Sony Qualia 004.. Bulb questions: Source for Bulb? How to set lamp to hi/low power? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By audvid
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 Old 01-26-2011, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I like my Qualia so much that I am wondering if I should buy an extra bulb..
Currently, the bulb has 1500 hrs.. It was run at low power.. And already, I have one extra bulb..
Therefore there is really no rush.. Just trying to gather info and plan for future..
Is there an alarm notification for bulb replacement? I assume bulb life is not timer based?
What is the source for new bulbs? Hopefully not $3000?
thanks..
EmmaDarknet likes this.
audvid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 01-26-2011, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The projector will give you a warning towards the end of the lamp life.

I think there may be one good source for these lamps on the internet but 2,000 hours is a lot. If it lasts you 2 years you may want to buy newer technology such as LED rather than buy another PE lamp. BTW, when you change the lamp do you intend to recalibrate the projector? That's another expense.
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #3 of 28 Old 01-26-2011, 06:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,420
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Do not buy a bulb with 750 hours or more as the light output drops logarithmically over time. that bulb is worthless.

Call Atlas Bulb. New bulb under $1000. They have the same bulb Sony uses. There's a thread here about how to place it in the housing of your cuuent bulb. Perhaps TRYG started it. Do a search under 'Qualia Bulb'.
1 (813) 238-6481

Jeff

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #4 of 28 Old 01-26-2011, 06:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
i think i still have the original Sony PowerPoint for replacing the lamp.

I'm out of town but if you PM me on Friday when I return I'll look for it.
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #5 of 28 Old 01-27-2011, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Wow! Thanks guys! Thats fantastic news.. Now, I can enjoy my Qualia in peace.. The power point presentation would be nice..
Please email it to me: audvid at ameritech.net
audvid is offline  
post #6 of 28 Old 05-24-2011, 09:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I replaced the lamp and filter at 1743 hours.. thanks for the extra lamp, Michael Ferrara..
but I don't know how to reset the lamp hours.. I am still getting the message "replace lamp/filter".. how do I get rid of that?
Thank you..
audvid is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 05-24-2011, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
PM sent
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #8 of 28 Old 05-24-2011, 11:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 25
solution suggested was:
"unplug the power to the projector, wait about 2 minutes then plug it back in.

If that doesn't work then unplug again, wait 2 minutes, plug in then RESET - LEFT - RIGHT - ENTER then turn it back on.

Last option is repeat above but RESET - RIGHT - LEFT - ENTER the turn it on."

But this did not work.. The message to replace the bulb is still showing up..
and the hours are not reset..

Also, what are the expected lamp life hours in low mode?
thanks
audvid is offline  
post #9 of 28 Old 05-24-2011, 11:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Try the first set of reset directions but this time put the projector in STANDBY mode plugged in then RESET - LEFT - RIGHT - ENTER - power ON

If that doesn't work, i'll ook for the powerpoint.
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 05-25-2011, 06:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Thanks.. it worked!! but if you do have the power point and not too difficult to look for please send it to
audvid at ameritech.net
I now know how to replace the lamp; i used the printed sheet.. but another member has emailed me and asked me for it.. I am sure he would appreciate it.
Thank you.
BTW, what is the estimated lamp life in high and low power mode?
audvid is offline  
post #11 of 28 Old 05-25-2011, 08:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
High - 1500 hours
Low - 2000 hours
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #12 of 28 Old 05-26-2011, 06:19 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
J.Mike Ferrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 3,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 165
The 004 with a new lamp must be sweet!

J.Mike
Those who die with the most toys ... are still dead!
J.Mike Ferrara is online now  
post #13 of 28 Old 06-07-2011, 09:17 AM
Member
 
ZIMMERLI THIERRY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
still looking for a vpl310 thanks !!!!!!!!!!!
ZIMMERLI THIERRY is offline  
post #14 of 28 Old 06-07-2011, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanFrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 26
if you have a mid or long throw to trade, I have a 310

Dan

Dan Francis
DanFrancis is offline  
post #15 of 28 Old 06-08-2011, 07:18 AM
Member
 
ZIMMERLI THIERRY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes Dan
I have the mid (ZP400)
ZIMMERLI THIERRY is offline  
post #16 of 28 Old 06-08-2011, 07:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Mike Ferrara View Post

The 004 with a new lamp must be sweet!

Yes, it is Mike.. it is fantastic! thanks!!
audvid is offline  
post #17 of 28 Old 06-08-2011, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanFrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Zim, PM me we may have a deal. Let me verify that mid will do what I want.

Dan

Dan Francis
DanFrancis is offline  
post #18 of 28 Old 10-26-2012, 01:37 PM
Newbie
 
Bcarlson3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you so much for think phone number.

i am sending my lamp and housing to them so they can put in a new one and then overnight back to me.

I have looking for to many hours and days for a solution.

You made my day!!!!


Thank you!


