The official "Theta" thread - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 21Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 7448 Old 04-18-2011, 11:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 17,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
How do you mean, do it legal?
I mean simply that there are those of us who simply want to use external DACs with our SSPs for better sonics,not to steal or illegally copy stuff, but we get punished. While those who do it for illicit and illegal purposes, to steal, eventually figure out a way to bypass the copy protection and downsampling rez, anyway.

What do you mean?

"Doug Winsor" used to troll at some AV Forums as "Steve Bruzonsky"! My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 7448 Old 04-19-2011, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,026
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post

I mean simply that there are those of us who simply want to use external DACs with our SSPs for better sonics,not to steal or illegally copy stuff, but we get punished. While those who do it for illicit and illegal purposes, to steal, eventually figure out a way to bypass the copy protection and downsampling rez, anyway.

Ahh, I understand your perspective clearly now, thanks.

I thought you meant that high end gear was automatically able to legally pass hi-rez audio to the DAC.

Deadwood Atmos theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #903 of 7448 Old 04-19-2011, 10:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael Osadciw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Serving GTA & Southern Ontario
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Can't wait for my eventual CIII-HD. Unfortunately I've got to keep drooling by listening to you guys. Now isn't the time for me...I've decided to stockpile Enterprise monoblocks in my house instead. I appreciate the difference of these amps over my Dreadnaught I as I'm powering my Dunlavy SC-IV/a pair off of them. I'm also happy to finally be driving a single Dunlavy TSW-VI tower sub with one as well (in the music system, the other one is in the theater room). What's most surprising out of all of this is how well my smaller pair of Dunlavy SC-IV/a speakers hold up in bass to a single TSW-VI subwoofer. Running all XLR balanced out of the Ayre K-1xe preamp (dual outputs), honestly, it's really really difficult to tell that the sub is on at all. For a thing so massive, it's just ~100Hz and below...and already reproduced by the SC-IV/a!

Anyways, Theta is cool in my books
Michael Osadciw is offline  
post #904 of 7448 Old 04-20-2011, 08:48 AM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Is anyone utilizing 2 way control with the new upgrade, just trying to determine what is available through 2 way communication and if its worth the upgrade to my remote system. I really miss the video card for on-screen menus....
LJG is offline  
post #905 of 7448 Old 04-20-2011, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Clinton,MS
Posts: 6,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG View Post

Is anyone utilizing 2 way control with the new upgrade, just trying to determine what is available through 2 way communication and if its worth the upgrade to my remote system. I really miss the video card for on-screen menus....

I started working on an Irule app. My wife loves the idea so I figured this would be the course to take. Waiting for the additional RS232 codes for the HD. You can do 2 way with Irule. Irule builder was 50.00 which makes the cost to experiment reasonable.

Never become so involved with something that it blinds you.
Bulldogger is offline  
post #906 of 7448 Old 04-20-2011, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Les Auber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Depends on what you're after. I've got it partially sorted. If you're looking to do set up I'd suggest waiting for an update for Crystal to come out. But if you just want to have feedback for the everyday things like volume, source, surround mode etc then I've got most of it. However, I've not got any of the new mode types beyond DD TrueHD and DTS HD Master Audio as I've not got media with the others.

Les
Les Auber is offline  
post #907 of 7448 Old 04-20-2011, 11:28 AM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks bulldogger and les, is all info that is available on cb3hd front panel available via 2 way feedback?
LJG is offline  
post #908 of 7448 Old 04-20-2011, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Les Auber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Theoretically yes, all the way down through the set up menus. I've not gone that far as it's not something I'd use daily, Crystal was better for that. I've got the info set up for status level 2.

Les
Les Auber is offline  
post #909 of 7448 Old 04-20-2011, 01:12 PM
VGI
Advanced Member
 
VGI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Some Good news

Theta hired a new guy who is starting work on the 2nd of May.. He will be dedicated 100% to CB3HD upgrades and will be assisting Dave Reich on the roll out.. They are really trying to get upgrades and new machines out but each machine we have to keep in mind is totally hand assembled and there are lots of things that have to happen to make one work perfectly..

They assured me of a much increased turn around over the next few weeks..

Thanks
Craig

Craig Shumer
Theatermax.com
20 years of high end audio
Theta Digitals World Supreme Dealer
VGI is offline  
post #910 of 7448 Old 04-20-2011, 01:15 PM
VGI
Advanced Member
 
VGI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Guys

Do not for any reason try and use Crystal on the Cb3HD..

