Titan 1080P 3D Dual Ultra Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2010, 06:59 AM - Thread Starter
LJG
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 142
The question that remains unanswered for 3D sources such as Directv/Comcast/cablevision and Bluray is whether the connection to input 8(3D input) requires just a Main Dual DVI link to the main input or Dual Twin DVI inputs to Main and Sub Inputs on Input 8.

This is really a very simple question is Twin DVI (2 dvi cables main and sub)required on the Titan 3D
LJG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-24-2010, 08:51 AM
PRETERNATURAL IMMERSOPHIL
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA/EUROPE
Posts: 16,824
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1674 Post(s)
Liked: 918
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
I think they have to go to the dual link twin 3D board as two separate signals. Otherwise a Titan could do 3D.

That is why I keep on saying the dual hdsdi to dvi converters connected to the dimension 3-D would solve the problem, except the hdcp on bd3D.

For the bd3d to work over hdsdi you will nedd a cyberlink htpc like solution.

Sincerely, GC*
rAVe Best ATMOS DEMO CEDIA 2016. HOARDS AWARDS, ACCOLADES, 1ST ART CREDS.,WLD. RECORDS, & HI PERFORMANCE 16-24-32-48 CH. MIDI-PLF CINEMAS WW. - CUSTODIAN HIGH END IMMERSIVE CINEMAS TO SMPTE & ADV. IMAGING SOC. HELP Combat Channel Insufficiency with Altitude 48!*GC = GANGSTA C. genus: cineramus maximus. GC Twitter (Now staging Humanitarian Relief Aide to Great Bel-Air Circuit B-chain & 6P/HDR Projection Famine of 2017)
CINERAMAX is online now  
Old 03-24-2010, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG View Post

The question that remains unanswered for 3D sources such as Directv/Comcast/cablevision and Bluray is whether the connection to input 8(3D input) requires just a Main Dual DVI link to the main input or Dual Twin DVI inputs to Main and Sub Inputs on Input 8.

This is really a very simple question is Twin DVI (2 dvi cables main and sub)required on the Titan 3D

SO is an HDMI basically the equivalent of a Dual Link DVI or Single Link. If only one cable is required, can just an HDMI to DVI cable be used or would that to require a converter.
ccool96 is online now  
 
Old 03-24-2010, 09:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
I was told that if i wanted to use a 3D PC, i would only have to use one Dual Link DVI for 120HZ to the main input and not use the sub input.

That would make me think it can do whatever necessary to do 3D over a single cable. The Twin would be for extended color.

 

0049_0001.pdf 16.630859375k . file

 

0050_0001.pdf 23.060546875k . file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 0050_0001.pdf (23.1 KB, 34 views)
File Type: pdf 0049_0001.pdf (16.6 KB, 32 views)
ccool96 is online now  
Old 03-24-2010, 09:37 AM
PRETERNATURAL IMMERSOPHIL
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA/EUROPE
Posts: 16,824
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1674 Post(s)
Liked: 918
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
I stand corrected, but you still need a box like the dimension 3d to manage directv, cable, ps3, and bd3d. The smarts to do these conversions is available on the panasonic and samsung sets but none in our projectors.

Sincerely, GC*
rAVe Best ATMOS DEMO CEDIA 2016. HOARDS AWARDS, ACCOLADES, 1ST ART CREDS.,WLD. RECORDS, & HI PERFORMANCE 16-24-32-48 CH. MIDI-PLF CINEMAS WW. - CUSTODIAN HIGH END IMMERSIVE CINEMAS TO SMPTE & ADV. IMAGING SOC. HELP Combat Channel Insufficiency with Altitude 48!*GC = GANGSTA C. genus: cineramus maximus. GC Twitter (Now staging Humanitarian Relief Aide to Great Bel-Air Circuit B-chain & 6P/HDR Projection Famine of 2017)
CINERAMAX is online now  
Old 03-24-2010, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post

I stand corrected, but you still need a box like the dimension 3d to manage directv, cable, ps3, and bd3d. The smarts to do these conversions is available on the panasonic and samsung sets but none in our projectors.

Peter, Not to question you in anyway, I look to you as the ALL-KNOWING GOD, lol, but does this quote below from the Titan literature mean it can do some processing for certain items?

Dual Flash Processing (DFP) - Enables distribution of 3D content via 60 Hz formats by providing the option to frame-double the signal within the projector. When this option is selected, the input signal, having been processed and re-sized to map to the native resolution of the projector, will also be frame-doubled to 120 Hz, and the doubled frames interleaved. This produces imagery with the low flicker characteristics of a native 120 Hz source, but without the infrastructure costs associated with distributing and switching ultra-high bandwidth signals.
ccool96 is online now  
Old 03-24-2010, 11:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Found this article interesting. Specifically how to plan your wiring for future "3D" technology. Specifically for DP Titan projectors.

http://www.ravepubs.com/index.php?op...rial&Itemid=91
ccool96 is online now  
Old 03-24-2010, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
LJG
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 142
I am still not convinced 1 cable to input 8 main will work.

