Question for Qualia 04 owner about its input - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 45 Old 01-30-2011, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I have a sony qualia 04, which has been upgraded to 1080p.
What inputs can it take via it's HDMI and DVI ports.
Some of this has been answered in another post

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1302180&page=2
.. but I ended up hijacking that thread.. therefore, I thought I should start anew..

I am trying to buy the Lumagen xdpro, which has, as far as i know, only DVI output ports and can do 1080p60 or 1080p24SF.

Thank you..
audvid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 45 Old 01-30-2011, 08:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,614
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I think your best bet is to plug in and try them out when you get your Lumagen. Some confusion on it all. You won't know for sure until you plug and try.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #3 of 45 Old 01-30-2011, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I may have posted this on the wrong thread so I'll post here just in case.

thebland and Nick probably know more about this than I do.

Nick actually understands the technology and thebland was smarter than both Nick and me because he didn't waste money on the 1080p upgrade board!!!!

Plus my memory is not that great for these kinds of things.
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #4 of 45 Old 01-30-2011, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I am sure there are some knowledgeable people here, who know the answers.. In fact, some of them have answered well.. but differing statements caused me confusion..
I am trying to prewire my unit.. I don't want to use adapters. I just want to run one or two cables.. AT this point, i am running hdmi to hdmi and dvi to dvi cables.. I am wondering if I would need a DVI (lumagen xdpro output is dvi) to HDMI cable..
And I would rather get a definitive answer than try to experiment for the best results.. and surely, there are many experts here..
At this point, I am going with suggestion of Nick and J Mike to use DVI out of lumagen (after I find one of course.. ha ha).. to dvi in of qualia.. with 1080p60..
My understanding is that HDMI input cannot take 1080p24, 1080p60 or 1080p24sf.
The DVI input can take 1080p60 but can it still take 1080p24SF?
audvid is offline  
post #5 of 45 Old 01-30-2011, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanFrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
No. Once you have the upgrade done, segmented frames no longer work with the DVI input. You'll still be able to feed through the HDMI (I think). Sorry but it's been almost 7 years since I went through training on the Qualia.

Dan

Dan Francis
Head of Sales US
C'SEED Entertainment Systems GMBH
www.cseed.tv
df@cseed.tv
DanFrancis is online now  
post #6 of 45 Old 01-31-2011, 07:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Based on J Mike suggestion, I bought a Lumagen VisionHDP for use with my Sony Qualia 004.
I bought the visionHD already.. I didn't realize that there was a VisionPRO.. and VisionHD.. I thought they were the same and only after buying the VisionHD, I realized (J Mike pointed it out) that there was a Pro.. Mike has been very helpful as I get to know my Qualia.. thanks J Mike..

I am wondering if it is worth the trouble to Sell my newly acquired VisionHD and getting the Visionpro..
Here is the link to VisionproHDP
http://www.lumagen.com/testindex.php...prohdp_details

Here is the link to VisionHDP
http://www.lumagen.com/testindex.php?module=hdp_details

per website: Features above the VisionHDP:
- BNC connectors for all analog video in and out provide the highest quality electrical and mechanical connection. ( dont' care. I dont use analog anyway)
- 2 more component inputs (I don't care)
- 2 SDI inputs standard (I don't use SDI anyway)

The main difference I noticed was that the visionPRO does NOT have 1080p24 INPUT and the older visionHD has it.

It there a picture quality difference between the two?
audvid is offline  
post #7 of 45 Old 01-31-2011, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nick Satullo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: highland hts., ohio, USA
Posts: 3,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audvid View Post
I am sure there are some knowledgeable people here, who know the answers.. In fact, some of them have answered well.. but differing statements caused me confusion..
I am trying to prewire my unit.. I don't want to use adapters. I just want to run one or two cables.. AT this point, i am running hdmi to hdmi and dvi to dvi cables.. I am wondering if I would need a DVI (lumagen xdpro output is dvi) to HDMI cable..
And I would rather get a definitive answer than try to experiment for the best results.. and surely, there are many experts here..
At this point, I am going with suggestion of Nick and J Mike to use DVI out of lumagen (after I find one of course.. ha ha).. to dvi in of qualia.. with 1080p60..
My understanding is that HDMI input cannot take 1080p24, 1080p60 or 1080p24sf.
The DVI input can take 1080p60 but can it still take 1080p24SF?
There seems to be an easy way to solve this.

