The official Theta Owners Thread - Page 380 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 334Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11371 of 11397 Unread 03-17-2017, 06:24 AM
Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Some Roon inspiration for Theta and everybody else;

http://www.digitalaudioreview.net/20...u-have-to-buy/
ANRE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11372 of 11397 Unread 03-17-2017, 09:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 19,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharp1080 View Post
I used the stock cords in the first audition. To answer your question yes I have changed the power cords. I received a low price for buying all at once. I believe Steve has changed his out also? I have only changed one 20 amp in my system and that was for my preamplifier.
My power cords were changed years ago and I don't feel like demoing and spending $$ on newer ones. I'm not gonna say the name of the company because for other reasons I can't recommend that company anymore.
Sharp1080 likes this.

You mean you don't remember me? Back 1999 - 2003, I started and moderated the AVS Tweaks forum and also the AVS Special Guests forum.

My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
post #11373 of 11397 Unread 03-17-2017, 01:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cannga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Palos Verdes & LA Lakers Land
Posts: 2,235
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1072 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancjodanc View Post
1. So you will have to buy one of the new P2 cards for Atmos's ceiling speakers to work?
2. The standard Premium cards will not work for Atmos's ceiling speakers?
1. Correct (with my blue addition).
2. Correct.

All cards work for the lower speakers.
Need new cards (D3 or P2) for the upper ceiling speakers
cannga is offline  
 
post #11374 of 11397 Unread 03-17-2017, 03:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NE OH
Posts: 2,762
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 841 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
My power cords were changed years ago and I don't feel like demoing and spending $$ on newer ones. I'm not gonna say the name of the company because for other reasons I can't recommend that company anymore.
Ok thanks folks. I appreciate it. I just ordered my diy parts. Those 20 amp iec plugs are unbelievably expensive.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

JVC RS4810 projector Stewart Cima 115" 2.35 screen, ATI 523 and 528 amps
7 mirror imaged 2 way DIY monitors. All matched to within 1db. All parts matched, 1 SVS SB16 ultra subwoofer
Emotiva XMC-1 processor Marantz UD5007 Bluray player
Furman sequencer ran off of a double 50amp breaker,Furman power conditioner
All in a dedicated 15x22x8 foot dedicated home theater.
rhale64L7 is online now  
post #11375 of 11397 Unread 03-17-2017, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 19,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
Ok thanks folks. I appreciate it. I just ordered my diy parts. Those 20 amp iec plugs are unbelievably expensive.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
I have a 20 amp audiophile power cord that I used years ago on what I can't recall - haven't used it in many many years - will be using it with the ATI multi-channel amp for my Dolby Atmos/DTS-X!

You mean you don't remember me? Back 1999 - 2003, I started and moderated the AVS Tweaks forum and also the AVS Special Guests forum.

My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
post #11376 of 11397 Unread 03-18-2017, 04:37 PM
Member
 
dancjodanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Marktunis on Audiogon....makes great power cords...can do anything you want. I've used him for years...not only beautiful...but they sound great.
dancjodanc is offline  
post #11377 of 11397 Unread 03-18-2017, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NE OH
Posts: 2,762
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 841 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Ok thanks for the info. I will look him up in the future.

I went ahead and bought some Neotech 11 gauge OCC copper wire, and Neotech OCC copper male plugs. And Wattgate 20 amp female IEC plugs for the amp ends. I am doing three cords. Two for the two amps. And one going from my sequencer to a custom made wall plate with audio grade IEC jack's. The cord plugs into my sequencer and the other end plugs into this IEC plug. Then I have 12gauge Romex going from this to the front plug. All my equipment is on one double 50amp breaker. Even my plugs in the front of my room. They are built into my stage floor. The sequencer uses a 50 amp plug and some huge wire. My buddy custom modified this thing.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Nyal Mellor likes this.

JVC RS4810 projector Stewart Cima 115" 2.35 screen, ATI 523 and 528 amps
7 mirror imaged 2 way DIY monitors. All matched to within 1db. All parts matched, 1 SVS SB16 ultra subwoofer
Emotiva XMC-1 processor Marantz UD5007 Bluray player
Furman sequencer ran off of a double 50amp breaker,Furman power conditioner
All in a dedicated 15x22x8 foot dedicated home theater.
rhale64L7 is online now  
post #11378 of 11397 Unread 03-20-2017, 09:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrunr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
Ok thanks for the info. I will look him up in the future.