Here is another thought, HTPC with NVidia 295 card and dual DVI output, and then add cable card and you might be good to go. Add bluray 3D when available
LJG is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
LJG
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 142
I am still wondering if this http://www.hdtvmagazine.com/news/201...n_the_home.php will work with just a HDMI to DVI Dual single cable into Input 8 Main
LJG is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 04:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG View Post

I am still wondering if this http://www.hdtvmagazine.com/news/201...n_the_home.php will work with just a HDMI to DVI Dual single cable into Input 8 Main

I spoke to one of the head Application Technicians at DPI today. He did confirm a few things.

1st - A single Dual-Link DVI into Input 8 Main is all that is required for 3D. Infact that is exactly what they use with their 40K dimension server

2nd - That due to the existing hardware from cable and directv being upgraded to have 3D content thru a firmware upgrade, that this very possibly will work with just a standard DVI to HDMI cable used today. Due to the fact that those devices will output a 60Hz signal that the projector would upconvert to 120HZ and interweave the left and right frames.

3rd - That i should not be concerned that one way or another it will be compatible with 3D blu-ray HDMI 1.4 spec

4th - That they believe that the communication between the source, IE Blu-ray, and the projector will work thru the DVI just as it would thru the HDMI, by communicating what it is capable of displaying and will send that info back to the blu-ray.

Hopefully everything i have been told is correct.
ccool96 is online now  
Old 03-26-2010, 04:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Its a BOY!!!

Weighing in at approx 75lbs and approx 35" long

I could not wait for it any longer. So yesterday I drove from Panama City to Atlanta and back the same day to pick it up from Digital Projection.

Just starting to get it setup but he has made it into his crib.






ccool96 is online now  
Old 03-26-2010, 05:38 PM
Senior Member
 
taker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Federal Way
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
can you tell me what Lens model did you get with it
taker is offline  
Old 03-26-2010, 08:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by taker View Post

can you tell me what Lens model did you get with it

It is the High Contrast 1.87 to 2.56 throw.
ccool96 is online now  
Old 03-27-2010, 01:37 AM
PRETERNATURAL IMMERSOPHIL
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA/EUROPE
Posts: 16,824
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1674 Post(s)
Liked: 918
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
Congrats CC, that is a very good lens BTW.

Sincerely, GC*
rAVe Best ATMOS DEMO CEDIA 2016. HOARDS AWARDS, ACCOLADES, 1ST ART CREDS.,WLD. RECORDS, & HI PERFORMANCE 16-24-32-48 CH. MIDI-PLF CINEMAS WW. - CUSTODIAN HIGH END IMMERSIVE CINEMAS TO SMPTE & ADV. IMAGING SOC. HELP Combat Channel Insufficiency with Altitude 48!*GC = GANGSTA C. genus: cineramus maximus. GC Twitter (Now staging Humanitarian Relief Aide to Great Bel-Air Circuit B-chain & 6P/HDR Projection Famine of 2017)
CINERAMAX is online now  
Old 03-27-2010, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
LJG
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 142
CC nice, so what configuration of lumen and contrast did you opt for?

The outside body is exactly identical to my Titan 1080P 3D Dual Ultra Contrast

What 3D source/s will you be connecting?
LJG is offline  
Old 03-27-2010, 06:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG View Post

CC nice, so what configuration of lumen and contrast did you opt for?

The outside body is exactly identical to my Titan 1080P 3D Dual Ultra Contrast

What 3D source/s will you be connecting?

LJG,

5000 Lumens / 5000:1 Contrast

I think the Titan Ref 3D and the Dual Ultra Contrast 3D are basically the same if not identical.

I am so frustrated with this 3D stuff already. That didnt take long.

I am working on setting up a PC for 3D gaming. Went and bought an Nvidia graphic card that is 3D capable. And thats just about as far as I can get it.

I have tried feeding the projector 1 - dual link dvi and 2 - single link dvi and neither seems to work atleast with Nvidia 3D driver.

It recognizes that the projector can do 1920 X 1080 @ 120hz but when you put it in that mode the picture looks like crap. It is full height but half the width of the screen and it is centered. I think the card is trying to ouput a checkerboard format for DLP tvs and not putting it into full 120hz like the LCD flat panels they support.

I admit i have never been a PC gamer but i am pretty computer savy, but i am just about stumped. Guess ill continue to read thru forums and then will call DP on monday and see what graphic card that is compatible or what they have used.
ccool96 is online now  
Old 03-27-2010, 07:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Well finally after hours of frustration, im one step closer.

I had a bad dual-link dvi cable. Atleast now the computer will properly display 1920x1080 @ 120hz
ccool96 is online now  
Old 03-27-2010, 09:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Venice, Florida, USA
Posts: 22,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
This isn`t an easy sport anymore.

How did you discover what the problem was? Did you just try another dual-link DVI cable?
mark haflich is offline  
Old 03-27-2010, 10:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

This isn`t an easy sport anymore.

