Sim2 Worlds first Active 3D LED projector. - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 237 Old 04-03-2013, 09:59 AM
Member
 
waltie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Citation: you were quite right. I called my dealer and told him about the strange noise of the projector, when using the dynamic black. The unit was sent to an expert here, and the problem detected and fixed. Since the Pj is beyond the guarantee, one year, I paid the bill, somewhat salted. Since my projectors are ceiling- mounted, I will wait until I get the Sim 2's upgrade to put it back. In the meantime I will keep watching the RS 25, whose image is really good, specially the black level.
waltie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 237 Old 04-04-2013, 06:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Citation4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia Mountains
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltie View Post

Citation: you were quite right. I called my dealer and told him about the strange noise of the projector, when using the dynamic black. The unit was sent to an expert here, and the problem detected and fixed. Since the Pj is beyond the guarantee, one year, I paid the bill, somewhat salted. Since my projectors are ceiling- mounted, I will wait until I get the Sim 2's upgrade to put it back. In the meantime I will keep watching the RS 25, whose image is really good, specially the black level.
That's good to hear. I'll send the firmware and installation instructions in case they don't update the firmware.
EDIT: firmware sent via email
Citation4444 is offline  
post #213 of 237 Old 04-04-2013, 06:38 AM
Member
 
waltie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Citation 4444: Iwill have to do the update myself. Would you be so kind as to send me the firmware and instructions to installation. Thanks, waltie.smile.gif
waltie is offline  
post #214 of 237 Old 04-04-2013, 01:31 PM
Member
 
waltie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Citation I had the1/6 mico 50 updates. But When I click in all of them it will appear the 509 100 426, which is my current version. Wouldn't it be 509...427, the last update you mentioned? Or the last one is really 426?
waltie is offline  
post #215 of 237 Old 04-05-2013, 02:07 AM
Member
 
waltie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Citation: I'm not sure if Bob and you are the same person, but in not being the case, thanks to him for his solicitude. Indeed I got the files 1 to 6, and a calibration made on the Mico 50. All of updates have the same size, but I didn't open them . When I clicked over each one of the six they mencioned the version 509.100.426, which is the last one I have. As per your comments in this thread and an older one referring specifically to the Mico 50, there's mention to the version 509.100.427. In all six files the reference is to the 509.100.426. I'm in doubt.
waltie is offline  
post #216 of 237 Old 04-05-2013, 05:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Citation4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia Mountains
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Waltie, let me check. I may have sent the wrong version.

Bob
Citation4444 is offline  
post #217 of 237 Old 04-08-2013, 11:55 AM
Member
 
waltie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Bob : sorry If I'm being inconvenient, but did you have time to check if the firmware update sent to me refers to the 509.100.426 or 427?
waltie is offline  
post #218 of 237 Old 04-09-2013, 05:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Citation4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia Mountains
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltie View Post

Hi Bob : sorry If I'm being inconvenient, but did you have time to check if the firmware update sent to me refers to the 509.100.426 or 427?
Waltie, I'm sorry but I just noticed this post. I have v 509.10.47 installed in my MICO 50, which is a later version than what I sent you. The problem, however, that I can't find the firmware on my computer. I might have to get it again from Sim2. Sorry about that, but somehow I'll get it to you.

Bob
Citation4444 is offline  
post #219 of 237 Old 04-15-2013, 12:09 PM
Member
 
waltie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Citation 4444: I tried to get in touch with Sim 2, through the available e-mails, but to no avail. I did it because I don't want to give you that much work you had while you were upgrading your own unit. It's a SIM 2's serious fault, in my opinion, selling units after the firmware is already being around, specially when it's necessary to a good calibration. Correct me, in case 'm wrong, but while you were trying to calibrate your Mico through the service menu, you could'nt get the colors right. In a review I read about the Mico 50,The Calibrator quoted the fact that blue, red and green colors were kind a bit away from normal. Don' know if he got this firmware update. Can you tell me if this firmware has some impact in the dynamic black feature or if a calibration can be done, without the firmware , with acceptable acuity? Once more my sincere thanks for helping.
waltie is offline  
post #220 of 237 Old 04-16-2013, 06:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Solfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Skylands N.J. & Hawaii Kai
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16

Hi Waltie,

 

Is Sim2 not replying to your emails?

Solfan is offline  
post #221 of 237 Old 04-17-2013, 02:54 AM
Member
 
waltie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Solfan: I tried to contact Sim 2 through the e-mails available in its site. Maybe there is an specific e-mail to cope with this matter that I don't know. I didn,t contact SIM 2 in italy, because the factory is in the USA, so it is there, presumably, I shoud gather information. I'm not sure if they got the e-mails I sent, for some registered error. Maybe there is an specific procedure to be followed by an electronic address that I don't know. Thanks Waltie.
waltie is offline  
post #222 of 237 Old 04-17-2013, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Solfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Skylands N.J. & Hawaii Kai
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16

Have you tried this Brazilian customer service contact listed on their page here: 

 

http://www.sim2usa.com/home/us/support/service-locator?country=Brazil

 

I'll be interested to hear how they respond..