You now own J. Mike's unit. He had the 1080p upgrade, and he used a Lumagen at 1080p24SF. So here are the questions that need to be directed to J. Mike:

1. Did the 1080p24SF work, after the upgrade?

2. If so, did it work through the DVI input, or the HDMI input, or both, or neither?

3. If you were using the Lumagen at 1080p24SF, was the upgrade of any value to you?

Thanks,

Nick
Nick Satullo is offline  
post #8 of 45 Old 01-31-2011, 08:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
J.Mike Ferrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 3,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Satullo View Post
There seems to be an easy way to solve this.

You now own J. Mike's unit. He had the 1080p upgrade, and he used a Lumagen at 1080p24SF. So here are the questions that need to be directed to J. Mike:

1. Did the 1080p24SF work, after the upgrade?
Yes
2. If so, did it work through the DVI input, or the HDMI input, or both, or neither?
The DVI input card was replaced in order for the 004 to accept 1080p. Also, a gamma curve upgrade was applied. The HDMI input can only accept 1080i. Keep in mind that I ran every input to the Lumagen HDPro, out via a DVI cable to the DVI input on the 004, either at 1080p or 1080p24sf. Never used the HDMI input, nor the 004's internal processing.

3. If you were using the Lumagen at 1080p24SF, was the upgrade of any value to you?
Yes, because I could now have the Lumagen do its magic on 1080i source and output 1080p to the 004.
Thanks,

Nick
Note my answers in BLUE
Somewhat surprised at the misinformation displayed here.

J.Mike
Those who die with the most toys ... are still dead!
J.Mike Ferrara is offline  
post #9 of 45 Old 01-31-2011, 08:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thanks for your enlightening answers Mike..
audvid is offline  
post #10 of 45 Old 01-31-2011, 08:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
J.Mike Ferrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 3,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
One thing I noted: I had a Pioneer DVD player modded for SDI output to the Lumagen, since I had a lot of DVDs. I felt that the 1080p24SF processing was more effective for DVDs than HD-DVD or Blu-ray. Probably something to do with the higher resolution rate lessening the need for the 1080p24sf processing - somewhat subjective observation for sure.

J.Mike
Those who die with the most toys ... are still dead!
J.Mike Ferrara is offline  
post #11 of 45 Old 01-31-2011, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Interesting because 1080p24SF was not possible (grayed out) when using the upgraded DVI board on my unit.
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #12 of 45 Old 01-31-2011, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nick Satullo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: highland hts., ohio, USA
Posts: 3,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Mike Ferrara View Post

Note my answers in BLUE
3. If you were using the Lumagen at 1080p24SF, was the upgrade of any value to you?
Yes, because I could now have the Lumagen do its magic on 1080i source and output 1080p to the 004

Hmmm . . . wasn't the Lumagen outputting 1080p24SF to the Qualia? Or are you saying that certain sources looked better with certain resolutions?

If it was always outputting 1080p24SF to the Qualia, then I don't see how the 1080p upgrade helped you, since, as long as you were inputting 1080p24SF, you never needed the upgrade.

Unless, of course, there were times not to input 1080p24SF . . . please explain.

Thanks,

Nick
Nick Satullo is offline  
post #13 of 45 Old 01-31-2011, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The person who sold me my Q004 (and also sold many of the Qualia projectors to owners of this forum) told me 1080p60 was the only DVI option once the DVI board was upgraded. He specifically stated in an email that there is no 60 to 24 conversion once the board is upgraded.
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #14 of 45 Old 01-31-2011, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perfectionist2 View Post

Interesting because 1080p24SF was not possible (grayed out) when using the upgraded DVI board on my unit.

can you tell me how to get to this menu - where the 1080p24sf was greyed out? I missed it.. I will check mine.. thanks..
audvid is offline  
post #15 of 45 Old 01-31-2011, 07:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Mike Ferrara View Post

One thing I noted: I had a Pioneer DVD player modded for SDI output to the Lumagen, since I had a lot of DVDs. I felt that the 1080p24SF processing was more effective for DVDs than HD-DVD or Blu-ray. Probably something to do with the higher resolution rate lessening the need for the 1080p24sf processing - somewhat subjective observation for sure.

Mike, that was a perfect idea.. I would have wanted to do the same thing.. Just out of curiosity, did you find any or significant improvement for SDI path Vs DVI/HDMI path for DVD? I don't buy DVDs anymore anyway.. so, this is just a question for my learning.. I transferred 400 DVDs to a media server..
audvid is offline  
post #16 of 45 Old 01-31-2011, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
can't remember. the projector has been gone for six months. Also had some documentation that didn't list 1080p24SF but that too is long gone.
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #17 of 45 Old 02-01-2011, 07:37 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
J.Mike Ferrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 3,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perfectionist2 View Post

The person who sold me my Q004 (and also sold many of the Qualia projectors to owners of this forum) told me 1080p60 was the only DVI option once the DVI board was upgraded. He specifically stated in an email that there is no 60 to 24 conversion once the board is upgraded.