I went ahead and bought some Neotech 11 gauge OCC copper wire, and Neotech OCC copper male plugs. And Wattgate 20 amp female IEC plugs for the amp ends. I am doing three cords. Two for the two amps. And one going from my sequencer to a custom made wall plate with audio grade IEC jack's. The cord plugs into my sequencer and the other end plugs into this IEC plug. Then I have 12gauge Romex going from this to the front plug. All my equipment is on one double 50amp breaker. Even my plugs in the front of my room. They are built into my stage floor. The sequencer uses a 50 amp plug and some huge wire. My buddy custom modified this thing.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
With products as high end as theta, do these modifications really make a difference? I would think that you would get a pretty good power cord with a $10-$20K preamp or amplifier.
Jrunr is online now  
post #11379 of 11397 Unread 03-21-2017, 12:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 19,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrunr View Post
With products as high end as theta, do these modifications really make a difference? I would think that you would get a pretty good power cord with a $10-$20K preamp or amplifier.
You get a basic power cord with pretty much all gear including high end. Yes power cords can make a difference. But one must be judicious regarding how high the sky one spends!

You mean you don't remember me? Back 1999 - 2003, I started and moderated the AVS Tweaks forum and also the AVS Special Guests forum.

My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
post #11380 of 11397 Unread 03-21-2017, 01:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevekale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 43
When I was younger and much more foolish I 'upgraded' my power cords. But now that I have spent a good deal of time learning more about electronics, designing power supplies and building amps, I have realised that spending money on a power cord is about as foolish as it gets in this hobby. Common mode noise filters and DC blockers (to stop transformers buzzing), by all means. But fancy plugs and thicker copper is a complete waste of money. So you buy some big fat copper for your cable and a cool looking plug. Do you upgrade the IEC inlet of your amp? What about the wiring from the amp's IEC inlet to the PSU circuit board? Oh and that's even before we look at your wall socket, your house's internal wiring and your local electricity supplier's grid. Seriously, spend your money elsewhere until you've got nothing else to spend it on.

Demand greater honesty and transparency in high-end audio

With Theta, Egglestonworks and Krell since 1998!
stevekale is offline  
post #11381 of 11397 Unread 03-21-2017, 02:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NE OH
Posts: 2,762
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 841 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Well at this point Steve I am at that spot where I am just basically let's say modifying my system as I am waiting for new components to arrive. I know that it won't be a huge difference if at all. But I wanted to build them myself. I saved tons of money.
And yes I have thought of every thing you just mentioned. And actually considered it.

I am waiting for components to come out that are long overdue. And at this point getting a little bored with my system. So figured for very little cash layout I could jumpstart my system with my love for tweaking.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

JVC RS4810 projector Stewart Cima 115" 2.35 screen, ATI 523 and 528 amps
7 mirror imaged 2 way DIY monitors. All matched to within 1db. All parts matched, 1 SVS SB16 ultra subwoofer
Emotiva XMC-1 processor Marantz UD5007 Bluray player
Furman sequencer ran off of a double 50amp breaker,Furman power conditioner
All in a dedicated 15x22x8 foot dedicated home theater.
rhale64L7 is online now  
post #11382 of 11397 Unread 03-21-2017, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevekale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Nothing wrong with that and it can be fun. I was just responding to Jrunr.

I am building another mono version of the dual mono amp I completed late last year. It's for my centre channel just so that my entire front sound stage is powered by the same amp. Then it will be a hiatus until we have settled into Miami.

I was thinking the best upgrade for an audio system that is yet to be invented is a cloaking device so that it is all completely invisible to the wife. Mine simply doesn't understand that sound requires the movement of air and wants to jettison my Eggworks speakers. I think she'd be happy if the cargo container simply went overboard...

Demand greater honesty and transparency in high-end audio

With Theta, Egglestonworks and Krell since 1998!
stevekale is offline  
post #11383 of 11397 Unread 03-21-2017, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NE OH
Posts: 2,762
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 841 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevekale View Post
Nothing wrong with that and it can be fun. I was just responding to Jrunr.

I am building another mono version of the dual mono amp I completed late last year. It's for my centre channel just so that my entire front sound stage is powered by the same amp. Then it will be a hiatus until we have settled into Miami.

