Teranex 2D>3D -Not just for Millionaires any More - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 137 Old 12-27-2012, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
sipester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastl View Post

If you're asking whether it is HDCP compliant, the answer is NO. BlackMagic indicates that somewhere in their literature. Otherwise, nice little unit.

Based on that, has anyone tested this device to see if it strips the HDCP to allow the Teranex to work for regular blu-rays? http://www.hdfury.com/products/hdfury4-specs/
sipester is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 137 Old 12-27-2012, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by sipester View Post

Based on that, has anyone tested this device to see if it strips the HDCP to allow the Teranex to work for regular blu-rays? http://www.hdfury.com/products/hdfury4-specs/

I am fairly sure the answer is no. They have publicly acknowledged the device is not HDCP compliant and getting such compliance is no small matter. The device has a number of features that would not be allowed under HDCP so they would need to be disabled in HDCP mode.

And on top of all that BlackMagic Designs is a major hardware supplier to the motion picture and television industry. They can't afford to make enemies in Hollywood.

And last but not least, filtering out HDCP is illegal.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #93 of 137 Old 12-27-2012, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
waterm3732's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sunny Space Coast of Florida!
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, but in simpler terms.....does this mean that this new BlackMagic Teranex 3D processor CAN'T be used to convert 2D Blurays to 3D for display on a 3D TV or Projector??? Thanks
waterm3732 is offline  
post #94 of 137 Old 12-27-2012, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
fastl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It will input component video, and you could probably do something with that. Not a chance with HDMI input from a BluRay player!

I did get a chance to play around with the 2D unit last month. Very nice processor, especially considering the price. I don't think they are using a Realta or Reon inside. My impression is that they implemented the Teranex algorithms in an FPGA.
fastl is offline  
post #95 of 137 Old 12-27-2012, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
donaldk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 16
At ISE the Teranex guy (the only or one of the few left following the acquisition) told me the box was using the chipset developed under the ownership of the chipmaker (Silicon something I don't care to look up right now;-)), they could move it back to FPGA, if needed, that would be no issue, as it are the alghoritms that count, but there was no intention to move away from the chips. And that was at the previous price point about 10K above the currently announced price.
donaldk is offline  
post #96 of 137 Old 12-28-2012, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by donaldk View Post

At ISE the Teranex guy (the only or one of the few left following the acquisition) told me the box was using the chipset developed under the ownership of the chipmaker (Silicon something I don't care to look up right now;-)), they could move it back to FPGA, if needed, that would be no issue, as it are the alghoritms that count, but there was no intention to move away from the chips. And that was at the previous price point about 10K above the currently announced price.

Yes, the whole idea of the custom chip was cost reduction. Using multiple FPGAs is more expensive to mass produce and a much higher risk of production line problems. Making a custom chip of this complexity is an expensive undertaking usually reserved for consumer products as that is about the only way to recoup the costs. This is what probably put Silicon Image out of business.

The same thing happened to Quvis. In the late 1990s they developed a Wavelet compression algorithm and produced a broadcast HD disk recorder that had impressive performance, higher picture quality then the HD VTRs on the market at the time. Then back around 2001, they pushed for this compression algorithm to become the DCI standard. And in preparation for that they embarked on a program to reduce the 2 large 12in square circuit boards chock full of FPGAs to a single chip. They also had some illusions of selling the chip to the DBS and cable STB companies as well to replace MPEG2. Well the DCI standard adopoted Motion JPEG and the DBS people went with MPEG4. The R&D costs to develop that chip put Quvis out of business for good! The last I heard the IP is now sitting within the bankruptcy court - no takers.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #97 of 137 Old 12-28-2012, 04:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
fastl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Big advantage of the FPGA is that you can easily reprogram the device, whereas you're stuck with what you've got in the ASIC. When they started to develop the Realta years ago, there probably was a big price-performance advantage. Not sure there is such a big cost performance difference these days. Anyway, when are you going to buy the 2D Teranex and rip the cover off to see what's inside?
fastl is offline  
post #98 of 137 Old 12-28-2012, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
donaldk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yeah, no-one is using the Silicon Optix chip as it is/was just too expensive for the mass consumer market like bulb projectors. Quvis, that name vaguely rings a bell.