There is a case of someone trying and using it for backup and restore and completely whacked his CB3HD Operating system last week.. Fortunately the machine is not one of my customers but it still stinks for him.

Use the TDD loader for backup and restore of settings and updates.. It works great !!

Thanks
Craig

Craig Shumer
Theatermax.com
20 years of high end audio
Theta Digitals World Supreme Dealer
VGI is offline  
post #911 of 7448 Old 04-20-2011, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Les Auber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
One thing Crystal is still good for if you haven't sent your old CB III in is making a nice human readable back up of your set up. I used that as a starting point for inputting the new one. Did miss it though standing in front of the rack punching buttons instead of setting down in front of the PC.

After that I'd suggest uninstalling it.

Les
Les Auber is offline  
post #912 of 7448 Old 04-21-2011, 11:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 17,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Using the Oppo BDP an an SACD player over HDMI: If I play a multi-channel 5.1 SACD track, the CB3 HD "status" display shows "88.0" PCM and the front display shows "Multi-Channel PCM". However, if I play a stereo SACD track, the CB3 HD "status" display shows "88.0" PCM but the front display doesn't show "Multi-Channel PCM" and instead only shows the audio mode which it is set to.

"Doug Winsor" used to troll at some AV Forums as "Steve Bruzonsky"! My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #913 of 7448 Old 04-21-2011, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
edorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post

Using the Oppo BDP an an SACD player over HDMI: If I play a multi-channel 5.1 SACD track, the CB3 HD "status" display shows "88.0" PCM and the front display shows "Multi-Channel PCM". However, if I play a stereo SACD track, the CB3 HD "status" display shows "88.0" PCM but the front display doesn't show "Multi-Channel PCM" and instead only shows the audio mode which it is set to.

It seems Theta's logic/rule on the display is: "unless stated otherwise you are listening to stereo". Not unreasonable.
edorr is offline  
post #914 of 7448 Old 04-23-2011, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Clinton,MS
Posts: 6,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post

Just a note. If you have a digital connection that supports 24 bits, and the upstream process limits the audio to 16 bits (as in HDCP compliance), the output wordlength will still look like 24 bits. The bottom 8 bits will be zeros, but they will be there. A downstream device will duly report"48/24" as that is the pipeline dimension, but it should not be interpreted as 24-bit audio.

What sort of device would one need to accurately read the output?

Never become so involved with something that it blinds you.
Bulldogger is offline  
post #915 of 7448 Old 04-23-2011, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Clinton,MS
Posts: 6,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Steve have you input any 24/96 via coax and checked the digital out sample rate?

Never become so involved with something that it blinds you.
Bulldogger is offline  
post #916 of 7448 Old 04-23-2011, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sfogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ma, USA
Posts: 5,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
"What sort of device would one need to accurately read the output?"

Dual channel oscilloscope and a test disc with 0dBFS signal and something recorded at 24 bits and -140ish dB.

Trigger on L/R clock, and watch it along with serial data. Play 0dBFS signal and see if the signal is I2S or 24 bit left justified by identifying the MSB. From there play the -140ish dB signal and see how many bits are between the active bit there and the MSB.

Shawn
sfogg is offline  
post #917 of 7448 Old 04-24-2011, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
edorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogger View Post

Steve have you input any 24/96 via coax and checked the digital out sample rate?

I just did. I fed the CBIII 96/24 over Toslink from my computer, and hooked up the digi out to the PWD. The PWD plays at 96/24, so the digi out card is 96/24 capable for coax / toslink sources. I would be very surprised if it did not pass though high rez for HDMI sources. Lost track of all Steve's experiments, but the way to find out is to feed the CBIII 88/24 from a 2 channel SACD over HDMI though the Oppo, connect the digi out card to the PWD and read the resolution on the display.
edorr is offline  
post #918 of 7448 Old 04-24-2011, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Clinton,MS
Posts: 6,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by edorr View Post


I just did. I fed the CBIII 96/24 over Toslink from my computer, and hooked up the digi out to the PWD. The PWD plays at 96/24, so the digi out card is 96/24 capable for coax / toslink sources. I would be very surprised if it did not pass though high rez for HDMI sources. Lost track of all Steve's experiments, but the way to find out is to feed the CBIII 88/24 from a 2 channel SACD over HDMI though the Oppo, connect the digi out card to the PWD and read the resolution on the display.

