The official Theta Owners Thread - Page 385 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 373Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11521 of 11532 Old Today, 03:48 AM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For those of you like trying Roon and instead use Rock and for whatever reason does not like to purchase a SonicTransporter

https://community.roonlabs.com/t/roc...vailable/26174


https://kb.roonlabs.com/Roon_Optimized_Core_Kit

Suggest NUC from Roon.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aws/cart/a...1&Quantity.3=1

Or this one:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aws/cart/a...1&Quantity.3=1


And if you totally like to waste money: (in my opinion)

http://www.digitalaudioreview.net/20...ucleus-server/

I can recommend HQPlayer and since Theta doesn't do DSD, almost any HW will do. There is a new HQPlayer embedded ongoing, that will make you run HQPlayer headless.

If anyone would try the Holo Spring DAC in order to test how DSD sound applied to Theta, I would be very interested to hear a report how that sounds.

Steve B, something for you to try ?
But you haven't gone the HQPlayer route yet, have you ?
Though you may did some upsamling using Roon itself ?

Last edited by ANRE; Today at 04:40 AM.
ANRE is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11522 of 11532 Old Today, 04:13 AM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by k_lewis View Post
I decided to front end the Gustard U12 with a new small fanless pc. picked up this one from amazon and it is a real good deal. I usually build my own from a barebones case but this one was such a good configuration and form factor for the price, couldn't pass it up. It works work great right out of the box, easy setup- it even comes with an RF remote. And, it dual boots to android 5.1 or windows 10- All pre configured. Very well done. And the foot print is smaller than a CD case.
https://www.amazon.com/CHUWI-HiBox-x.../dp/B01N30SSAJ

So I have the Gustard connected, ASIO drivers and USB Audio 2.0 drivers set up, and using hifi bridge software to bypass the internal windows directsound and go from source (tidal, foobar etc) direct to the Gustard XMOS USB Audio 2.0 driver. the unit is outputting 24/384 from AES, but of course I am going to have to reduce this to 192 for input to the Theta CB's AES.

I did some very basic quick listening, and even at 44.1, the Gustard U12 is very black, open and silent. Wide stage. It's a freaking ridiculous bargain of an audiophile device for less than $200. The case, display, fit and finish are top notch. The pcb is done with pride. The linear power supply is well done. I would probably upgrade the caps with something better quality but that's about it.

Tomorrow will install Roon and get the rest of things set up.
Is that mini PC for Roon, or ment to have Linux (or "bad" windows) installed and the Roon Brigde SW on it ?

In any cause I suggest you purchase the ISO REGEN powered by an LPS-1 in addition in front of your Bastard DDC.
And use the USPCB's switch to remove the USB 5V, that I think you do not need.
ANRE is online now  
post #11523 of 11532 Old Today, 04:25 AM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by k_lewis View Post
I'm bypassing the internal windows audio mapper by using VB hifi bridge/virtual cable software, sound goes direct from source (tidal etc) through the hifi bridge software, to ASIO, then direct to the USB2.0 Audio device (Gustard). This preserves the quality of the audio. the odd thing with USB 2.0 Audio is it dos not show up as an audio device in Windows sound devices- only the USB Audio 1.0 branch of it shows up, and if you use that it will restrict the sound. It took a bit of figuring out to get it working. At first it kept limiting me to 44.1/16.
Your Gustard is a USB to SPDIF converter. Not an endpoint.
The SoTM sms 200 and the MicroRendu (and UltraRendu) are small Linux computers that act as either Roon endpoint with RAAT or endpoint for HQPlayer among other possible configurations.

They have Ethernet input. Not USB. It's a whole different ballgame and hence an expected better lift in SQ 😀
Especially used together with the LPS-1 power. Or if you can afford the Vinni Rossie PS.
ANRE is online now  
 
post #11524 of 11532 Old Today, 04:49 AM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Deleted
ANRE is online now  
post #11525 of 11532 Old Today, 05:00 AM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
Roon is music only, not blu rays, not movies.
Important to mention Roon is multichannel as well. And AES/EBU supports 8 channels.

Though I haven't tested this myself, I expect Roon and CB will play multichannel together. Correct, did you test ?

Last edited by ANRE; Today at 05:31 AM.
ANRE is online now  
post #11526 of 11532 Old Today, 05:04 AM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by petepappas View Post
hello all
anyone using aac multichannel video and audio files ? is there support for the non hd versions or only casa3 hd and above? thanks
I have a Six Shooter for sale. With your AC needs 😀
ANRE is online now  
post #11527 of 11532 Old Today, 05:20 AM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
As I am using my Theta CBIV SSP, it only does multichannel using HDMI in! So no I don't use the microrendu for multichannel and haven't tried it.
OK. You answers my question already. I suppose this is 100 % correct. I will check the user manual.