I was thinking the best upgrade for an audio system that is yet to be invented is a cloaking device so that it is all completely invisible to the wife. Mine simply doesn't understand that sound requires the movement of air and wants to jettison my Eggworks speakers. I think she'd be happy if the cargo container simply went overboard...
Lol. That is to funny. Mine wishes Emotivas factory would just burn down. Lol

I was showing her prices in the Music Direct catalog last night. She was in shock. And it's not as if I haven't spent a ton. Heck I have bought a Krell Foundation, Chorus, Theta Dreadnaught D, and now two of these new ATI amps. But it's not Bat and DCS. And that Esoteric CD spinner. Her jaw dropped. And some of them power cables, Geez. I would really like a Cassablanca. But I know she would put me in front of the FedEx truck when it got here.

If I just made more money. Steve, do you need a personal assistant? Lol I have no idea what I am doing but I can sure make it all sound real good.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

JVC RS4810 projector Stewart Cima 115" 2.35 screen, ATI 523 and 528 amps
7 mirror imaged 2 way DIY monitors. All matched to within 1db. All parts matched, 1 SVS SB16 ultra subwoofer
Emotiva XMC-1 processor Marantz UD5007 Bluray player
Furman sequencer ran off of a double 50amp breaker,Furman power conditioner
All in a dedicated 15x22x8 foot dedicated home theater.
rhale64L7 is online now  
post #11384 of 11397 Unread 03-21-2017, 09:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sharp1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern Calif
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 395
I really feel for you guys trying to enjoy your systems

I remember well the sacrifices of audio given up for the sake of being married. I am obviously divorced now (17 years) since I retrieved my testicles. I do recall silencing my then wife when questioning her shoe purchases. It's all about controlling you. My ex wife told me the day she moved out, "now you can fix your room up the way you want to"! Such a big difference now in my life.
Sharp1080 is online now  
post #11385 of 11397 Unread 03-21-2017, 02:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 19,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharp1080 View Post
I remember well the sacrifices of audio given up for the sake of being married. I am obviously divorced now (17 years) since I retrieved my testicles. I do recall silencing my then wife when questioning her shoe purchases. It's all about controlling you. My ex wife told me the day she moved out, "now you can fix your room up the way you want to"! Such a big difference now in my life.
Funny!!!@@@

Yea I now have total freedom within what I want to spend. But my wife unexpectedly passed away going on 5 years now, after 30 years of marriage. I miss her and having to sneak new stuff into the side door of my audio/home theater addition. She knew what I was doing!

Ok Theta luvers, time for everyone to chip in how their marriages/significant others/lack of significant others affect their Theta habit. HA!
Sharp1080 and thezaks like this.

You mean you don't remember me? Back 1999 - 2003, I started and moderated the AVS Tweaks forum and also the AVS Special Guests forum.

My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
post #11386 of 11397 Unread 03-21-2017, 03:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sharp1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern Calif
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
Funny!!!@@@

Yea I now have total freedom within what I want to spend. But my wife unexpectedly passed away going on 5 years now, after 30 years of marriage. I miss her and having to sneak new stuff into the side door of my audio/home theater addition. She knew what I was doing!

Ok Theta luvers, time for everyone to chip in how their marriages/significant others/lack of significant others affect their Theta habit. HA!
I remember it all Steve! We had just started to communicate a bit.
Another story! I remember sneaking in the house a pair of race seats for my car trying to figure out how to break it to her. I hid them in the attic for a week! She hated those seats. Not as bad as the stereo in our home because she would listen to music occasionally.

Last edited by Sharp1080; 03-21-2017 at 03:36 PM.
Sharp1080 is online now  
post #11387 of 11397 Unread 03-21-2017, 03:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NE OH
Posts: 2,762
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 841 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Mine really isn't bad. She really let's me buy anything. She may give me a little grief if it isn't reasonable​. Which sometimes I am not. But she has actually agreed for me to buy stuff that I really can't afford before. I just start feeling guilty and sell it when money gets tight.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Sharp1080 likes this.

JVC RS4810 projector Stewart Cima 115" 2.35 screen, ATI 523 and 528 amps
7 mirror imaged 2 way DIY monitors. All matched to within 1db. All parts matched, 1 SVS SB16 ultra subwoofer
Emotiva XMC-1 processor Marantz UD5007 Bluray player
Furman sequencer ran off of a double 50amp breaker,Furman power conditioner
All in a dedicated 15x22x8 foot dedicated home theater.
rhale64L7 is online now  
post #11388 of 11397 Unread 03-22-2017, 06:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MC Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have made the switch to ROON from J River for music. I will be getting a new server shortly, so presently Roon is running only on the media PC via HDMI.