How did you discover what the problem was? Did you just try another dual-link DVI cable?

Yes. After about 3 hours of frustration I decided that the DVI cable must be bad. Run up to BB and bought a new one and now I get a perfect picture at 120Hz.

Im trying to figure out if my projector will work with Nvidia 3D Vision kit. I bought an Nvidia graphics card but using the 3D Vision software it doesnt detect my display as a compatible model. So im not sure.
ccool96 is online now  
Old 03-28-2010, 06:43 AM - Thread Starter
LJG
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Projector should work fine with the 3D vision software
LJG is offline  
Old 03-28-2010, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 17,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 56
CC congrats on your new boy. Only 6 more months to go then its major 3D roll out time at Cedia.
Alan Gouger is offline  
Old 03-28-2010, 09:30 AM - Thread Starter
LJG
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post

LJG,

5000 Lumens / 5000:1 Contrast

I think the Titan Ref 3D and the Dual Ultra Contrast 3D are basically the same if not identical.

Close but not identical the specs for the Titan 1080P 3D Dual Ultra Contrast are 4500 lumen, 5500:1 contrast.

Do you have comcast or like me Directv?
LJG is offline  
Old 03-28-2010, 10:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG View Post

Projector should work fine with the 3D vision software

It doesnt look like it will. It doesnt detect my display as a supported model. I think it has to be one of a few specific "3D Vision Ready" models even though my display meets the required specs. The computer gets the edid info and it doesnt recognize it.

I have posted on Nvidia forums but havnt heard back.
ccool96 is online now  
Old 03-28-2010, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG View Post

Close but not identical the specs for the Titan 1080P 3D Dual Ultra Contrast are 4500 lumen, 5500:1 contrast.

Do you have comcast or like me Directv?

I have Directv. I use to have Comcast. If they start with 3D ill probably pick it back up.

When i talked to the Application Tech on friday about receiving 3D from Directv, he said he thought it would probably be connected using a standard HDMI to DVI cable into the standard (3 -DVI) input. Not the (8 - DVI). Then would activate 3D on Input 3.

But that was speculation.
ccool96 is online now  
Old 03-28-2010, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Peter,

I thought I saw a picture you had posted showing 3D gaming setup on your Barco projector at your condo?

What where you using for that?
ccool96 is online now  
Old 03-28-2010, 04:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
donaldk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,782
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Tip on using nvida 3d with non listed projectors, in this case an optoa hd66, from the under 3k forum, is to select generic display crt and that should be the only one listed at 120hz. For video one need to flip the computer output or the glasses, not for games though, or was it the otherway round, apparently a bug in the nvida software.
donaldk is offline  
Old 03-28-2010, 05:11 PM
PRETERNATURAL IMMERSOPHIL
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA/EUROPE
Posts: 16,824
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1674 Post(s)
Liked: 918
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post

Peter,

I thought I saw a picture you had posted showing 3D gaming setup on your Barco projector at your condo?

What where you using for that?

That was 2D, I never got around to using my 285 card for 3-D. The Barco series 1 does not do 120fps, it does 144 fps. The 2 does and also at 180fps.

sorry...

Sincerely, GC*
rAVe Best ATMOS DEMO CEDIA 2016. HOARDS AWARDS, ACCOLADES, 1ST ART CREDS.,WLD. RECORDS, & HI PERFORMANCE 16-24-32-48 CH. MIDI-PLF CINEMAS WW. - CUSTODIAN HIGH END IMMERSIVE CINEMAS TO SMPTE & ADV. IMAGING SOC. HELP Combat Channel Insufficiency with Altitude 48!*GC = GANGSTA C. genus: cineramus maximus. GC Twitter (Now staging Humanitarian Relief Aide to Great Bel-Air Circuit B-chain & 6P/HDR Projection Famine of 2017)
CINERAMAX is online now  
Old 03-28-2010, 06:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post

That was 2D, I never got around to using my 285 card for 3-D. The Barco series 1 does not do 120fps, it does 144 fps. The 2 does and also at 180fps.

sorry...

Do you know if that Doremi 3D format converter is available yet and where it can be bought from? PM me a price if you know!

Thanks!
ccool96 is online now  
Old 03-28-2010, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Just realized today that DirecTv allows multi-room access of DVR recordings.

I can access any recorded program on my HD-DVR on any other HD-DVR in the house. And it streams instantly including HD recordings.

That is the best upgrade to DirecTV in a long while! Now just give me 3D!
ccool96 is online now  
Old 03-28-2010, 06:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hd_newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Metro DC
Posts: 2,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post

Just realized today that DirecTv allows multi-room access of DVR recordings.

I can access any recorded program on my HD-DVR on any other HD-DVR in the house. And it streams instantly including HD recordings.

That is the best upgrade to DirecTV in a long while! Now just give me 3D!

What other projectors did you consider before settling on this one? Do you care to share your thought process?
hd_newbie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off