Sim2 Lumis Owners Thread - Page 75 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 35Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2221 of 2245 Old 11-20-2016, 10:41 PM
Newbie
 
TomasSobka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
The Lumis 3D SOLO is different from the models most people have in this thread. The main drawback of the SOLO is that it lacks a dynamic iris. This greatly holds back it's contrast performance potential compared to the Sim2 Lumis and Sim2 Lumis 3D-S (the only major difference between these two models is the latter supports 3D). My suggestion to you would be to look into a 3 chip DLP projector only if it has a dynamic iris.
Sorry Seegs, I think your mistaking the Solo for UNO, UNO is the one without the dynamic iris. The Solo is the S i 3D-S if Im not mistaking?
TomasSobka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2222 of 2245 Old 11-21-2016, 01:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomasSobka View Post
Sorry Seegs, I think your mistaking the Solo for UNO, UNO is the one without the dynamic iris. The Solo is the S i 3D-S if Im not mistaking?
Yeah, I posted the descriptions for both in my post above and they both say "dynamic black" indicating the dynamic iris.

B.
Brian B is online now  
post #2223 of 2245 Old 01-16-2017, 03:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi All

I was wondering if anyone could help, i am trying to set up my Sim2 C3X Lumis Host that i purchased 2nd hand, i am running into issues trying to get a perfect image, it is just to big, it has a T1 Lens and i have a 100 inch stewart screen, the issue i believe is when i press the info button where it says scan it says it is overscanned which i believe is the issue, trouble is i cannot find in the menu setttings anything that says overscan, so i cant turn this off, i am missing a bunch of options, does anyone know how to help on this. so far i have reset all settings and also tried all 4 different hdmi inputs on the host.

any help would be appriciated.

Regards Simon
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7251.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	112.9 KB
ID:	1898329  
Sicoe is offline  
 
post #2224 of 2245 Old 01-16-2017, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New England
Posts: 2,941
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sicoe View Post
Hi All

I was wondering if anyone could help, i am trying to set up my Sim2 C3X Lumis Host that i purchased 2nd hand, i am running into issues trying to get a perfect image, it is just to big, it has a T1 Lens and i have a 100 inch stewart screen, the issue i believe is when i press the info button where it says scan it says it is overscanned which i believe is the issue, trouble is i cannot find in the menu setttings anything that says overscan, so i cant turn this off, i am missing a bunch of options, does anyone know how to help on this. so far i have reset all settings and also tried all 4 different hdmi inputs on the host.

any help would be appriciated.

Regards Simon
Call SIM2 Tech Support in Florida
Pete is offline  
post #2225 of 2245 Old 01-16-2017, 07:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 25,663
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1598 Post(s)
Liked: 927
Try the zoom button on the remote.
Craig Peer likes this.

Goodbye to a great audio and video genius and writer... JOHN GANNON. I enjoyed your friendship, wit and a nice long run we took around Indianapolis at CEDIA years back... and for buying my Runco 980 Ultra years back... you saved my ass! Rest in peace.
thebland is online now  
post #2226 of 2245 Old 01-18-2017, 06:09 PM
Home Theater Lover
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 11,642
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sicoe View Post
Hi All

I was wondering if anyone could help, i am trying to set up my Sim2 C3X Lumis Host that i purchased 2nd hand, i am running into issues trying to get a perfect image, it is just to big, it has a T1 Lens and i have a 100 inch stewart screen, the issue i believe is when i press the info button where it says scan it says it is overscanned which i believe is the issue, trouble is i cannot find in the menu setttings anything that says overscan, so i cant turn this off, i am missing a bunch of options, does anyone know how to help on this. so far i have reset all settings and also tried all 4 different hdmi inputs on the host.

any help would be appriciated.

Regards Simon
What is your throw distance ? The T1 lens is short throw.

Current home theater photos - http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2386514

craigpeer@earthlink.net
Craig Peer is online now  
post #2227 of 2245 Old 01-24-2017, 05:32 AM
yin
Member
 
yin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I own a Sim2 3D-s and also a Lumagen 2041.
I would like too know if it is possible to turn off the Sim2 video processing board and let the Lumagen do the processing?
Were can the processing in the Sim2 be turned off?
I hope someone has an answer
yin is offline  
post #2228 of 2245 Old 02-23-2017, 05:34 AM
Member
 
seanoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
In my experience, image quality was improved when I removed the Lumagen from the chain. The video processing in the Lumis is better. Personally, don't think the difference is small...
seanoo is offline  
post #2229 of 2245 Old 02-23-2017, 12:25 PM
Home Theater Lover
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 11,642
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanoo View Post
In my experience, image quality was improved when I removed the Lumagen from the chain. The video processing in the Lumis is better. Personally, don't think the difference is small...
I had a calibrator tell me the same thing.

