Sony 4K VW1000 - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 287 Old 01-22-2012, 07:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by millerwill View Post


There's also the question of whether having a Radiance do 1080p => 4K upconversion and sending this to the Sony 1000 would be better than sending the 1000 1080p and have it to the upconversion to 4K. Similarly if new BD players come out next year, as rumored, that would up convert BD's to 4K, and sending this to the Sony 1000, would be better than using a good 1080p BD player (such as my Oppo 83) and sending this to the 1000 and having it do the upconversion to 4K.

Many possibilities and hard to know which will give better results. If the Sony 1000 does 1080p to 4K upconversion at high quality, this would of course be the nicest, meaning that we could simply keep all our present 1080p sources and let the Sony 1000 upconvert them to 4K.

Sony has already announced their upscaling BDP-S790 blu-ray player and it's coming soon.

http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_u...?v=vYQxmrJpL8I
G-Rex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 287 Old 01-22-2012, 07:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
millerwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post

Sony has already announced their upscaling BDP-S790 blu-ray player and it's coming soon.

http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_u...?v=vYQxmrJpL8I

Yes, but will the pic be better using it to send 4K to the Sony4K than having a BD player send 1080p to the Sony1000 and have it upconvert to 4K?
millerwill is offline  
post #273 of 287 Old 01-22-2012, 08:21 PM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I suspect it will output 3840 x 21260 and not 4096 x 2160 but I do not know for sure. All we have are press releases from Sony, no spec sheet that I can find, and press reports. Some press reports say 3840 x 2160 and others say 4K. But I suspect most of these gadget guys filing reports don't know precisely what resolution 4K is exactly anyway. I really think consumer 4K will be 4 times the number of pixels in a 1920 x 1080 HD frame. Of course I don't know but the 4K flat screen panels being annouced are 3840 x 2160 and I think any upscaling Bluray player will be designed to do that.

How consumer 4K discs will be, I do not know but even here I would expect 3840 x 2160 too. I think true 4K will be reserved for the commercial movie theater industry, but I don't know.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #274 of 287 Old 01-23-2012, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
d.j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by millerwill View Post

There's also the question of whether having a Radiance do 1080p => 4K upconversion and sending this to the Sony 1000 would be better than sending the 1000 1080p and have it to the upconversion to 4K. Similarly if new BD players come out next year, as rumored, that would up convert BD's to 4K, and sending this to the Sony 1000, would be better than using a good 1080p BD player (such as my Oppo 83) and sending this to the 1000 and having it do the upconversion to 4K.

Many possibilities and hard to know which will give better results. If the Sony 1000 does 1080p to 4K upconversion at high quality, this would of course be the nicest, meaning that we could simply keep all our present 1080p sources and let the Sony 1000 upconvert them to 4K.


Millerwill

You dont have to wait to next year - the new Sony BDP-S790 ( a cheap new "top" model, who in US probely will cost around 300-400 dollar ) can upscale to 4K.

But Im quite sure that the 1000ES will do the scaling better ( hope it, for what it cost )

dj



Edit: G-Rex beat me in posting.
d.j. is offline  
post #275 of 287 Old 01-23-2012, 09:07 PM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
DJ. Would you bet on what the reports and press releases mean by 4K? There are no specs which show whether it will output 4096 x 2160 (true 4K) or 3840 x 2160 (4 times HD). I bet the Sony Bluray will upscale to only 4 times HD. Want to take the other side based on a press release saying 4K. A noted reporter reported 3840 x 2160. He probably was the only reporter who asked or even knew the difference.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #276 of 287 Old 01-23-2012, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
donaldk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
4K originally means Quad HD, as the movie industry came later to the 4K game with the additional horizontal pixels. With 2K they had first dibs...

So your true 4k is questionable. True 4 Kilo is 4000;-)!!!
donaldk is offline  
post #277 of 287 Old 01-24-2012, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
d.j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 4 View Post

DJ. Would you bet on what the reports and press releases mean by 4K? There are no specs which show whether it will output 4096 x 2160 (true 4K) or 3840 x 2160 (4 times HD). I bet the Sony Bluray will upscale to only 4 times HD. Want to take the other side based on a press release saying 4K. A noted reporter reported 3840 x 2160. He probably was the only reporter who asked or even knew the difference.


