McIntosh MX150 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 260 Old 08-04-2009, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
King Titus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Internet
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any information on the new MX150. I know its pricey.
The way technology moves so fast I am a little hesitant on purchase.
Unlike speakers or amps, even my CD players, which seem to have a longer shelf life, at my home.

I may have to hide a Denon control center in my McIntosh system.

Will it do anything special for its high (to me) cost?

Thanks.

Honest Graft.
"I saw my opportunities, and took them"!
King Titus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 260 Old 08-04-2009, 04:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,486
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Titus View Post

Any information on the new MX150. I know its pricey.
The way technology moves so fast I am a little hesitant on purchase.
Unlike speakers or amps, even my CD players, which seem to have a longer shelf life, at my home.

I may have to hide a Denon control center in my McIntosh system.

Will it do anything special for its high (to me) cost?

Thanks.

Wait until next month. They showed a prototype at CES but may have a real unit sample at CEDIA.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #3 of 260 Old 08-06-2009, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
King Titus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Internet
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Wait until next month. They showed a prototype at CES but may have a real unit sample at CEDIA.

Does anyone know if Room Perfect (RP) is for 2 channel or 5.1?
Because of the needed R&D money, I would think it will be a tweaked up Denon.
But we will see...
I heard cost is circa 12k, but do not know for sure.

Cheers

Honest Graft.
"I saw my opportunities, and took them"!
King Titus is offline  
post #4 of 260 Old 08-06-2009, 09:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,486
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Titus View Post

Does anyo one know if Room Perfect (RP) is for 2 channel or 5.1?

Are you kidding? Do you think they would not do it for all?

Quote:


I heard cost is circa 12k, but do not know for sure.

That's what they said in January.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #5 of 260 Old 08-06-2009, 03:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
King Titus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Internet
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
[quote=Kal Rubinson;16953920]Are you kidding? Do you think they would not do it for all?

No, I do think they would do Multi
McIntosh does surprise me sometimes, often, though.

The HDMI wait, was one thing.
My volume knob rolling across the floor was another...
My MAC 1700 Receiver working for 35 years, was the biggest.

The new MCD500 does not decode HDCD and plays SACD in Stereo not Multi.
Which made me wonder about their room set up features, of the MX150.
Looking forward to seeing it, and its options!

Honest Graft.
"I saw my opportunities, and took them"!
King Titus is offline  
post #6 of 260 Old 08-06-2009, 04:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,775
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 81
They wont be on the main floor, are they showing elsewhere?
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #7 of 260 Old 08-06-2009, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 47
From speaking with them, the RoomPerfect was for 2 channel but Mcintosh was working on having 4 RoomPerfect chips in the processor for 5.1 and 7.1.

Don't jump down my throat about it though, this is what I heard.
ifor is offline  
post #8 of 260 Old 08-06-2009, 05:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,486
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifor View Post

From speaking with them, the RoomPerfect was for 2 channel but Mcintosh was working on having 4 RoomPerfect chips in the processor for 5.1 and 7.1.

Don't jump down my throat about it though, this is what I heard.

I got the same impression. After all, having it on the minority of channels (even if they are the most important) is silly.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #9 of 260 Old 08-07-2009, 01:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
King Titus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Internet
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifor View Post

From speaking with them, the RoomPerfect was for 2 channel but Mcintosh was working on having 4 RoomPerfect chips in the processor for 5.1 and 7.1.

Don't jump down my throat about it though, this is what I heard.

Room correction is for all the channels.
(Room Perfect is for 7.2 channels)

Honest Graft.
"I saw my opportunities, and took them"!
King Titus is offline  
post #10 of 260 Old 08-20-2009, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
King Titus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Internet
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Now release date is backed up to November....

Honest Graft.
"I saw my opportunities, and took them"!
King Titus is offline  
post #11 of 260 Old 08-20-2009, 04:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,486
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 141
As of Tuesday:
LL

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #12 of 260 Old 09-14-2009, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
scanido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto Suburbs
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Any latest word on this processor now that CEDIA is here?

Here's to hoping the MSRP is <10K.

See Profile
scanido is offline  
post #13 of 260 Old 09-14-2009, 06:08 PM
Newbie
 
vidgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=King Titus;16956218]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Are you kidding? Do you think they would not do it for all?

...

The HDMI wait, was one thing.
My volume knob rolling across the floor was another...
My MAC 1700 Receiver working for 35 years, was the biggest.

I'm curious about what "The HDMI wait, was one thing".

Do you mean it takes a while to switch inputs when requested? A relative of mine has a Denon 5308CI and it seems to take about 10 seconds to switch among inputs (HDMI and non-HDMI). It is in "auto scaling", i.e., scale-up if necessary, mode.

Any idea whether I'd be looking at similar delays with the MXS150?

Thanks.
vidgood is offline  
post #14 of 260 Old 09-15-2009, 11:40 AM
Member
 
Iluvjerky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the HDMI wait comment was refering to the fact Mcintosh lovers had to wait so bloody long for them to release a A/V Controller that supported HDMI.
Iluvjerky is offline  
post #15 of 260 Old 10-30-2009, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Talk2Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Marin,CA./ Burton, OH
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
[quote=King Titus;16956218]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Are you kidding? Do you think they would not do it for all?

