ADA Mach 4......WOW!!!! - Page 72 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2131 of 2136 Old 07-31-2014, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
cannga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sunny Southern Cal
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
The 5.1 mix on the Blu-ray of Gravity was PCM in the theatres, so the studio could pick any lossless packing technology for the home video release.
Thanks for the explanation. Did I understand correctly we are talking about 3 different mixes?
1. Commercial theater Atmos
2. Commercial theater PCM 5.1
3. Blu-ray DTS 5.1

Curious about number 2: It is neither Dolby or DTS, since there is no need to use either of those lossless packing technologies for commercial theater systems? It's just called PCM 5.1?

Regards, Can
Theta: Stunning 3D soundstage, sublime details, unlimited dynamics and low end response - the processor for music lovers. My system & CBIII HD review & setup help - Post # 3913 & 3914
Give vinyl and tube gears a try - the sound from heaven :-).
cannga is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2132 of 2136 Old 07-31-2014, 04:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,834
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1384 Post(s)
Liked: 1004
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannga View Post
Did I understand correctly we are talking about 3 different mixes?
1. Commercial theater Atmos
2. Commercial theater PCM 5.1
3. Blu-ray DTS 5.1
Number 2 and 3 are the same mix (2 is uncompressed, 3 is losslessly packed to take up less room on the Blu-ray). Like if you ripped a CD to FLAC. It's not a different mix, the data is just packed more efficiently to take up less space on your hard drive.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannga View Post
Curious about number 2: It is neither Dolby or DTS, since there is no need to use either of those lossless packing technologies for commercial theater systems? It's just called PCM 5.1?
Correct, commercial cinema hard drives don't have the space restrictions that Blu-ray discs do, so they don't need compression or packing to save storage space. The uncompressed PCM tracks are typically stored as .wav files.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #2133 of 2136 Old 08-09-2014, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
cannga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sunny Southern Cal
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
Number 2 and 3 are the same mix (2 is uncompressed, 3 is losslessly packed to take up less room on the Blu-ray). Like if you ripped a CD to FLAC. It's not a different mix, the data is just packed more efficiently to take up less space on your hard drive. Correct, commercial cinema hard drives don't have the space restrictions that Blu-ray discs do, so they don't need compression or packing to save storage space. The uncompressed PCM tracks are typically stored as .wav files.


Thanks Sanjay. Do you happen to know who makes the Atmos decoder preamp/processor for commercial theaters? Just curious.

Regards, Can
Theta: Stunning 3D soundstage, sublime details, unlimited dynamics and low end response - the processor for music lovers. My system & CBIII HD review & setup help - Post # 3913 & 3914
Give vinyl and tube gears a try - the sound from heaven :-).
cannga is online now  
post #2134 of 2136 Old 08-09-2014, 09:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,834
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1384 Post(s)
Liked: 1004
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannga View Post
Do you happen to know who makes the Atmos decoder preamp/processor for commercial theaters?
Dolby: http://www.dolby.com/us/en/professio...cts/cp850.html

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #2135 of 2136 Old 08-09-2014, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 70
What's the range for speaker trim levels on the Cinema Rhapsody? Denon has +/-12dB.
How's the sound in movies if compare to those Japanese brand?
Skylinestar is offline  
post #2136 of 2136 Old 09-02-2014, 07:30 AM
Member
 
NaTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it seems my mode "Direct 2.0" is set to output (for stereo sources) to Left, Right and the Sub.
On my previous ADA, only Stereo engaged the sub and I prefer it this way.
Besides setting the speakers to "none" which effects all modes, is there a way to get "Direct 2.0" to be true its zero?

thanks!
NaTT is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off