I have an issue with Roon that I can't resolve. I want stereo albums to be matrixed to 7.1 on the CBIV, but they play stereo only regardless of what output options I choose on the CBIV.

No issue here with J River. All stereo albums or concerts play as 7.1. Not a huge deal as I play very little 2 channel, however it would be preferable to keep all music in Roon and not have to switch to J River for 2 channel.

John
MC Maniac is online now  
post #11389 of 11397 Unread 03-23-2017, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 9,117
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
Ok thanks for the info. I will look him up in the future.

..... All my equipment is on one double 50amp breaker. Even my plugs in the front of my room. They are built into my stage floor. The sequencer uses a 50 amp plug and some huge wire. My buddy custom modified this thing.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
I hope you don't have 20a outlets directly on a 50a breaker? I assume your sequencer has a 50a main and then 15a or 20a sub breakers or fuses on each switched output? Otherwise that's really dangerous.

Last edited by Glimmie; 03-23-2017 at 02:47 PM.
Glimmie is offline  
post #11390 of 11397 Unread 03-23-2017, 02:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 9,117
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
My power cords were changed years ago and I don't feel like demoing and spending $$ on newer ones. I'm not gonna say the name of the company because for other reasons I can't recommend that company anymore.
Granite Audio? What ever happened to them?
Glimmie is offline  
post #11391 of 11397 Unread 03-23-2017, 02:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NE OH
Posts: 2,762
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 841 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glimmie View Post
I hope you don't have 20a outlets directly on a 50a breaker? I assume your sequencer has a 50a main and then 15a or 20a sub breakers or fuses on each switched output? Otherwise that's really dangerous.
Yes 20 amp plugs × 12 on the sequencer. With a 50 amp power cord going to a 50 amp ac socket in the wall.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

JVC RS4810 projector Stewart Cima 115" 2.35 screen, ATI 523 and 528 amps
7 mirror imaged 2 way DIY monitors. All matched to within 1db. All parts matched, 1 SVS SB16 ultra subwoofer
Emotiva XMC-1 processor Marantz UD5007 Bluray player
Furman sequencer ran off of a double 50amp breaker,Furman power conditioner
All in a dedicated 15x22x8 foot dedicated home theater.

Last edited by rhale64L7; 03-23-2017 at 03:03 PM.
rhale64L7 is online now  
post #11392 of 11397 Unread 03-23-2017, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 9,117
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
Yes 20 amp plugs × 12 on the sequencer. With a 50 amp power cord going to a 50 amp ac socket in the wall.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Good to hear. Just don't want to see any of these fine systems go up in smoke!
Glimmie is offline  
post #11393 of 11397 Unread 03-23-2017, 06:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 19,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
Yes 20 amp plugs × 12 on the sequencer. With a 50 amp power cord going to a 50 amp ac socket in the wall.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Who knows? Maybe "Up in Smoke"? More seriously, although I have some of their cabling still in my system, for other good reasons I do not recommend them anymore. Lets leave it at that!

You mean you don't remember me? Back 1999 - 2003, I started and moderated the AVS Tweaks forum and also the AVS Special Guests forum.

My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
post #11394 of 11397 Unread 03-23-2017, 08:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 9,117
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
Who knows? Maybe "Up in Smoke"? More seriously, although I have some of their cabling still in my system, for other good reasons I do not recommend them anymore. Lets leave it at that!
Ok, got it!
Glimmie is offline  
post #11395 of 11397 Unread Yesterday, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So any news when they might start shipping the casablanca iva or doing upgrades for us? Not much new info on this thread since Jeff retired.
Theta and Mc's is offline  
post #11396 of 11397 Unread Yesterday, 06:09 PM
Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theta and Mc's View Post
So any news when they might start shipping the casablanca iva or doing upgrades for us? Not much new info on this thread since Jeff retired.
Let's hope for a last minute change, and they're up to implement RAAT. (Or even AES67 and AES70, where ever that will take us)

Personally I'm ok it takes time. Better have a 100% working unit. I think there is or was some "minor" issues with IV.

Last edited by ANRE; Today at 05:15 AM.
ANRE is offline  
post #11397 of 11397 Unread Today, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 19,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
For the past few years, I had not listened that much to multi-channel music (primarily ripped SACDs) because my two channel has sounded so much better.

