery doc.

Since i cannot rant on a soapbox in the town square...
http://commonsensehasdied.blogspot.com/
Dizzman is offline  
post #1599 of 1962 Old 07-08-2010, 04:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmachine View Post

My own DI became slightly visible a while back, and a hard rest took acre of it.

I only mention this as I was given the following advice, if a straight deselect/reselect of the DB fails to clear the issue.

Assuming the DI is selected and the unit is powered up.... De-select DI and power down the entire unit, including the Host. Disconnect from mains.

Reconnect and power up. Select DB to on. Power down as before, including mains disconnection.

Reconnect and power up. Done.

CM,

You da man! My dynamic iris had become so bad, I had to disengage it.

I have watched 3-4 movies since following your Dynamic Iris fix protocol (above) and my dynamic iris is fixed!!!

No issues what so ever. I actually forgot it was broken and had to check my menu just to see if I even had Dynamic Iris engaged.. I did!

Thanks!

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1600 of 1962 Old 07-11-2010, 01:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
mani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am thinking of buying Sim2 lumis for 12-13 ft wide 16:9 screen . I talked to my local dealer and he told me that lumis is not meant for that big screen and I will need 5000e. I will like to get opinion of the lumis owners. My theater won't we done for another 2-3 mths.
Thanks
mani is offline  
post #1601 of 1962 Old 07-11-2010, 02:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by mani View Post

I am thinking of buying Sim2 lumis for 12-13 ft wide 16:9 screen . I talked to my local dealer and he told me that lumis is not meant for that big screen and I will need 5000e. I will like to get opinion of the lumis owners. My theater won't we done for another 2-3 mths.
Thanks

Looks like revenue is down for your dealer.. I have a 14' wide scope microperf that lights up like a champ with one Lumis.

That said, to get max light output, place the Lumis at the end of it's throw such that the lens is wide opened. I am at the very front (2.7ish) of the T3 lens throw.

Two projectors would be a headache to place and converge... I'd get a bigger output model like the HT5000.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1602 of 1962 Old 07-11-2010, 02:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
mani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the input. But my screen will be 16:9, so even 12 ft wide screen will have more surface area to light , than 14 ft wide scope screen... 87 vs 84 sq ft. So is that the limit for lumis to comfortably light the screen without compromising black levels , contrast and the "pop" . Also it will be important to have some headroom to account for aging of the bulb!
mani is offline  
post #1603 of 1962 Old 07-11-2010, 03:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 88
True but add 10% screen size to my sq footage due to perfs and my screen is net larger (92.4 v. 87)...

UHP drop off is not like xenon. I have not noticed much light drop off and I'm at 400 hours.

But if you want more and need headroom, just buy the 5000.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1604 of 1962 Old 07-11-2010, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
mani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi Jeff

My screen will be AT as well. I definitely dont want to spend any more than Lumis. I was fairly confident reading through all these posts that Lumis will be able to light 12-14 ft 16:9 screen without any problem. Its only after talking to the dealer I am having doubts. He is selling Demo HT5000 at lower price than Lumis (Its not 5000e). So i gues its not money -... thats why I am second guessing my decision now.
But if you say that Lumis is lighting 92 sq ft AT screen with enough headroom left with no compromise on black levels and POP , than I do feel more comfortable.
IS anyone else using it on bigger screen??

Thanks
Mani
mani is offline  
post #1605 of 1962 Old 07-11-2010, 06:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I think my screen is the largest.

If you want max light, you have to have it at with the minimum zoom at the 2.7 end of the T3 lens, for example. If you are zooming into the screen, it will limit the light output (but inc CR).

So where you mount it is critical for you since you need light output.

If you're near Detroit, come on out and I'll demo it!

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1606 of 1962 Old 07-11-2010, 07:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
mani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi Jeff

Thanks for ur offer. I used to live in Harper Woods till about 8 yrs ago, but I am in Phoenix now.
mani is offline  
post #1607 of 1962 Old 07-14-2010, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
scottsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Evanston, Il
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mani View Post

He is selling Demo HT5000 at lower price than Lumis (Its not 5000e). So i gues its not money -... thats why I am second guessing my decision now.

Mani

Your dealer has a very expensive out of date display model that he is dying to get rid of. He may be giving you his honest opinion, but it also happens to be self serving.
scottsol is offline  
post #1608 of 1962 Old 07-17-2010, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 44
What's the bottom line on this projector? Is it still worth considering at this point or wait for CEDIA/CES?
adidino is offline  
post #1609 of 1962 Old 07-17-2010, 07:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 88
It's is an excellent pj. Perhaps the best. Butid still check CEDIA..