No, I do think they would do Multi
McIntosh does surprise me sometimes, often, though.

The HDMI wait, was one thing.
My volume knob rolling across the floor was another...
My MAC 1700 Receiver working for 35 years, was the biggest.

The new MCD500 does not decode HDCD and plays SACD in Stereo not Multi.
Which made me wonder about their room set up features, of the MX150.
Looking forward to seeing it, and its options!

That's OK. I would rather have SACD than HDCD.
Talk2Me is offline  
post #16 of 260 Old 10-30-2009, 02:22 PM
Member
 
xj bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Westmisnter
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just attended a Mac demo of their 2ch correction software. I asked the rep if they were going to implement this tech into the MX-150, and he said absolutely. I think this is part of the reason for the delay on that unit though.

Cheers!
xj bandit is offline  
post #17 of 260 Old 10-31-2009, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
King Titus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Internet
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
[quote=Talk2Me;17446834]
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Titus View Post


That's OK. I would rather have SACD than HDCD.

Agreed.
SACD with a multi channel option, is nice too.

Honest Graft.
"I saw my opportunities, and took them"!
King Titus is offline  
post #18 of 260 Old 11-01-2009, 09:05 AM
Moderator
 
Mike C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
When inputs are switched on my 5308 it is almost instant. The latency is in the milliseconds.

[quote=vidgood;17179991]
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Titus View Post


I'm curious about what "The HDMI wait, was one thing".

Do you mean it takes a while to switch inputs when requested? A relative of mine has a Denon 5308CI and it seems to take about 10 seconds to switch among inputs (HDMI and non-HDMI). It is in "auto scaling", i.e., scale-up if necessary, mode.

Any idea whether I'd be looking at similar delays with the MXS150?

Thanks.


The cheese fell off my cracker a long time ago...
Mike C is offline  
post #19 of 260 Old 01-18-2010, 09:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Ebanks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Winter Park, CO
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have to bump this back up as I heard these were shipping now. Has anyone had a chance to play with one yet?

I am looking for a new pre/pro but dropping this kind of money without hearing it first is a tough pill to swallow. I am primarily really interested to hear how people like the "room perfect" in comparison to the other solutions out like ARC and Audyssey.
Ebanks is offline  
post #20 of 260 Old 01-20-2010, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 47
They are in pre-production. If everything goes well and is tested well, then they start production which should start next week.
ifor is offline  
post #21 of 260 Old 01-20-2010, 11:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Talk2Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Marin,CA./ Burton, OH
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifor View Post

They are in pre-production. If everything goes well and is tested well, then they start production which should start next week.

If it sounds anything like my new MCD500, they are headed in the right direction, sound wise.
Talk2Me is offline  
post #22 of 260 Old 01-22-2010, 11:52 AM
Member
 
jrs91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm interested in whether roomperfect works for the second zone. Will be a Shame if it doesn't. 7.1+zone b is a lot of channels to do RC on but it is 12k. What do the other highend prepros do for zone b?
jrs91 is offline  
post #23 of 260 Old 01-24-2010, 02:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 47
None. Probably won't be on this one as well.

2nd zone usually means background music and therefore doesn't need rc.
ifor is offline  
post #24 of 260 Old 01-25-2010, 10:53 AM
Member
 
Iluvjerky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know the MX150's Roomperfect works on all 12 channels.. So you could have 7.1 plus an additional 4 subs for a 7.5 (or any configuration) system independantly Roomperfected working in a single room application.. But I do not know and somehow doubt you can have 2 seperate zones? however maybe you can?
Iluvjerky is offline  
post #25 of 260 Old 02-14-2010, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Ebanks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Winter Park, CO
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone heard one yet? Are they finally shipping?
Ebanks is offline  
post #26 of 260 Old 02-15-2010, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Clinton,MS
Posts: 6,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 25
April.

Never become so involved with something that it blinds you.
Bulldogger is offline  
post #27 of 260 Old 02-19-2010, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Ebanks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Winter Park, CO
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogger View Post

April.

These release dates are getting frustrating. I am actually in a position now where I literally NEED to buy a balanced processor as I have a ground loop issue. I would like to move forward with this piece, but don't know that I can wait as listening to my system with this problem is highly aggravating.
Ebanks is offline  
post #28 of 260 Old 02-19-2010, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 7,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebanks View Post

Anyone heard one yet? Are they finally shipping?

According to my dealer, the first few were shipped today. Still, I'd be prepared to wait for one.

__________________________________________

When life gives you limes, make margaritas
Waboman is online now  
post #29 of 260 Old 02-22-2010, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Just recieved our unit today.
ifor is offline  
post #30 of 260 Old 02-23-2010, 01:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
scanido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto Suburbs
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifor View Post

Just recieved our unit today.

Great! can you provide a preliminary review and how it compares to some of your other Processors you've had. Oh, and dont forget to post some pics!

See Profile
scanido is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off