, Mark, that bet, I think, you would win - I guess 3840 x 2160 too - but Sony can/could put the ( same ) Reality Creation Pro chip in it, as implanted in the 1000Es, but its probely a much simpler/cheaper version, to keep the cost down

BTW. cant see the big hype about it (upscaling to 4K in a BR player ) - if you not own a 1000ES or a true 4K display. What better quality would you get in a normal 1080P projector / display ?

dj
d.j. is offline  
post #278 of 287 Old 01-24-2012, 06:26 AM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by d.j. View Post

, Mark, that bet, I think, you would win - I guess 3840 x 2160 too - but Sony can/could put the ( same ) Reality Creation Pro chip in it, as implanted in the 1000Es, but its probely a much simpler/cheaper version, to keep the cost down

BTW. cant see the big hype about it (upscaling to 4K in a BR player ) - if you not own a 1000ES or a true 4K display. What better quality would you get in a normal 1080P projector / display ?

dj


Because flat panels are coming and were shown by various manufacturers at CES but these I believe were not true 4K (4096 x 2160) but were 4 HD (3840 x 2160).
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #279 of 287 Old 01-24-2012, 08:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
amirm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 18,083
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 755 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 4 View Post

There are no specs which show whether it will output 4096 x 2160 (true 4K) or 3840 x 2160 (4 times HD). I bet the Sony Bluray will upscale to only 4 times HD. Want to take the other side based on a press release saying 4K. A noted reporter reported 3840 x 2160. He probably was the only reporter who asked or even knew the difference.

The Sony person at CEDIA was adamant that the upscaling feature in their 4K BD upsampling player was not as good as the projector and that even if one has the unit, they should set it to 1080p and let the projector do its thing.

I don't know if he really knows or was speculating. Such information is deeply buried in someone's head in Japan or likely the ODM that is actually producing that BD player. So I would not bank on it other than I wanted to share what was said .

Amir
Founder,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Insist on Quality Engineering"

amirm is online now  
post #280 of 287 Old 01-26-2012, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
donaldk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The calibrator that is calibrating the pre-production unit that is to be demoed at ISE next week, will post his brief review tomorrow, over on the Dutch HTForum. He posted that the machine arrived at his shop today.
donaldk is offline  
post #281 of 287 Old 01-28-2012, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
RevelMN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by donaldk View Post

The calibrator that is calibrating the pre-production unit that is to be demoed at ISE next week, will post his brief review tomorrow, over on the Dutch HTForum. He posted that the machine arrived at his shop today.

Do you have a link or more info?

thanks,
RevelMN is offline  
post #282 of 287 Old 01-28-2012, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
donaldk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by RevelMN View Post

Do you have a link or more info?

thanks,

Yes, http://www.htforum.nl/yabbse/index.php?topic=120061.0.

Only issue is lightoutput measurement, only 24 fL at an 230 centimeter wide unity gain screen. The meter had to be swapped with a boroughed unit, as his regular meter broke down, so that's noted. This measurement would be around the 800 lumens of the pre-production unit that previously toured Europe. Though Contrast is good. Colour presets are close, but no CMS. So greyscale calibration only.

Edit: At ISE it was shown in Cinema Bright, wich he measured at 1850 lumens, so unit isn't faulty afterall;-).
donaldk is offline  
post #283 of 287 Old 01-31-2012, 01:59 PM
Newbie
 
GMP11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
test for post count
GMP11 is offline  
post #284 of 287 Old 02-03-2012, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
SteveFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Waterford, WI
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont think anyone asked in the thread, unless I missed it, does this projector produce an anamorphic picture or just support it with an add on A lens?

If you buy it, USE IT!!!!
SteveFred is offline  
post #285 of 287 Old 02-03-2012, 08:23 PM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I am not sure what you are asking. The panel is 17/9 or 1.8888. It can't produce a native 2.35 but of course can fill the entire panel width with top and bottom bars. The projector if appropriately positioned re it zoom, can zoom such picture to full widescreen width, throwing the black bars off screen. If one elects such an image it can be pruduced lighting the panel to 1.77777 width with side black bars and top and bottom bars and can be zomed from there to throw the side black bars and top and bottoms off screen. Alternatively, the projector will vertically stretch the image to fill the entire panel height either using the 1.7777 width or the 1.88888 width. The vertical stretches are 1.32 and 1.24 respectively and the stretch is user selectable. In the strech mode, one would need to use an auxilliary anamorphic lens to perform the horizontal stretch of 1.33 for the 1.7777 width and 1.25 for the 1.8888 width. Lenses for either horizontal stretch are available from parties external to Sony. Hope this helps. If you need to have this further explained please give me a call. It can get a bit confusing.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #286 of 287 Old 02-03-2012, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
SteveFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Waterford, WI
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi...Thanks for the answer..I do understand...I use the zoom method now....I was just hoping that at a 25K prices, they could incorporate a 2.35 picture...Like having a internal A lens...Maybe someday they will with a projector not in the $80K+ range hehe

If you buy it, USE IT!!!!
SteveFred is offline  
post #287 of 287 Old 02-04-2012, 12:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Oliver Klohs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 2,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveFred View Post

Hi...Thanks for the answer..I do understand...I use the zoom method now....I was just hoping that at a 25K prices, they could incorporate a 2.35 picture...Like having a internal A lens...Maybe someday they will with a projector not in the $80K+ range hehe

Just buy an external lens and keep it - much less hassle then to always pay the added cost of the anamorphic lens with every projector you get.
Oliver Klohs is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off