Incorrect. The replacement board did not change exisiting functionality, it added 1080p. Period. I used 1080p24fs all the time with the DVI input after the board was replaced. You got bad information.

Also, I'm confused why folks don't realize the need to 1080p. What about video-based programming? What about cable/OTA HD? 1080p24 is good for film-based programming via disc, but that's not all I watched.

So Nick, if I'm watching film-based source, I set the Lumagen to output 1080p24sf. If I'm watching video-based source, I set the Lumagen to output 1080p.

J.Mike
Those who die with the most toys ... are still dead!
J.Mike Ferrara is offline  
post #18 of 45 Old 02-01-2011, 07:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
J.Mike Ferrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 3,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by audvid View Post

Mike, that was a perfect idea.. I would have wanted to do the same thing.. Just out of curiosity, did you find any or significant improvement for SDI path Vs DVI/HDMI path for DVD? I don't buy DVDs anymore anyway.. so, this is just a question for my learning.. I transferred 400 DVDs to a media server..

Oh, absolutely. DVDs via the SDI interface - especially superbit and later releases - look very good. I still watch them.

J.Mike
Those who die with the most toys ... are still dead!
J.Mike Ferrara is offline  
post #19 of 45 Old 02-01-2011, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nick Satullo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: highland hts., ohio, USA
Posts: 3,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Mike Ferrara View Post
Also, I'm confused why folks don't realize the need to 1080p. What about video-based programming? What about cable/OTA HD? 1080p24 is good for film-based programming via disc, but that's not all I watched.

So Nick, if I'm watching film-based source, I set the Lumagen to output 1080p24sf. If I'm watching video-based source, I set the Lumagen to output 1080p.
That was the only logical explanation, and it wasn't entirely clear from your earlier posts. The Lumagen had selectable resolutions, and, depending on what you were watching, you made your choices.

I can't fathom that the current crop of Lumagens even have the 1080p24SF resolution available. Which models of the Lumagen offered it, if you know?

Thanks,

Nick
Nick Satullo is offline  
post #20 of 45 Old 02-01-2011, 09:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
J.Mike Ferrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 3,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Satullo View Post
That was the only logical explanation, and it wasn't entirely clear from your earlier posts. The Lumagen had selectable resolutions, and, depending on what you were watching, you made your choices.

I can't fathom that the current crop of Lumagens even have the 1080p24SF resolution available. Which models of the Lumagen offered it, if you know?

Thanks,

Nick
From the Lumagen website:
Production Release 021406- Replaces 020506 release. Adds 108024sf support for 1080i inverse telecine.

This is for the following units:
Vision DVI, Vision HDP, Vision HDQ & Vision ProHDP (ProHDP is what I have)

J.Mike
Those who die with the most toys ... are still dead!
J.Mike Ferrara is offline  
post #21 of 45 Old 02-01-2011, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This absolutely did not work nor was it available to me via the 1080p DVI board. Josh confirmed this as did Sony.

So the only explanations I can think of are that your upgrade board had a different firmware version or perhaps a jump switch set differently than mine or you were putting 1080p24sf into the Qualia but actually projecting 1080p out.
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #22 of 45 Old 02-02-2011, 06:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
J.Mike Ferrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 3,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perfectionist2 View Post

This absolutely did not work nor was it available to me via the 1080p DVI board. Josh confirmed this as did Sony.

So the only explanations I can think of are that your upgrade board had a different firmware version or perhaps a jump switch set differently than mine or you were putting 1080p24sf into the Qualia but actually projecting 1080p out.

The acid test for 1080p24 processing is the smooth roll of end titles. With out it, the title roll is jumpy. I can confirm that:

1) I fed the 004 DVI input with a 1080p24fs signal
2) The title roll was smooth.

I don't remember if the 004 displays the output configuration like my JVC does, so I understand your point. But, I know what I saw.

J.Mike
Those who die with the most toys ... are still dead!
J.Mike Ferrara is offline  
post #23 of 45 Old 02-02-2011, 07:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,614
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Josh... Now there's a name from the past!

Didn't he marry a porn star / get into the porn business (seriously)?

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #24 of 45 Old 02-02-2011, 07:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
J.Mike Ferrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 3,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Josh... Now there's a name from the past!

