Lens Memory - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-19-2012, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
David Shapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Highland Park,Illinois,U.S.A
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Which projectors have lens memory? I'm getting intrigued by the thought of a 12 foot wide 2.0 aspect screen, to shift between a 12 foot scope screen and a 10 ft. wide 16:9 screen. This was suggested to me by Dan Francis a couple of days ago.

Thanks,
David Shapiro

DES
David Shapiro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-20-2012, 04:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 149
You could also do it electronically with a VP like Lumagen, which also gives you the option of always filling the screen with a bit of stretching and/or cropping

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-20-2012, 07:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
David Shapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Highland Park,Illinois,U.S.A
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a Lumagen Radiance XE. So. I could have the Lumagen toggle between a 144" wide scope view, and a 120" wide 16:9 view? I'm asking since I'm processor challenged.

Thanks,
David

DES
David Shapiro is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 02-20-2012, 09:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 149
yep

don't ask me how, but I know that they can do it

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-21-2012, 03:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanFrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 1,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
You would lose resolution in the 1.78 frame in this case (using the lumagen to digitally zoom the image). It would require adjusting the image of the Highlite to fill the 12 foot wide screen; then crop down the image to 1.78 aspect digitally- the projector is still zoomed out optically, the only way to make the image smaller is to reduce resolution because the Highlite does not have lens memory.

The Titan chasis, I'm guessing Christie chasis, probably the Projection Design (Avielo) Helios chasis, Barco, NEC DCI, and the more expensive Runcos should have the ability to zoom in and zoom out via lens presets. I know for sure the Titan and Barco projectors do.

Dan

Dan Francis
Head of Sales US
C'SEED Entertainment Systems GMBH
www.cseed.tv
df@cseed.tv
DanFrancis is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-23-2012, 06:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rabident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 2,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 21
It's trickled down to the new Sony and JVC projectors too.

 

 

rabident is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-24-2012, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
David Shapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Highland Park,Illinois,U.S.A
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Which Sony's?

David

DES
David Shapiro is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-24-2012, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brad Horstkotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 5,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I ended up with something similar to what you're thinking about - in my case a 2.125:1 aspect screen, 136" wide, 64" high, using a JVC RS-20. With the blu-ray player, I manually zoom when necessary. But since I got my HTPC in place, running XBMC, I can now set up the XBMC dashboard to fill the screen, 2.35:1 titles use the full width, and 16:9 titles use the full height, using XBMC's scaling. I lose some resolution for 16:9 - but I don't watch many of them, and in cases where it matters a lot to me to have best PQ for a 16:9 title - say Avatar - I can always switch out of that mode (re-adjust the zoom and turn off scaling, or switch to a BD).
Brad Horstkotte is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-24-2012, 05:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
mookie b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Shapiro View Post

Which Sony's?

David

VPL-VW95ES and VPL-VW1000ES

mookie b is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-24-2012, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
donaldk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
And the Panasonic 1080P 3LCD projectors.
donaldk is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off