ADA Mach 4......WOW!!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2136 Old 11-14-2009, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Mr. Integration's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, Miami and LA
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have purchased an ADA Mach4 for evaluation before specifying for clients. This is an incredible piece of gear.

It has 8 HDMI ins and 2 HDMI outs. It also has the same number of S, Composite and Component. No scaler but most people have a high end scaler.

It decodes all formats and sounds fabulous, but has a few geek features I really liked.

A digital and analog crossover that are both active. This allows someone with large speakers to run them full range and still have the .1 info sent to the sub.

You can configure from any pc as it has a Lan port. It has way too many varibles to list.

It also has a full parametric EQ that is also configured from the PC.

No Remote which means you need an outboard controller

Having had the Lexicon MC12HD replaced by the Integra DHC 9.9 this unit is head and shoulders above either of them. It truly bears consideration by our type of people.

Bravo ADA

*Yes I am an ADA dealer but that does not have bearing on my opinion. I removed the Mach 3 to go to Lexicon

I know it sounds great and looks great.....but can we communicate with it? If not it is useless:)
Mr. Integration is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2136 Old 11-14-2009, 07:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,010
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Full room correction?

I see no scaler as a positive.

Price?

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #3 of 2136 Old 11-14-2009, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JlgLaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I wonder why they passed on balanced outs?


Jim
JlgLaw is offline  
post #4 of 2136 Old 11-14-2009, 09:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,010
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 163
No Balanced? I'm out.

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #5 of 2136 Old 11-14-2009, 01:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,010
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Looks like a balanced version is on the way... Right from the horse's mouth.

http://www.avforums.com/forums/10749949-post19.html

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #6 of 2136 Old 11-14-2009, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Mr. Integration's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, Miami and LA
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jeff their xlr converter works great and this preamp is awesome

I know it sounds great and looks great.....but can we communicate with it? If not it is useless:)
Mr. Integration is offline  
post #7 of 2136 Old 11-14-2009, 09:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanFrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 1,855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
XLR comes standard on the Cinema Reference. I too have used the balanced converter with a Suite 7.1 and then later with the Suite 7.1HD (HDMI, same system). I completely concur regarding these ADA products. One of the better kept secrets of the industry- seriously under-rated.

Dan

Dan Francis
Head of Sales US
C'SEED Entertainment Systems GMBH
www.cseed.tv
df@cseed.tv
DanFrancis is offline  
post #8 of 2136 Old 11-14-2009, 09:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about the ADA and the Audio Control Maestro M3 [Arcam AV888]?

Mike Miles

ICR [ Sales Consulting and Small Part-Time AV shop, very small...  ]

Process Integration, Inc. [ contract sales consultant ]

Eastern Shore of Maryland

mmiles is offline  
post #9 of 2136 Old 11-14-2009, 10:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

Looks like a balanced version is on the way... Right from the horse's mouth.

http://www.avforums.com/forums/10749949-post19.html

Anyone have info. on the ETA of the balanced version? Even from an installers POV, can't understand why companies provide so many composite and s-video inputs -- these take up back panel real estate that could be allocated differently if that's an issue.

Owned some ADA pieces in the past, great stuff.
rblnr is offline  
post #10 of 2136 Old 11-15-2009, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amps have a great rep.

Mike Miles

ICR [ Sales Consulting and Small Part-Time AV shop, very small...  ]

Process Integration, Inc. [ contract sales consultant ]

Eastern Shore of Maryland

mmiles is offline  
post #11 of 2136 Old 11-15-2009, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanFrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 1,855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
No prototype of the Rhap. MIV-B at CEDIA, haven't really heard anything. I think the next big thing on their list is getting the Trinnov units to market (room correction).

Dan

Dan Francis
Head of Sales US
C'SEED Entertainment Systems GMBH
www.cseed.tv
df@cseed.tv
DanFrancis is offline  
post #12 of 2136 Old 11-17-2009, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Read elsewhere that the balanced version is scheduled for Dec release. Any idea if the Trinnov will be an installable module? Am very interested in this unit.
rblnr is offline  
post #13 of 2136 Old 11-17-2009, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rep is calling me tomorrow regarding room correction.

I understand the "Reference Series" has not yet been released in the "HD" [audio codecs] flavor.

There is the Suite 7.1 HD = 5K
Rhap Mark 4 HD = 8K
Refererence HD = 12K when available

Mike Miles

ICR [ Sales Consulting and Small Part-Time AV shop, very small...  ]

Process Integration, Inc. [ contract sales consultant ]

Eastern Shore of Maryland

mmiles is offline  
post #14 of 2136 Old 11-17-2009, 06:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,010
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 163
What is the Trinnoc=v all about and how does it fit with the Mach IV?