Didn't he marry a porn star / get into the porn business (seriously)?
Ah, Josh from Rock Star Theater. How many 004 owners got their projector from him? A true piece of work. He was fond of telling the story of running into Mark Haflich in Vegas, with a scorching babe on each arm. He'd be perfect for the porn business.

J.Mike
Those who die with the most toys ... are still dead!
J.Mike Ferrara is offline  
post #25 of 45 Old 02-02-2011, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanFrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
1080p24 frames per second is different from 1080p 24 segmented frames per second. The lumagen would allow you to feed 24 frames per second ( native of a movie) to the processor for smooth pans and credits, and would output 24 segmented frames to the qualia. Until the 1080P input card change, the Qualia didn't have the input bandwidth for 1080p60, but using 24 segmented frames was a way of sending the same information packaged in a different manner, using less bandwidth (24 segmented frames looks like 1080i to the projector from a bandwidth standpoint).

So, let's make sure that we know for certain that we were feeding 1080p 24fps (from blu-ray) to projector at 1080P 60 or 1080p24 segmented frames (from scaler). Where we reference the video food chain makes a difference....and I remember there was quite a bit of confusion regarding this when you guys bought the Qualias.

Dan

Dan Francis
Head of Sales US
C'SEED Entertainment Systems GMBH
www.cseed.tv
df@cseed.tv
DanFrancis is online now  
post #26 of 45 Old 02-02-2011, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mike - The Q004 did display the actual output on the projector display panel. Once my upgrade was done, I couldn't get any other output other than 1080p60 to display.

Dan knows more about this than I do and seems to understand the differences. I have a string of emails from those days which proves only that everyone was thoroughly confused.

From Josh (who is now reportedly in the porn business):

"You need the new board as the signal comes out as 1080P/60 and is flagged as 1080/24P, not 1080 24 PsF, so the decoding is done in the projector, not as a native signal which is the 1080P/60, which you can not get now."

I asked him to explain this email but even with an explanation I still didn't understand it.

And from Sony Qualia technical support:

1080PsF24 signal on the Q004R1 is actually an analog signal that would go through the component video input on the projector

Go ahead and try to decipher it!
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #27 of 45 Old 02-04-2011, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PeterS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 2,332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Sorry for jumping in.

I bypassed the entire 1080p on my Qualia, and use the HDMI coming in 1080p24sf from the Lumagen. Works perfectly. Using my remote, I can autoswitch between 60 and 24psf with a single button as needed.

"Read Less, More TV." - Dr. Gregory House

"That which can not be questioned, can not be trusted." - Me

The Metropolis Home Theater

Blue Smoke Entertainment Systems - Affiliated
PeterS is online now  
post #28 of 45 Old 02-04-2011, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nick Satullo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: highland hts., ohio, USA
Posts: 3,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterS View Post

Sorry for jumping in.

I bypassed the entire 1080p on my Qualia, and use the HDMI coming in 1080p24sf from the Lumagen. Works perfectly. Using my remote, I can autoswitch between 60 and 24psf with a single button as needed.


From what you've stated, I surmise that:

a. You had the 1080p upgrade.

b. You fed 1080p24sf from the Lumagen to the HDMI input.

c. You fed . . . what? to the DVI input, which you could switch to for 1080p60 (i.e., either you went direct from a BD player, or you had a switcher or A/V preamp with more than one HDMI output).

d. You switched between C & D, with a command to the switcher or A/V preamp?

Thanks,

Nick
Nick Satullo is offline  
post #29 of 45 Old 02-04-2011, 01:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,614
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Mine was never that complicated. Blu Ray---> Lumagen Radiance---> 1080P24sF---> Qualia HDMI

If I wanted 1080P60 for DVD or cable then 1080P6o from Lumagen to Qualia HDMI. My DVD and cable sources were set to 1080P60 and my Blu Ray sources to 1080P24sF output. All through HDMI. Never needed to bother manually changing resolutions. They were source dependent.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #30 of 45 Old 02-04-2011, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nick Satullo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: highland hts., ohio, USA
Posts: 3,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Mine was never that complicated. Blu Ray---> Lumagen Radiance---> 1080P24sF---> Qualia HDMI

If I wanted 1080P60 for DVD or cable then 1080P6o from Lumagen to Qualia HDMI. My DVD and cable sources were set to 1080P60 and my Blu Ray sources to 1080P24sF output. All through HDMI. Never needed to bother manually changing resolutions. They were source dependent.
Jeff:

If you didn't have the upgraded Qualia, I don't think you could have fed 1080p60 to it. If it wasn't 1080p24sf, then it had to have been 1080i, or something lower than that.

Thanks,

Nick
Nick Satullo is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off