Current home theater photos - http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2386514

craigpeer@earthlink.net
Craig Peer is online now  
post #2230 of 2245 Old 02-23-2017, 12:40 PM
Home Theater Lover
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 11,642
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
I sure did love my Lumis - for 6 1/2 years even. But in my opinion, the JVC RS4500 is the new " Lumis ". 4K, laser, bright. The one Blu Ray I always thought looked better on my Lumis Host than on either the Sony VW600 or even the JVC RS600 - Avatar ( and A / B'ing it for forum members, most liked Avatar on the Lumis more ) - looks better on the RS4500. Same price as the Lumis even.

Anyone in Northern CA is more than welcome to come check mine out. Just FYI.
Cain likes this.

Current home theater photos - http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2386514

craigpeer@earthlink.net
Craig Peer is online now  
post #2231 of 2245 Old 02-23-2017, 04:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Armand07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
I had a calibrator tell me the same thing.
Same experience here. That is how good the image processing in a Sim2 is
Armand07 is offline  
post #2232 of 2245 Old 02-23-2017, 06:18 PM
Member
 
seanoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I ran the X9500/RS620 here alongside my Lumis 3D-S for two weeks and I'm so impressed by just how far JVC has come. I'm a previous JVC owner. Every new model release, I'd read about how good they were and I'd go and have a demo only to feel that they were great but still a fair way behind the Lumis for all but low APL contrast.

But the difference in most areas has narrowed very significantly. Contrast at low APL (otherwise no real world difference) is fantastic. JVC have created the best performance/$ ratio in history here in my humble opinion. This is a fantastic projector.

Having said that, now that my Lumis is gone I miss it. The PQ in all but low APL is still a step above in my opinion. Many A - B tests to verify and while the difference was not substantial, I still always went with the Lumis on everything but Low APL. Motion still better on the Lumis by a good margin.

However, when the price point is considered, the JVC is a no brainer. Got to see the new Laser at some point Craig! Just need the price to drop ( a lot)
Craig Peer likes this.
seanoo is offline  
post #2233 of 2245 Old 02-25-2017, 06:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,948
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
I sure did love my Lumis - for 6 1/2 years even. But in my opinion, the JVC RS4500 is the new " Lumis ". 4K, laser, bright. The one Blu Ray I always thought looked better on my Lumis Host than on either the Sony VW600 or even the JVC RS600 - Avatar ( and A / B'ing it for forum members, most liked Avatar on the Lumis more ) - looks better on the RS4500. Same price as the Lumis even.

Anyone in Northern CA is more than welcome to come check mine out. Just FYI.
Wow, really?? I'm surprised, better than your Lumis? I'll look into this projector. I've always liked DILA projectors, and the idea of not replacing lamps is attractive.

Last edited by Cain; 02-25-2017 at 06:14 AM.
Cain is offline  
post #2234 of 2245 Old 02-27-2017, 08:37 AM
Home Theater Lover
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 11,642
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
Wow, really?? I'm surprised, better than your Lumis? I'll look into this projector. I've always liked DILA projectors, and the idea of not replacing lamps is attractive.
I had a friend over this weekend that still has a Lumis, and he wanted to see what Avatar looked like on my RS4500. He had to admit that it looked pretty damn good. I think the opening spaceship in space scenes approaching Pandora are the best I have ever seen on any projector. I'm very pleased so far - and pleased to be done with lamps - finally!
Cain likes this.

Current home theater photos - http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2386514

craigpeer@earthlink.net
Craig Peer is online now  
post #2235 of 2245 Old 02-27-2017, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,948
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
I had a friend over this weekend that still has a Lumis, and he wanted to see what Avatar looked like on my RS4500. He had to admit that it looked pretty damn good. I think the opening spaceship in space scenes approaching Pandora are the best I have ever seen on any projector. I'm very pleased so far - and pleased to be done with lamps - finally!
Quick question please. What is the OSRAM lamp number for the Lumis?? Thx!
Cain is offline  
post #2236 of 2245 Old 02-27-2017, 11:31 AM
Home Theater Lover
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 11,642
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
Quick question please. What is the OSRAM lamp number for the Lumis?? Thx!
It used to be the OSRAM P-VIP 280/1.0 E20.6. They may have changed the numbers recently I believe.

I'm so glad to be done with lamps !

