The official Theta Owners Thread - Page 297 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
 107Likes

post #8881 of 8887 Old Today, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
Subwoofers all have some group delay. Unlike some, I am not an engineer and/or I do not want to spend hours reading technical articles and trying to understand exactly what group delay is. All I know from a quick Google is that group delay applies to subwoofers with low frequency output. Barry at JL Audio told me that my f212 subwoofers have a 12 millisecond (ms) group delay. In audio terms, one foot = 1 ms delay. So I added 12 feet to my subwoofer distance in the CBIV menu. Barry explained that this really dials in the subwoofer. Now the group delay for other makes and models of subwoofer may vary some.
You can use REW to more accurately dial in delay and phase to align (a) multiple subs and (b) the subs to your mains

Demand greater honesty and transparency in high-end audio

With Theta, Egglestonworks and Krell since 1998!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #8882 of 8887 Old Today, 11:54 AM
BP

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Steve and other CB Dirac users;
I don't post here too often but felt compelled to on this topic.
I wanted to add my voice to the others who have been amazed by the improvements brought to their systems by adding Dirac. It's worthy of a "wow!"
I have acoustic treatments which helped quite a bit. I knew there was room for improvement but I still enjoyed my system.