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #15 of 2136 Old 11-17-2009, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dunno brother I might know more tomorrow.

Maybe the thread starter can provide some more info.

Mike Miles

ICR [ Sales Consulting and Small Part-Time AV shop, very small...  ]

Process Integration, Inc. [ contract sales consultant ]

Eastern Shore of Maryland

mmiles is offline  
post #16 of 2136 Old 11-17-2009, 11:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanFrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 1,855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Trinnov room correction will initially be a separate rack mountable unit. The new rhapsody has a front mounted USB port for the microphone later the room correction will be built into the preamps- I was told this directly by ADA at cedia. Albert was actually playing with the rack mount prototype between meetings at the show. The suite 7.1 will not have Trinnov built in to keep the 1RU profile it has had for years.

I didn't really get a great look at how the software works, but it sure seems more intuitive than just looking at sweeps or curves per speaker. I did see a screen that showed what looked to be the standard ITU speaker configuration vs actual- that's about all I have on it at the moment. I have a feeling that ADA is about to have a winner on their hands, and that other manufacturers are going to be sweating the little guys from White Plains.

Dan

Dan Francis
Head of Sales US
C'SEED Entertainment Systems GMBH
www.cseed.tv
df@cseed.tv
DanFrancis is offline  
post #17 of 2136 Old 11-18-2009, 05:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,010
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanFrancis View Post

Trinnov room correction will initially be a separate rack mountable unit. The new rhapsody has a front mounted USB port for the microphone later the room correction will be built into the preamps- I was told this directly by ADA at cedia. Albert was actually playing with the rack mount prototype between meetings at the show. The suite 7.1 will not have Trinnov built in to keep the 1RU profile it has had for years.

I didn't really get a great look at how the software works, but it sure seems more intuitive than just looking at sweeps or curves per speaker. I did see a screen that showed what looked to be the standard ITU speaker configuration vs actual- that's about all I have on it at the moment. I have a feeling that ADA is about to have a winner on their hands, and that other manufacturers are going to be sweating the little guys from White Plains.

Dan

How would the programmability, features and modes compare to a Dobly Lake? Is the Lake still the king?

Thanks Dan.

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #18 of 2136 Old 11-18-2009, 05:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any idea of how the separate unit will work with the Rhapsody? There are two HDMI outs on the Rhapsody so it looks like a digital processor loop could be implemented. Or will it simply take the analog outs and redigitize?
rblnr is offline  
post #19 of 2136 Old 11-18-2009, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanFrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 1,855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I believe that it can be configured as an HDMI loop from what I read of the rhapsody specs in the latest price list. There's also the aformentioned dual crossovers (1 analog, 1 digital ) that are always active: analog is for the 7.1 ext input, the digital is for all the other inputs (I mis remembered)

When I get to my laptop I can cut and paste the info.

Dan

Jeff,

I'm not sure what the capapbilities are compared to the Lake, I would imagine that it's similar- the real question is how much processor power they each have in comparisson to each other (Lake= x processors, Trinnov= y processors). Since we're talking about full-range signals whoever has more computing power ultimately has the edge. There's also the advantage of the digital connection vs the analog connection of the Lake (this is a place where Tact currently has an edge over others).

Here's a jpeg of the specs of the Mach 4
LL

Dan Francis
Head of Sales US
C'SEED Entertainment Systems GMBH
www.cseed.tv
df@cseed.tv
DanFrancis is offline  
post #20 of 2136 Old 11-18-2009, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
More here with some purrrdeee pics...

http://www.ada.net/products/ht/cinem...sody_mach4.php

Mike Miles

ICR [ Sales Consulting and Small Part-Time AV shop, very small...  ]

Process Integration, Inc. [ contract sales consultant ]

Eastern Shore of Maryland

mmiles is offline  
post #21 of 2136 Old 11-18-2009, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
ceenhad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Guys,

The new ADA products are indeed fantastic but perhaps I can shed a little light on the subject as well as getting Richard to post some feedback here himself.

My experience with ADA is that the RCA outs have extremely high SNR and output which makes it easy for me to recommend properly made RCA to XLR cables where needed for short runs in a rack. When I do need balanced then the XLRX8 RCA to XLR converter does a stunning job - just look at the SNR specs!

The in built Trinnov in the Rhapsody HD is not yet available and the upgrade path is still TBD as far as I know. Hopefully this will just be a SW upgrade not a HW upgrade. This version will be a more basic implementation of Trinnov than on the standalone units and probably won't have many settings in the PC SW.

The standalone box shown at CEDIA was fully balanced but is designed to be used as analogues in and out with no HDMI loop through. That may change before delivery though as it is still a "future" product.