Flexibility is nice, but it implies ongoing algorithm development.
donaldk is offline  
post #99 of 137 Old 12-29-2012, 06:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
fastl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Flexibility is nice, but it implies ongoing algorithm development

Could be ongoing feature development too. The 2D is missing gamma adjustment. I figured for the price, something was missing.

One thing I can say for the Realta is that my processor (Calibre PVPRO HD) still gives the best/smoothest upscaling I've seen. That processor is 4.5 years old and has never failed to start up and run, has never crashed or locked up, and is still running the OEM firmware! More than what I can say for all the so-called "high-end" models discussed over on the LumaBay forum.
fastl is offline  
post #100 of 137 Old 12-29-2012, 08:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
donaldk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Calibre is a high-priced brand of scalers/processors, so it should life up to the price tag, and therefor last for a number of years. Good to hear these products do. But since few Teranex guys are left, wouldn't they have their hands full getting the product ready...
donaldk is offline  
post #101 of 137 Old 03-04-2013, 03:51 PM
Senior Member
 
waterm3732's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sunny Space Coast of Florida!
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here we are March 4th and the Blackmagic Design website still says that their Teranex 3D Processor is shipping in January. Anyone one have the inside scoop on this processor to be??? Maybe they are modifying it so that it can accept and process a HDMI input from a 2D bluray player???
waterm3732 is offline  
post #102 of 137 Old 06-23-2013, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dokworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Grattai, Australia
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The teranex 3D is in stock at B&H Photo finally!
Anyone picked one up yet? Very curious to see some real-world examples of 2D-3D conversion, as well as Laserdisc upscaled.

DON'T feed the troll.
dokworm is offline  
post #103 of 137 Old 06-23-2013, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 69
That is not true...


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #104 of 137 Old 06-23-2013, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blu_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LiVe from the Nation's Capital | Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post

That is not true...

What is 'that' confused.gif

65" PanasonicST60 | Onkyo809 | Oppo103 + 4TB WD HDD
PS4 pre-order | PS3 80GB / 4x USB | 1TB 9865HD | Apple TV3 | Darbee Darblet | AirPort Extreme
5.2 system - 5x Arx A2 + 2x SVS SB12-NSD | Harmony One | Samsung DA-E670
MonsterPower HTS1700 / 2x PRT510 / PRT410 | Monster / Blue Jeans / Emotiva cables
Blu_One is offline  
post #105 of 137 Old 06-23-2013, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Although the BH website says it is in stock, this unit will not be shipping in the near future, it continues to be delayed...

If it is anything remotely close to the vc-100 it is an incredible unit. For example on certain titles the end result is as good as many professional conversions. Specifically LOR Return of the King is amazing from beginning to end.
Blu_One likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #106 of 137 Old 06-23-2013, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark A Gonzalez View Post

My $2,700 Panasonic PT-AE7000 projector converts it at no additional charge. I just saved $20,000!!!

I own the AE-7000 and the 2D-3D conversion is so garbage-like it makes the term "craptastic" sounds glorious.

Anything IS better than Panasonic 3D conversion.
Blu_One likes this.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

David Susilo is offline  
post #107 of 137 Old 06-23-2013, 06:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 69
I looked at many converters including the similarly expensive JVC professional, the Terry is on a league of it's own.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #108 of 137 Old 06-24-2013, 10:47 PM
Senior Member
 
waterm3732's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sunny Space Coast of Florida!
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FWIW, the Blackmagic Design website no longer states the Teranex 3D Processor is shipping in January. It now provides a "Find Reseller" button --- which shows 5 authorized online resellers and 10 authorized resellers in the US.

http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/teranex/
waterm3732 is offline  
post #109 of 137 Old 06-25-2013, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
donaldk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post

Although the BH website says it is in stock, this unit will not be shipping in the near future, it continues to be delayed...