Steve got it to play as well. The display on the Perfect Wave just showed 48khz.

Never become so involved with something that it blinds you.
Bulldogger is offline  
post #919 of 7448 Old 04-24-2011, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AndreYew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfogg View Post

"What sort of device would one need to accurately read the output?"

Dual channel oscilloscope and a test disc with 0dBFS signal and something recorded at 24 bits and -140ish dB.

Trigger on L/R clock, and watch it along with serial data. Play 0dBFS signal and see if the signal is I2S or 24 bit left justified by identifying the MSB. From there play the -140ish dB signal and see how many bits are between the active bit there and the MSB.

Shawn

Shawn, that may be an interesting product for you to make for people to test out their digital outputs. Provide a DVD and/or file, along with a little box with various S/PDIF inputs, and show the sample rate and bit depth. I think there are pro tools as well as one very expensive consumer device that does this, but I don't think it would be that expensive to make. You can use a known sequence on the DVD, and then have a little CPLD or something to sync up to it and check the bit depths.

--Andre
AndreYew is offline  
post #920 of 7448 Old 04-24-2011, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
edorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogger View Post

Steve got it to play as well. The display on the Perfect Wave just showed 48khz.

So then the CBIII HD upgrace involves downsampling of (at least) the HDMI sources to the digi out card, in order to be compliant with the HDMI license. Now the diagram in the manual shows the digi out is be tapping into the same signal as what goes to the CBIII dacs, so how Theta did this without also downsampling the signal to the DAC cards is a bit of a mystery to me, but that is a different discussion.
edorr is offline  
post #921 of 7448 Old 04-25-2011, 11:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 17,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by edorr View Post

I just did. I fed the CBIII 96/24 over Toslink from my computer, and hooked up the digi out to the PWD. The PWD plays at 96/24, so the digi out card is 96/24 capable for coax / toslink sources. I would be very surprised if it did not pass though high rez for HDMI sources. Lost track of all Steve's experiments, but the way to find out is to feed the CBIII 88/24 from a 2 channel SACD over HDMI though the Oppo, connect the digi out card to the PWD and read the resolution on the display.

OK. I just did this again, this time also using coaxial digital to the CD3 HD.

(1) The Oppo BDP-93 over HDMI plays SACD converted to PCM 88 khz, the CB3 HD "status" shows 88.0, but when I tried to play SACD over coaxial digital to the CB3 HD, I got nothing. Somewhere in the back of my mind I think that the Oppos only play SACD digitally over HDMI.

(2) The Oppo BDP-93 over HDMI plays DVD-A 96-24 at that rate, as shown with the CB3 HD "status" display showing "96.0". But the PWD shows native rate is 48 khz. Same using coaxial digital.

(3) If course, if one simply uses the Extreme DACs without using an external DAC(s), then the Extremes will per their spec play up to 96-24 natively.

"Doug Winsor" used to troll at some AV Forums as "Steve Bruzonsky"! My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #922 of 7448 Old 04-26-2011, 02:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
bigbrother52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hudson River Valley, N.Y.
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post

OK. I just did this again, this time also using coaxial digital to the CD3 HD.

(1) The Oppo BDP-93 over HDMI plays SACD converted to PCM 88 khz, the CB3 HD "status" shows 88.0, but when I tried to play SACD over coaxial digital to the CB3 HD, I got nothing. Somewhere in the back of my mind I think that the Oppos only play SACD digitally over HDMI.

You got that right, SACD is not permitted to be output to any device via coax, you'll only get the redbook version.

We are lucky these days that they are allowed to output SACD via HDMI, even though us poor CB-IIIHD users have to have it converted to PCM because of our DAC chips, which was why Theta was inspired to create the Six Shooter in the first place.

I did these same tests with the Compli-blu a few months back but my posts on the subject were deleted if you all recall, and of course my mind is a sieve, so I have no recollection of the results but I'm pretty sure "STATUS" reported it was what it should be via HDMI.

I have been busy ripping some of my CD collection to hard drive since I bought all of this computer hardware and have not had much time to actually listen to these ripped discs on the Casablanca, let alone check "Status".

I also had to install Windows on these machines in order to update the CB-III-HD's OS and do other things I require that run strictly Windows.

I finally have Windows installed on my Macs but have not had time to update the CB-IIIHD software yet so I'm not running the same version that everybody else is, and there may be differences in how these things read because of that too.