Having plenty of experience with both Trinnov and Lake I would say that the Trinnov is now showing the better results. The Lake is a pure manual device that can do some amazing things with some one skilled enough to drive it but the processing that the Trinnov can do, especially azimuth and phase related, is pretty amazing IMO.

Neil

Neil Davidson - Visit my facebook page
ceenhad is offline  
post #22 of 2136 Old 11-18-2009, 09:39 AM
Senior Member
 
ceenhad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmiles View Post

Looking at adding this to the aresnal.

The Maestro M3 is said to be the same as the Arcam AV888 [which I have chimed in on various threads with that tidbit from time to time]

I was told the "magic sauce" is the DIVA but requires [or should have shall we say] thier IasysHT analyser for true stroking and tweaking.

Note properly trained dealer or AC themselves will come on site [fee based of course] for final calibration. So it appears they are quite dedicated at what the do.

Comments?

For me the ADA is a no brainer choice over this then. You just need to try the HDMI switching for 30 secs to see that it just works where other devices frankly don't. In particular have a try moving around from various HD codecs on a single input without switching to see how many bugs other units have!

Neil Davidson - Visit my facebook page
ceenhad is offline  
post #23 of 2136 Old 11-18-2009, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ceen,

My bad this was is now a new thread.

Thanks for your input though!


Mike

Mike Miles

ICR [ Sales Consulting and Small Part-Time AV shop, very small...  ]

Process Integration, Inc. [ contract sales consultant ]

Eastern Shore of Maryland

mmiles is offline  
post #24 of 2136 Old 11-18-2009, 09:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
kenh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
why do so many processors come out with only one sub out? My MC12 has left and right sub plus LFE. is there a reason they do this? this is one reason i would never buy one without these features no matter how good it sounded.
kenh is offline  
post #25 of 2136 Old 11-19-2009, 05:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Mr. Integration's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, Miami and LA
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenh View Post

why do so many processors come out with only one sub out? My MC12 has left and right sub plus LFE. is there a reason they do this? this is one reason i would never buy one without these features no matter how good it sounded.

Because all sub is mono even when there is multile outputs they are tied to one point. There is is no stereo seperation to be concerned about. Almost all high end subs now have the master slave relationship available

I know it sounds great and looks great.....but can we communicate with it? If not it is useless:)
Mr. Integration is offline  
post #26 of 2136 Old 11-19-2009, 06:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,010
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Ditto... Put 2 different subs on two different outputs and you lose 6db of extra output if sub output pans let or right. Mono is what you want for low frequencies in a HT in my opinion..

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #27 of 2136 Old 11-19-2009, 12:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,821
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1372 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Integration View Post

Because all sub is mono even when there is multile outputs they are tied to one point.

Not for the sub outputs that Ken was talking about. Bass filtered from all the left channels (front, side, rear) goes to the right sub. Bass filtered from all the right channels goes to the right sub. Centre is split to both subs. LFE is sent its own dedicated sub. No duplication, no mono, not all tied to one point. Both the Denon AVP1 and Lexicon MC-12 allow you to configure their three subwoofer outputs this way.
Quote:


There is is no stereo seperation to be concerned about.

Sure there is. Stereo bass isn't about directionality (since you can't localize low frequencies) but about envelopment, which is aided by uncorrelated signals (stereo separation). http://www.davidgriesinger.com/asa05.pdf

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #28 of 2136 Old 11-19-2009, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the other thread, Trinnov processing won't be internal to the preamp(s) for awhile.

Can't believe I'm still switching out the L/R amp runs from my Onkyo 9.8 and into my CBIII w/Extremes for music. The wait for the ideal processor continues. Trying to remember why I wanted everything in one box in the first place.
rblnr is offline  
post #29 of 2136 Old 11-21-2009, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanFrancis View Post

Trinnov room correction will initially be a separate rack mountable unit. Dan

Any idea of the target time when it'll be available & est. cost?

Trinnov has me very intrigued but I'm not buying a Sherwood AVR to get it; I'm quite happy with my current flagship AVR & 2 ch ext amp. A standalone box is exactly what would interest me, especially if it could take HDMI directly & not need an extra A-D conversion.

ss9001
Steve

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
post #30 of 2136 Old 11-23-2009, 10:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mjaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,474
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 35
The ADA Cinema Rhapsody Mach III was one of the best processors I have had in my system so I will not be surprised if the Mach 4 is a winner.

While not the best for music it is pretty good and it's theater performance was only bested by the Halcro in my system.

I think they would do a lot better if they came out with a premium series with greatly improved cosmetics. I understand they are a custom install friendly company but they are missing out on the crown that likes a pretty face. Maybe they could borrow the V-cut EAD faceplates which would match my PM2000

Still one of the most underrated pre-pro's out there.

"Half the world is looking for Jesus, and the other half is looking for more bass..."
mjaudio is online now  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off