Playing DVD's on Barco DP-1500 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-12-2009, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
7horns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This question will seem very n00bish, because, well, I'm a n00b.

I'm part of an organization that collects independent movies from around the world and shows them around Beijing. We're fairly new, and we've been learning the technical details involved in our hobby as we go. Up to now, that's been DVD's or AVI's run off our laptops to small home projectors in bars or very small theaters; which means that our expertise goes DVD->tray->VGA out->watch.

But we've just been smacked with an opportunity to fill a theater...if we can figure out the equipment. We have DVD's and laptops, and we need to play them on a Barco DP-1500.

Here's what I've been able to figure out in my research:
1) We need a DVI-D cable, or an HDMI->DVI-D adapter.
2) We might need to convert the video to JPEG 2000 (this is what my friend's friend tells me, don't know if he knows what he's talking about). If this is true, what software we'll need to do this, and how specifically to go about this, I don't know.
3) We might need to look into getting a DVD player. This being China, there are 500 brands on the market and none of them are the familiar North American/European ones, so if we take that route we'll need to know specifically what features to look for.

Any help is appreciated, and if you're in Beijing, beers are on offer if you can help me figure this out!
7horns is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-12-2009, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dizzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 5,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
the DP 1500 has an external switcher/input box for it that has all the different ones. that is choice number 1.

HDMI-DVD may not work due to the fact that HDMI may have ancryption on it. your best bet is a scaler that has a DVI output.

other than that, get the adaptor and find a few dvd players (oh my goodness... where ever will you find one) and see if it works.

Proud Daddy to Anastasia and Christopher.
Born October 26 2005.

Ob was the delivery doc.

Since i cannot rant on a soapbox in the town square...
http://commonsensehasdied.blogspot.com/
Dizzman is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-12-2009, 05:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: everywhere
Posts: 12,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Get and hd sdi modded dvd player, someone here may know a cheap one. That is the best way.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 03-20-2009, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Why not just plug the laptops into the Barco and set the resolution to the Barco's 2048 x 1080 native resolution?

If we're solely talking dvds here, find yourself an Immersive Holo3Dgraph card on the used market and install it into an XP based pc. It will give you 480i capture via component or SDI. Plug a dvd player into the H3D card and set the pc video output to the Barco's native 2048 x 1080 resolution.
Tedd is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-20-2009, 07:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7horns View Post

2) We might need to convert the video to JPEG 2000 (this is what my friend's friend tells me, don't know if he knows what he's talking about). If this is true, what software we'll need to do this, and how specifically to go about this, I don't know.

You can use Qube Master express to convert JPEG and BMP images; Flash animations; and AVI and Quicktime movies into standards compliant DCPs in DCI JPEG2000 format.
http://www.qubecinema.com/qmx/default.htm















.
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-20-2009, 06:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: everywhere
Posts: 12,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Your friend is WRONG.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-01-2009, 08:54 AM
Newbie
 
neurainbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you solved the problem?
I have a familliar problem.
neurainbow is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off