HDMI 1.5: What Do You Think It Will Do? - Page 2 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-10-2011, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ehlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central New Jersey
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
HMDI 1.5 will require an HDMI socket be installed at the base of your skull for true end to end copy protection.

"Nature Abhors a Vacuum Tube" -  J. R. Pierce
ehlarson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2012, 04:58 AM
Senior Member
 
rakosnicek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
To answer this seriously, HDMI needs gigabit networking, not just what they currently have (100mbit).

The reason for this is that HD content streaming requirements over the network can exceed the speed of "regular" (100mbit/sec) ethernet.

Or in other words, HDMI 1.5 needs to support sending 1080p over the network -the current speed of ethernet in HDMI 1.4 cannot.
rakosnicek is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
tjk3030's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The south.
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:


Perhaps it will also transport AC power?

I was hoping to be able to use it with my welder.

This ain't no party, this ain't no disco
tjk3030 is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
joehonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 30
1.5 may fix the ATT U-V 5.1 audio dropouts, or is ATT waiting for 1.6 ?
joehonest is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 10:40 AM
 
amirm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 18,825
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1334 Post(s)
Liked: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakosnicek View Post

To answer this seriously, HDMI needs gigabit networking, not just what they currently have (100mbit).

The reason for this is that HD content streaming requirements over the network can exceed the speed of "regular" (100mbit/sec) ethernet.

Or in other words, HDMI 1.5 needs to support sending 1080p over the network -the current speed of ethernet in HDMI 1.4 cannot.

The bandwidth of Blu-ray is half of the bandwidth of 100 mbit Ethernet so you do not need Gigabit Ethernet to transmit that. Supporting Gigabit Ethernet would require more wire (as spec'ed today) making the cable even thicker. So while I appreciate your sentiments, I don't think it will be a step forward .

I think we should move away completely from these synchronous, uncompressed links to smart interfaces that send *data* to be decoded and decrypted by the target. We take a 20 mbit/sec compressed video and explode it into hundreds of megabits/sec and then wonder why we have connectivity issues across a cable. The whole thing is broken and they keep making it worse by turning its speed higher and higher.
amirm is offline  
Old 05-19-2014, 05:04 PM
Newbie
 
magnusfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
simple 4k support at a least at 60 Hz and hopefully at 120hz
magnusfl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off