Also this feauture should be supported by Theta in my opinion.

Edit:
Read user manual. Something indicates that all digital inputs support multichannel. Though I can't be sure.

Have you actually tested a multichannel file via your MicroRendu ?
I expect your DDC has no limitations 😀

Last edited by ANRE; Today at 05:54 AM.
ANRE is online now  
post #11528 of 11532 Old Today, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 18,137
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by k_lewis View Post
True True! But that is ok since this is a specific mainly 2ch solution. The best multi-channel solution I have found, is an Oppo 95 (or 105, 205 newer model) with audio over hdmi2 to the Theta. There may be other solutions but I have not tried them, other than using a six shooter back in the day.

You know what would be cool- is a high end hdmi output sound card that can carry the latest multichannel sound formats to the CB, for watching movies stored on a NAS.

PS - comment to all, in general- - the CBIV sounds sick. I mean, damn, it is heads above the IIIHD. Really. damn. And I am hard to impress with audio. Well done Morris on the PR3 card, your contribution to the Theta brand and hard work is duly noted.

I was particularly moved with movie watching, the entire cinematic audio experience is more fluid, more dynamic, cohesive, and the bass is much more integrated (down to 9hz, with my dual 18" bag end infrasubs!). Dialogue clarity and uniformity is vastly improved. The IV also really woke up my Dreadnaught II (7ch, 3x mono and 2x stereo blades). Music has been a real treat on the IV as well.
I've had a custom built CAPSv3 (Computer Audiophile Forum speced) with Sapphire/AMD video card for HDMI out which I've used for multi-channel over HDMI for several years now. "Cooler" and better sounding than the Oppo 105? Can't say as I haven't demod Oppo 105.

You mean you don't remember me? Back 1999 - 2003, I started and moderated the AVS Tweaks forum and also the AVS Special Guests forum.

My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
post #11529 of 11532 Old Today, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 18,137
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANRE View Post
For those of you like trying Roon and instead use Rock and for whatever reason does not like to purchase a SonicTransporter

https://community.roonlabs.com/t/roc...vailable/26174


https://kb.roonlabs.com/Roon_Optimized_Core_Kit

Suggest NUC from Roon.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aws/cart/a...1&Quantity.3=1

Or this one:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aws/cart/a...1&Quantity.3=1


And if you totally like to waste money: (in my opinion)

http://www.digitalaudioreview.net/20...ucleus-server/

I can recommend HQPlayer and since Theta doesn't do DSD, almost any HW will do. There is a new HQPlayer embedded ongoing, that will make you run HQPlayer headless.

If anyone would try the Holo Spring DAC in order to test how DSD sound applied to Theta, I would be very interested to hear a report how that sounds.

Steve B, something for you to try ?
But you haven't gone the HQPlayer route yet, have you ?
Though you may did some upsampling using Roon itself ?
I use ROON for upsampling. I demoed HQ Player and thought it was a total pain in the butt to figure out and as the CB4 SSP using Dirac Live processes at 96-24 no need to use HQ Player's possibly better sounding upsampling for DSD DACs, and it may not sound any better with Room v1.3 and how Roon continues improvements with software upgrades.

You mean you don't remember me? Back 1999 - 2003, I started and moderated the AVS Tweaks forum and also the AVS Special Guests forum.

My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
post #11530 of 11532 Old Today, 09:12 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 18,137
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANRE View Post
Important to mention Roon is multichannel as well. And AES/EBU supports 8 channels.

Though I haven't tested this myself, I expect Roon and CB will play multichannel together. Correct, did you test ?
I have nearly 800 multichannel albums on my server, almost all high resolution mostly ripped SACDs, and my CAPSv3 Sapphire/AMD video card HDMI multichannel plays fine thanks to ROON!

You mean you don't remember me? Back 1999 - 2003, I started and moderated the AVS Tweaks forum and also the AVS Special Guests forum.

My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
post #11531 of 11532 Old Today, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
I use ROON for upsampling. I demoed HQ Player and thought it was a total pain in the butt to figure out and as the CB4 SSP using Dirac Live processes at 96-24 no need to use HQ Player's possibly better sounding upsampling for DSD DACs, and it may not sound any better with Room v1.3 and how Roon continues improvements with software upgrades.
Another reason to use Gen 8
ANRE is online now  
post #11532 of 11532 Old Today, 10:17 AM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
I have nearly 800 multichannel albums on my server, almost all high resolution mostly ripped SACDs, and my CAPSv3 Sapphire/AMD video card HDMI multichannel plays fine thanks to ROON!
OK, I will email Theata to get verified if the digital inputs (RCA & AES/EBU) supports multichannel as I don't have my CB available to test myself.

I think Steve, this is the first time you don't know if a possible feature in the CB will work or not 😂
ANRE is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off