Current home theater photos - http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2386514

craigpeer@earthlink.net
Craig Peer is online now  
post #2237 of 2245 Old 02-27-2017, 03:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 25,663
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1598 Post(s)
Liked: 927
What is a used LUMIS HOST going for these days?

Goodbye to a great audio and video genius and writer... JOHN GANNON. I enjoyed your friendship, wit and a nice long run we took around Indianapolis at CEDIA years back... and for buying my Runco 980 Ultra years back... you saved my ass! Rest in peace.
thebland is online now  
post #2238 of 2245 Old 02-28-2017, 04:14 PM
Home Theater Lover
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 11,642
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
What is a used LUMIS HOST going for these days?
$ 5K - $5500.00 maybe ?
thebland likes this.

Current home theater photos - http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2386514

craigpeer@earthlink.net
Craig Peer is online now  
post #2239 of 2245 Old 03-12-2017, 11:22 AM
Member
 
xrayyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reading this thread with interest. I too have a Sim2 C3X Lumis HOST (since 2009), and have been waiting patiently for Sim2 to release a true 4k 3 chip DLP HDR projector, hopefully in the 50-60k range. Seems like the wait has been awfully long ...

The JVC does seem tempting (haven't seen it in person) but it's big and heavy. Won't fit in my hush box by itself let alone with an Isco lens.

Also, like some of you here, removed my Lumagen long ago and haven't looked back.
xrayyou is offline  
post #2240 of 2245 Old 03-13-2017, 08:09 PM
Member
 
seanoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
Quick question please. What is the OSRAM lamp number for the Lumis?? Thx!
I still have a spare Osram Lamp that I didn't sell with my 3D-S. Kept it because I'm not confident that I'll stick with the JVC. Happy to sell it to you as I can pick up another one if I do return to the Lumis. PM me if interested. Thanks
seanoo is offline  
post #2241 of 2245 Old 03-14-2017, 12:24 PM
Home Theater Lover
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 11,642
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayyou View Post
Reading this thread with interest. I too have a Sim2 C3X Lumis HOST (since 2009), and have been waiting patiently for Sim2 to release a true 4k 3 chip DLP HDR projector, hopefully in the 50-60k range. Seems like the wait has been awfully long ...

The JVC does seem tempting (haven't seen it in person) but it's big and heavy. Won't fit in my hush box by itself let alone with an Isco lens.

Also, like some of you here, removed my Lumagen long ago and haven't looked back.
Yes, it is a big projector ! Luckily my hush box is a closet !


Current home theater photos - http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2386514

craigpeer@earthlink.net
Craig Peer is online now  
post #2242 of 2245 Old 04-16-2017, 08:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,948
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 186
It's getting pretty lonely in here for us Lumis Lovers....

I'm getting ready to do my first bulb change on my Lumis, in a few minutes.

(Craig I must say I envy you laser folks.)
Cain is offline  
post #2243 of 2245 Old 04-16-2017, 11:43 PM
yin
Member
 
yin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
From one day to the next day my Lumi 3D- s suddenly d?s not give out enough light (1250hrs)
when I change the output from 230, 260, 270 not change can be n?tiges.
I also seems to me that the Iris Is very small than it was totale open.
My question is d?s the bulb have to be changed Or is there something wrong with the Iris?
Can someone here tell me what the problem is And what I should do
Thanks
yin is offline  
post #2244 of 2245 Old 04-17-2017, 09:10 AM
Home Theater Lover
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 11,642
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by yin View Post
From one day to the next day my Lumi 3D- s suddenly d?s not give out enough light (1250hrs)
when I change the output from 230, 260, 270 not change can be n?tiges.
I also seems to me that the Iris Is very small than it was totale open.
My question is d?s the bulb have to be changed Or is there something wrong with the Iris?
Can someone here tell me what the problem is And what I should do
Thanks
Call Sim2 http://www.sim2usa.com/home/us/conta...adquarters_usa

Current home theater photos - http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2386514

craigpeer@earthlink.net
Craig Peer is online now  
post #2245 of 2245 Old 04-17-2017, 09:36 AM
Home Theater Lover
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 11,642
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
It's getting pretty lonely in here for us Lumis Lovers....

I'm getting ready to do my first bulb change on my Lumis, in a few minutes.

(Craig I must say I envy you laser folks.)
Lamp changes on the Lumis are easy! That said, I went through several over the 6 1/2 or 7 years I had mine, so I'm glad to finally have a laser projector !
Cain likes this.

Current home theater photos - http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2386514

craigpeer@earthlink.net
Craig Peer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off