To make matters that much worse, I just got my first iPhones and believe it or not, these are the first i-anythings I've ever owned!
So these little phones with their built in iPods are just driving me mad setting all of this stuff up and re-testing the things you are on the CB-IIIHD has taken a temporary back seat, since phone support from Apple is for such a short period of time.
Believe me when I tell you, I need allot of help from them to accomplish all the things I'm trying to do. I think most old Mac owners will never even attempt such things.

While I look forward to getting back to the good stuff, I feel almost nostalgic listening to these little transistor radios
They are way cool and now I think I want an iPad2 too!
But I think I'll wait for just awhile, since 5 new Apple things is probably more then enough trouble for me right now.

It should not be much longer before I get back to the room I usually live in with my Casablanca since I've about had it with setting this Apple stuff up and watching the new HBO website on a computer screen!

www.hbogo.com is pretty frackin cool too, you guys should check that site out too, allot of decent content for when your not getting to be in your theater room, or home for that matter!
I guess I should mention there is also a www.maxgo.com/, of course it's not blu-ray quality but it ain't half bad and these things are free if you're a subscriber to the service via your local provider, which makes it even that much better!

TURN IT UP!
bigbrother52 is offline  
post #923 of 7448 Old 04-26-2011, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
edorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post

OK. I just did this again, this time also using coaxial digital to the CD3 HD.

(1) The Oppo BDP-93 over HDMI plays SACD converted to PCM 88 khz, the CB3 HD "status" shows 88.0, but when I tried to play SACD over coaxial digital to the CB3 HD, I got nothing. Somewhere in the back of my mind I think that the Oppos only play SACD digitally over HDMI.

(2) The Oppo BDP-93 over HDMI plays DVD-A 96-24 at that rate, as shown with the CB3 HD "status" display showing "96.0". But the PWD shows native rate is 48 khz. Same using coaxial digital.

(3) If course, if one simply uses the Extreme DACs without using an external DAC(s), then the Extremes will per their spec play up to 96-24 natively.

OK, so it has been established once and for all that the CBIII HD downsamples signals coming out of the digi out card. Fair enough - some of us suspected all along that if they did not, this would be in violation of the HDMI license and a huge legal risk for them to take.

However, if I were a GenVIII owner I would be slightly bothered by the fact that Theta is happily selling GenVIII's on the back of the CBIII upgrade, but when you ask them if it runs at 96/24 they will not tell you (I asked them repeatedly - always got diplomatic evasive answers). Meanwhile, their largest dealer is reassuring us the digi out card "works perfectly' (again evading the simple question does it downsample or not). The fact that most BR content is 48/24 anyway and that the GenVIII at 48/24 may sound better than the Xtreme card at 96/24 is completely besides the point. This is simply about full disclosure and business ethics.
edorr is offline  
post #924 of 7448 Old 04-26-2011, 01:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 17,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Good News! My new Aerial 9 left front speaker tweeter arrived. Blake is coming by tonight to solder it in! Then I will be at "full speed" on my home theater system!

"Doug Winsor" used to troll at some AV Forums as "Steve Bruzonsky"! My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #925 of 7448 Old 04-26-2011, 01:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 17,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Also, Sunday morning I set up and integrated the Six Shooter into the system, along with my CB3 HD and Generation VIII Series 2 DAC!
Now i have ultimate flexibility to compare analog v digital and to determine whether I want to keep the Six Shooter and the Marantz UD9004!

"Doug Winsor" used to troll at some AV Forums as "Steve Bruzonsky"! My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #926 of 7448 Old 04-26-2011, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Les Auber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Steve, The CompliBlu manual indicates that SACD is available only via the HDMI or analog outs due to copyright issues. I suspect this is a straight carryover from the Oppo system and hence would explain your lack of sound on SPDIF.

I'm just starting to play with the CompliBlu. I'm rather happy that I was able to make a deal with Craig on one. The upscaled DVD picture via HDMI is as good as or better than the HQV Riva chip in my Denon 3800. I didn't really expect or see any difference on BD video. Speed wise it's a night and day difference over the Denon even on BD. With the Denon you inserted disk and went for a beer. The Compli loads a BD about as quickly as a DVD.