Bobby Carlson
Dream Systems
Bcarlson3 is offline  
post #19 of 28 Old 10-28-2012, 02:17 PM
Member
 
ZIMMERLI THIERRY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys
I still have my Qualia and I want the replace the bulb ! Is it easy , Do It Myself ?
ZIMMERLI THIERRY is offline  
post #20 of 28 Old 10-28-2012, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
PM sent.
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #21 of 28 Old 10-28-2012, 02:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I have the instructions needed to replace the qualia.
I can scan and email them to you, if you wish.
Its very easy to replace the lamp, even if the projector remains hung on the ceiling.
I replaced the lamp in my projector, very recently.
You need two philips screwdrivers.
One comes with the new lamp/projector. This is the short one - no more than 1.5" in length from the tip to the end of the handle.. You might not be able to buy something this small.. If you need to borrow mine, let me know.. but I need it back.

You will also need a long screw driver - with a 9" philips stem (the metal rod has to be 9" long - typical philips screwdriver, but long).

Send me a PM with your email and I can scan and send you the instructions..
audvid is offline  
post #22 of 28 Old 10-28-2012, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 25
btw, the instructions to reset the lamp hours are:
standby mode. Plugged in but projector is not turned on.
Reset, <-, ->, enter and then turn the power on.
audvid is offline  
post #23 of 28 Old 04-03-2015, 06:01 PM
Newbie
 
ysgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by audvid View Post
I have the instructions needed to replace the qualia.
I can scan and email them to you, if you wish.
Its very easy to replace the lamp, even if the projector remains hung on the ceiling.
I replaced the lamp in my projector, very recently.
You need two philips screwdrivers.
One comes with the new lamp/projector. This is the short one - no more than 1.5" in length from the tip to the end of the handle.. You might not be able to buy something this small.. If you need to borrow mine, let me know.. but I need it back.

You will also need a long screw driver - with a 9" philips stem (the metal rod has to be 9" long - typical philips screwdriver, but long).

Send me a PM with your email and I can scan and send you the instructions..
I can't PM yet.
Is there any chance that you (or anyone) still have the bulb replacement guide for the Sony Qualia 004 ?

I have a new bulb, but I'm not sure if that's the fix. When powering it on, it 'buzzes' pauses a few seconds 'buzzes' again. And locks up with an error on the LCD screen, usually that there was a bulb error.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Eric
ysgi is offline  
post #24 of 28 Old 04-04-2015, 03:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I have to look but probably have them somewhere in my files. if I recall it's a Powerpoint file.
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #25 of 28 Old 04-04-2015, 06:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
J.Mike Ferrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 3,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by audvid View Post
I replaced the lamp and filter at 1743 hours.. thanks for the extra lamp, Michael Ferrara..
but I don't know how to reset the lamp hours.. I am still getting the message "replace lamp/filter".. how do I get rid of that?
Thank you..
Glad you are still enjoying your 004. I recently replaced the bulb in my JVC projector, and it really threw Tom Huffman's expert calibration off. So when Chad B was here to calibrate my LG OLED 9300, he was able to tweak the JVC and it's never looked better.

J.Mike
Those who die with the most toys ... are still dead!
J.Mike Ferrara is online now  
post #26 of 28 Old 04-10-2015, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing, cycling or kayaking ) - Sacramento CA area
Posts: 6,855
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 668
Sony has a trade in going - send in your Qualia for a substantial savings on a VW1100 or VW600. Offer good until September 15th. Call for details.

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Call me on my direct line - 585-671-2972, 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday
Email me at craig@avscience.com http://shop.avscience.com/
Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SIM2, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, and many more!
Craig Peer is offline  
post #27 of 28 Old 04-11-2015, 10:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Curt Palme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 18,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I still repair the power supplies in the Qualia, have only had one out of 25 that I couldn't repair, and that one got hit with a power surge, nuking a bunch of parts.

If anyone wants to sell a Qualia, working or not, let me know. I don't care about the bulb hour count, as long as it has over 100 hours left, I'd be good with it. Email me at curtpalme at shaw.ca if you're interested.

Thanks!

www.curtpalme.com - CRT tech info

www.soundsolutionscanada.com -pro audio website
Curt Palme is offline  
post #28 of 28 Old 04-11-2015, 01:41 PM
Newbie
 
ysgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How do I know if its the bulb or the power supply? This unit had given me intermittent issues for about a year now. Sometimes during power on, it'll buzz for a second, pause then buzz for another second. Then it gives an error code on the LCD, usually stating a bulb error. There are about 1150 hours on the this bulb. I have 2 more brand new bulbs but haven't changed one yet, figuring if its the power supply, why waste a good bulb.
But this last time that it buzzed, it gave the error. I unplugged it and now it appears to be DEAD. No lights, sounds, LCD...nothing.
I'm in the IT repair world, but I didn't want to mess with this until I learned more about it.
If ANYONE has any input, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Eric

PS. the woman I bought it from says that the power supply was repaired about 4 years ago. And it hasn't been used all that much since.
ysgi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off