Solfan is offline  
post #223 of 237 Old 04-17-2013, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Solfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Skylands N.J. & Hawaii Kai
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16

Just bumped into this (March 2013) review of the Nero 3D-2, which contains almost as many comments about the M.150:

 

 

http://hometheaterreview.com/sim2-nero-3d-2-single-chip-dlp-projector-reviewed/

Solfan is offline  
post #224 of 237 Old 04-17-2013, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing, cycling or kayaking ) - Sacramento CA area
Posts: 4,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Thanks - interesting review.

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Direct Line - 585-671-2972
I'm available 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday Email me at craig@avscience.com
http://shop.avscience.com/
Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, Klipsch, and many more!
Craig Peer is offline  
post #225 of 237 Old 04-17-2013, 12:21 PM
Member
 
waltie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Solfan: the Sim 2 representative in Brasil is a Hi-Fi electronic selling products called Som Maior, meaning greatest sound (very expensive store), located in a state far from where I live. Since I imported the product through a dealer in my own city, spending far less money, they would not provide me any information about how to contact the Sim 2. My hope is Citation 4444, and depending on his answer about que question I posted about a good calibration without the firmware, I'll pay an expert in a largest city (Rio de aneiro or São Paulo) to calibrate the unit.
waltie is offline  
post #226 of 237 Old 04-18-2013, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Solfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Skylands N.J. & Hawaii Kai
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16

We've all known some dealers like that..

 

Anyway, best of luck with it and if it becomes necessary I hope Sim2 makes an honest attempt to help fix things for you.

Solfan is offline  
post #227 of 237 Old 04-18-2013, 03:41 PM
Member
 
waltie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a lot Solfan.
waltie is offline  
post #228 of 237 Old 04-21-2013, 04:14 AM
Member
 
waltie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear pals: I finally got my Mico 50 calibrated and the results were extremely satisfied. On the other hand I got a problem. By the time I bought the projector I also bought a ceiling mount at e-bay, specific for it. It happens that the techinician who first took the unit away from the support and substituted for the RS 25, spoiled the support, so it won't be fixed as it should. I'm using it but a little inclined downwards. I made a research for a new support compatible to the Mico 50, but, here, there"is none. And I can't find the old one anymore. Do any of you friends know of a universal mount that could support this beast of 25 kg? Ps. I have plaster 20cm from the ceiling.
waltie is offline  
post #229 of 237 Old 09-25-2013, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Was there ever a consensus on the true calibrated lumens from this unit? One review says 900 calbrated but Pete measured much less. Are Pete's numbers the more realistic?
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #230 of 237 Old 09-25-2013, 08:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nyal Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post

Was there ever a consensus on the true calibrated lumens from this unit? One review says 900 calbrated but Pete measured much less. Are Pete's numbers the more realistic?

The M150? I would guess 600-650 lumens or so. It was 2 ft L less bright than the Nero 3D-1 on my SSE 4K screen when calibrated to D65REC709. The Nero 3D-1 is about 700, the 3D-2 about 1000. Funny thing is it looked better than my 3D-1! Better performance near black in terms of shadow detail, which was very noticeable on dark movies. Colors looked better (I think maybe due to the HK effect which tells us that the human eye interprets purer colors as higher brightness). It was a little sharper and had tracked motion smoother than the Nero. Also no rainbow effect. All in all a great projector that looks amazing and a step up from the Nero (which is itself an awesome projector) even though it's brightness output is less. The only problem with the M150 is that the Lumis isn't much more expensive!

Master of Minions, Acoustic Frontiers. We specialize in the design and creation of high performance listening rooms, home theaters and project studios for discerning audio/video enthusiasts.
Nyal Mellor is offline  
post #231 of 237 Old 10-04-2013, 08:14 PM
Newbie
 
dadayosang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

great.I went to CES mostly to see the machine, and it was really not demoed. thank you

15.gif

dadayosang is offline  
post #232 of 237 Old 10-15-2013, 08:21 AM
Member
 
gigimonagas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there,

I need a ceiling mount for the M150 that is not the chief vcmu. What are you guys using for ceiling mount.

Help is apreciated.
gigimonagas is offline  
post #233 of 237 Old 10-15-2013, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 18
What's your objection to the VCM? You can use a universal mount, but it would need to be rated for the extra weight of this projector...44lbs.
Pete is offline  
post #234 of 237 Old 10-18-2013, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigimonagas View Post

Hi there,

I need a ceiling mount for the M150 that is not the chief vcmu. What are you guys using for ceiling mount.

Help is apreciated.

How does your m150 compare to your Nero 3d-2 and your Lumis?
Spizz is online now  
post #235 of 237 Old 10-18-2013, 04:05 PM
Member
 
gigimonagas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The legs of the VCM are huge for my taste. The M150 with the VCM looks like a transformer. I need a universal mount that would hold 60 pounds. Any toughts.

Best,
gigimonagas is offline  
post #236 of 237 Old 11-20-2013, 09:38 AM
Member
 
gigimonagas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump...

Please help recommending a ceiling mount for the M150 that is not the VCM Chief ceiling mount.

Best,
gigimonagas is offline  
post #237 of 237 Old 12-15-2013, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Deja Vu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: great white north
Posts: 4,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Deja Vu is online now  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off