My two channel has been using a Berkley Audio Alpha USB converter and Cardas AES/EBU digital cable, with a dedicated 2 channel media server which for some time had been a CAPSv4 - but the most recent itineration is:

Small Green Computer Sonic Transporter i5, connected via ethernet cable from network switcher; Sonore Microrendu, connected via two ethernet cables with two fiber converters inbetwen the ethernet cables, from network switcher; and connected by very short Curious Cable link (USB cable) to Berkley Audio Alpha USB converter, connected via Cardas AES/EBU digital cable to Theta CBIV. Using ROON, with ROON core on the Transporter i5, and the Microrendu is a ROON endpoint.

My multi-channel has been using a custom/modded CAPSv3 with Sapphire/AMD video card, connected by HDMI cable to Theta CBIV. I had been using either a PS Audio silver HDMI cable or a BlueJeans Cable HDMI cable, both of which about sounded the same. Using JRiver Media Center software. And HDMI simply hasn't compared to two channel for the past few years in sonic quality.

In recent months a number of changes have made multi-channel music sound way better!

First, about 4-5 months ago, I sold my three external Theta Generation VIII Series 3 DACs, and installed new D3 internal DAC cards (thanks Craig Shumer/VGI for arranging all of this). I felt that the D3 DACs
sound as good as the external Gen VIIIs, although I can't say I noticed a noticeable change in sonics for multi-channel music.

About two months ago, I got a decent deal on a top line Audioquest Diamond HDMI cable (thanks again Craig/VGI, who didn't even suggest this, but I thought I'd try it as he is now an Audioquest dealer).
Unquestionably really nice sonic improvement where I started listening to more multi-channel music and really enjoying it - although, sonically, there was still a noticeable gap in performance.

In the past week, with ROON 1.3 recently coming out with multi-channel now a feature, I have migrated my multi-channel to ROON. So my current multi-channel setup is:

Small Green Computer Sonic Transporter i5, connected via ethernet cable from network switcher; custom/modded CAPSv3 with Sapphire/AMD video card, connected by ethernet cable to network switcher, also connected by Audioquest Diamond HDMI cable to Theta CBIV. Using ROON, Roon core on Transporter i5, Roonbridge on CAPS v3 (which has been using Windows 8.1Pro optimized by Small Green Computer for JRiver, which I just upgraded to a non-optimized Windows 10Pro).

You know those folks who keep telling us that we hear the placebo effect, what we expect to hear, or that what we believe we hear isn't accurate because we haven't done a proper blind test?
By this analysis: I expected a sonic improvement using ROON for multi-channel - but in now way did I expect multi-channel to improve so much that I would most of the time have trouble distinguishing the sonics of my two vs multi-channel. Before implementing ROON for multi-channel, for example, if I played some really well recorded two channel vocal/jazz music, there was still a stark detriment to the two vs multi-channel. Where multi-channel excelled was on say Chicago Quadio, some Heads Up Jazz, and other stuff with some good material in the surround channels, where even though two channel was more you are there, the multi-channel was fun! This is what I expected to improve with ROON for multi-channel!

So with ROON fully working for multi-channel, I started playing some music! Stuff like Chicago Quadio and some multi-channel jazz sounded better than before, no doubt.

then I got Alison Krauss' new album in 96-24. Had listened to it several times with my two channel setup. Now, I tried it with ROON over my multi-channel server, Wholy Batman! I was having a hard time distinguishing two channel Microrendu vs multi-channel CAPSv3 HDMI! In fact, I can play both two channel Microrendu and multi-channel HDMI at the same time, all I have to do is hit my remote to switch CBIV source inputs, and I can easily compare. On playing some marching band hi-res music, it also sounded close - though I thought perhaps the horns were maybe more dynamic and real with two channel.

I've had a nasty cold since setting this all up in past week, so I really haven't been in the mood for much critical listening! And I'm not in any hurry! When I feel better I'll have a few audio friends over
to do some comparative listening and "see" what they think (Dave, you listening!).

Bottom line though - my "new " multi-channel HDMI is so darn good with ROON, etc that I am blown away. And most folks would be very happy with just using HDMI if they could get it to sound this good!
After some weeks, my conclusion is that my HDMI multi-channel sounds graat and is a lot of fun with many multi-channel mixes; though for absolute sheer listening pleasure she is singing right in front of me my two channel remains preferred! But using a two piece ROON multi-channel system is a great way to go for most folks!!!@@@

You mean you don't remember me? Back 1999 - 2003, I started and moderated the AVS Tweaks forum and also the AVS Special Guests forum.

My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off