I haven't had a chance to try the Compli Blu analog outs via SS vs HDMI and Extreme though I did make the same comparison with the 3800 as a baseline. On CD obviously. Just in case anyone can't guess the outcome the Extreme was better. Words like more transparent, musical etc came immediately to mind.

I'm rather curious to see how this comes out. Does the Compli's analogs compete with or beat the Extreme, particularly on SACD or did I just buy a beefed up, matching transport? Either way, no complaints.

Les
Les Auber is offline  
post #927 of 7448 Old 04-26-2011, 07:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 17,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 24
To the one or two of us that have a CB3 HD, Gen VIII Series 2 DAC, and wanna use our Six Shooter!

I have experimented. Following is the only way that works.

1. Use interconnect cables to connect channel outputs of CB3 HD to Six Shooter Input 3, except do not connect front left and right channels.

2. Use speaker cables to connect amplifiers to Six Shooter Output 3, except do not connect front left and right channels.

3. Use speaker cables to connect amplifiers to Gen VIII left and right inputs.

4. Use interconnect cables to connect Gen VIII left and right outputs
and to Six Shooter Input 3 front left and right channels.

5. Connect data cables, one from CB3 HD each to Six Shooter and to Gen VIII.

6. Connect balanced digital cable from CB3 HD digi out card to Gen VIII
balanced digital input.

7. Be sure to set a source in the menu of the Gen VIII with variable volume set to "Off" so that the volume of the Gen VIII is slaved to the CB3 HD.


I have determined using a PS Audio Perfect Wave DAC and Oppo BDP-93 that coaxial digital and HDMI into the CB3 HD are output from the CB3 HD's digi out card at native rate but only up to 48 kHz. Even with hi rez downsampled sounds great with a GenVIII (and even better with my front left and right Theta Citadel 1.5s, Enterprises other channels).

I have found that once you set one source of the Gen VIII to "Off" for the variable volume control, that this "Off is applied to all sources (six sources available to be set on the front panel display).
So if one wants to use the Gen VIII as a straight DAC for stereo, I assume you turn CB3 HD off,
set the Gen VIII's variable volume control to whatever # you like (I think default is 20), and connect toslink, coaxial or balanced digital cable. Then when you want to use CB3 HD with Gen VIII, turn CB3 HD on and set the Gen VIII variable volume to "Off".

"Doug Winsor" used to troll at some AV Forums as "Steve Bruzonsky"! My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #928 of 7448 Old 04-26-2011, 08:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael Osadciw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Serving GTA & Southern Ontario
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 33
...interesting...good to know that the digital out only does 48kHz. I wonder if that will change. Looks like a CIII-HD with Xtremes only for now...unless something changes by next year, or if the digital out card (with 4 on one card) ever surfaces to accomodate 4 Gen VIIIs for 8 channels total.
Michael Osadciw is offline  
post #929 of 7448 Old 04-26-2011, 08:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
bigbrother52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hudson River Valley, N.Y.
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Osadciw View Post
...interesting...good to know that the digital out only does 48kHz. I wonder if that will change. Looks like a CIII-HD with Xtremes only for now...unless something changes by next year, or if the digital out card (with 4 on one card) ever surfaces to accomodate 4 Gen VIIIs for 8 channels total.

The current Digi-out card will handle 12 channels, or up to 6 Gen. VIII's, although, there is only one AES/EBU for a single Gen. VIII.
So if you want to use multiple Gen. VIII's you just need to use the Digital Coax connections to accomplish this.

TURN IT UP!
bigbrother52 is offline  
post #930 of 7448 Old 04-26-2011, 11:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Clinton,MS
Posts: 6,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by edorr View Post
OK, so it has been established once and for all that the CBIII HD downsamples signals coming out of the digi out card. Fair enough - some of us suspected all along that if they did not, this would be in violation of the HDMI license and a huge legal risk for them to take.

However, if I were a GenVIII owner I would be slightly bothered by the fact that Theta is happily selling GenVIII's on the back of the CBIII upgrade, but when you ask them if it runs at 96/24 they will not tell you (I asked them repeatedly - always got diplomatic evasive answers). Meanwhile, their largest dealer is reassuring us the digi out card "works perfectly' (again evading the simple question does it downsample or not). The fact that most BR content is 48/24 anyway and that the GenVIII at 48/24 may sound better than the Xtreme card at 96/24 is completely besides the point. This is simply about full disclosure and business ethics.
I agree completely.

Never become so involved with something that it blinds you.
Bulldogger is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off