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1610 of 1962 Old 07-22-2010, 01:04 PM
Newbie
 
wiseknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnwalters View Post

Just opened mine (C3X1080) up tonight! It is very easy and will also be easy to change. The lamp itself just snaps in and can come out with 4 screws on the front and then 2 screws for the wires. I didn't actually change mine yet, since it was just an exploration mission, but now I know I can change my lamp for only a couple hundred bucks! Now I rack up the hours big time Actually I already have 1500 and it still looks great, but I should have one on hand.

Anyway, looks like this lamp is available online. I found a couple places that sold it. So I'll try one of them and see.





The lamp is: osram p-vip 250/1.0 p22

Hi Shawn, what is the manufacture date on your C3X1080 ? -
Thanks
wiseknight is offline  
post #1611 of 1962 Old 07-28-2010, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing or kayaking )
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Just got my Lumis back from SIM2. I couldn't do a firmware update as my projector was one of the first out, and needed a hardware update to take the current firmware. Had them put a new bulb in too, as I always felt my original bulb was not as bright as others reported theirs were. Everything works and looks great !! No more menu freeze, and with the manual iris closed and the bulb power at its lowest setting, we are back up to 26 foot lamberts - just where I like it!! Kudos to SIM2 and AV Science for great service!!

Also, that trick of turning off the dynamic iris and turning it back on really works great. No pumping at all with anything other than " The Blind Side ". Watched " The Blind Side " and while there are about 12 scenes that do something weird ( I wonder if those scenes pump on other DI projectors ? ) the rest of the movie looked great.

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Direct Line - 585-671-2972
I'm available 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday Email me at craig@avscience.com
http://shop.avscience.com/
Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, Klipsch, and many more!
Craig Peer is offline  
post #1612 of 1962 Old 08-03-2010, 06:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
GetGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mid-South USA
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post

Also, that trick of turning off the dynamic iris and turning it back on really works great. No pumping at all with anything other than " The Blind Side ". Watched " The Blind Side " and while there are about 12 scenes that do something weird ( I wonder if those scenes pump on other DI projectors ? ) the rest of the movie looked great.

Still necessary after your service?
GetGray is offline  
post #1613 of 1962 Old 08-04-2010, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing or kayaking )
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Still necessary after your service?

To what do you refer, the DI on / off trick? Everything is working great right now - just like new. IF I see pumping again after a few hundred hours, I'll know what to try anyway.

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Direct Line - 585-671-2972
I'm available 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday Email me at craig@avscience.com
http://shop.avscience.com/
Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, Klipsch, and many more!
Craig Peer is offline  
post #1614 of 1962 Old 08-04-2010, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Gary16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FWIW, mine was pumping from day one including after several firmware updates. Only after I did the on/off reset did the pumping stop. What I don't understand is why no one at Sim seemed to know about this since they were aware of pumping complaints for several months?
Gary16 is offline  
post #1615 of 1962 Old 08-04-2010, 09:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Mine has been good since the ON/OFF trick.

Mine was not pumping at all, many months after purchase, until recently.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1616 of 1962 Old 08-04-2010, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing or kayaking )
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:


Mine was not pumping at all, many months after purchase, until recently.

Same here.

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Direct Line - 585-671-2972
I'm available 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday Email me at craig@avscience.com
http://shop.avscience.com/
Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, Klipsch, and many more!
Craig Peer is offline  
post #1617 of 1962 Old 08-08-2010, 09:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Warren460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Later today, I am planning to do a firmware update on my non host lumis.

This will be my first firmware update and I am a little apprehensive.

Will I lose any settings, do I need to back up anything before following the sim update instructions. Will my calibration be affected?

Thanks
Warren460 is offline  
post #1618 of 1962 Old 08-10-2010, 02:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
hhelmut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Germany/Switzerland
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to say, but with the firmwareupdate you will loose all your settings and calibrations, you cannot store it; you have to note it;

on the other way I would recommend a new calibration. Firmwareupdate will also affect the videoprocessing. Settings based on the older firmware are often not okay with the new firmware

But doing the settings and the calibration new with the LUMIS running on the latest firmware, you will win in a better picture
________________

hhelmut
hhelmut is offline  
post #1619 of 1962 Old 08-10-2010, 03:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Gary16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hhelmut View Post

Sorry to say, but with the firmwareupdate you will loose all your settings and calibrations, you cannot store it; you have to note it;

on the other way I would recommend a new calibration. Firmwareupdate will also affect the videoprocessing. Settings based on the older firmware are often not okay with the new firmware

But doing the settings and the calibration new with the LUMIS running on the latest firmware, you will win in a better picture
________________

hhelmut

Previous firmware updates did not cause settings to be lost. Is this something new?
Gary16 is offline  
post #1620 of 1962 Old 08-10-2010, 06:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary16 View Post

Previous firmware updates did not cause settings to be lost. Is this something new?

Must be new... or the poster is mistaken.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off