If it is anything remotely close to the vc-100 it is an incredible unit. For example on certain titles the end result is as good as many professional conversions. Specifically LOR Return of the King is amazing from beginning to end.

Many local resellers listed on the Black Magic website. Fofic allows one to add it to order it, adding the 3D unit to the shoppingcart. No idea if that means it is shipping, or on backorder.
donaldk is offline  
post #110 of 137 Old 06-25-2013, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blu_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LiVe from the Nation's Capital | Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
This whole 3D version availability seems like a hot mess. I'm just glad I'm not waiting to get one of them. I feel bad for those that are..

65" PanasonicST60 | Onkyo809 | Oppo103 + 4TB WD HDD
PS4 pre-order | PS3 80GB / 4x USB | 1TB 9865HD | Apple TV3 | Darbee Darblet | AirPort Extreme
5.2 system - 5x Arx A2 + 2x SVS SB12-NSD | Harmony One | Samsung DA-E670
MonsterPower HTS1700 / 2x PRT510 / PRT410 | Monster / Blue Jeans / Emotiva cables
Blu_One is offline  
post #111 of 137 Old 06-26-2013, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 217
I don't get what all the arguing is about here. If you want a 3D unit, just call J&R and see if they have them in stock. Same for any other BMD dealer.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #112 of 137 Old 06-27-2013, 05:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 69
I have called everyone... it is not coming out anytime soon.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #113 of 137 Old 06-27-2013, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
donaldk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Two year on show at ISE, on Black Magic Design's catalog style booth, including price stickers, and still no units available, starting to look like Red;-).
donaldk is offline  
post #114 of 137 Old 06-28-2013, 02:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
biliam1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by waterm3732 View Post

FWIW, the Blackmagic Design website no longer states the Teranex 3D Processor is shipping in January. It now provides a "Find Reseller" button --- which shows 5 authorized online resellers and 10 authorized resellers in the US.

http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/teranex/

I don't see AVS on their list. Do they not plan on selling it?
biliam1982 is offline  
post #115 of 137 Old 07-09-2013, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dokworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Grattai, Australia
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ive just come back from this store:
http://www.videoguys.com.au/Shop/p/25643/blackmagic-teranex-3d-processor-teranex3d444.html
and they have floor stock. I saw it for myself. Problem is, I can't afford to buy without some reviews to see if the thing actually works.

DON'T feed the troll.
dokworm is offline  
post #116 of 137 Old 07-16-2013, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dokworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Grattai, Australia
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is definitely available in Australia, do the US resellers have it yet?

DON'T feed the troll.
dokworm is offline  
post #117 of 137 Old 07-24-2013, 06:24 PM
Newbie
 
browneye1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On Display at Blackmagic stand at SMPTE in Australia this week. Had a look at the 3D, didn't dazzle me, but then again it was a show setup.
browneye1967 is offline  
post #118 of 137 Old 07-25-2013, 09:59 PM
Member
 
ComputerTech0903's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Why would it not be hdpc compliant if it has an hdmi input?
ComputerTech0903 is offline  
post #119 of 137 Old 07-26-2013, 05:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
fastl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It wasn't designed for "consumer" use. The HDMI input is there as a basic interface for pro gear that isn't employing HDCP.
fastl is offline  
post #120 of 137 Old 07-26-2013, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by ComputerTech0903 View Post

Why would it not be hdpc compliant if it has an hdmi input?

HDCP is optional with HDMI. There are many pro HDMI products that do not employ HDCP. It costs money to license HDCP, like over $10,000 so thta's a lot for a small company. Note too that you can have HDCP on DVI as well.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off